We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Great Sutton, Ellesmere Port.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on the 29th of April 09. We received a Jnr Suite room on the 3rd floor which overlooked the pool, it was an excellent room, very clean and huge. We ate breakfast at the hotel but other than that we ate at restaurants in Banus. It was a 15min walk into the centre which I didn't mind doing early evening but we always got taxi's back, the price varied between 8 & 10 euro.
The prices within the hotel for food and alcohol were expensive but it is what we expected for a 5star hotel.
The only critism we had was regarding the beach, it was a bit neglected & I didn't see anyone from the hotel wander round to check all was ok, whereas next door at the beach bar if you so much as sat on their chairs they politely asked people to move !
We would definitely return to this hotel, we picked the Costa Del Sol because of the short flight and excellent weather, it didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    289
    146
    80
    45
See reviews for
159
382
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

Spent four nights at hotel in a suprior seaview room. Arrived at 3pm told room not ready walked into Banus, came back at 5 given a dark room on ground floor with twin beds when booked a double, asked for a move and moved upto 4th floor which was a little lighter but not much, rooms cramped and need of refurbishment, the room is obviously a secodn bedroom to a suite and electricity went out one night and nextdoor room had to be accessed to trip lights back on. The pillows were so thin as to be nonexistant with no spares in wardrobe. The shower screen was such a bad design and water poured onto the floor, the towels were gray and thin. There was no hotel directory in the room. The walls are paper thin and we had to listen to a couple having a better time that us during the night!! Children were runing up and down the corridor after midnight. it states in reception if you like you room buy it , I think you would get a better nights sleep in a tent on the motorway outside. the paking was 15Euros a night, so we left our car further up the road. The only positive was the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Towy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

When we arrived at the hotel we were met with instant politeness and help, check in was quick and polite and we were upgraded to a suite which was perfect. We spent two marvellous evenings and would have prebooked the buffet if we had known how excellent it was for the reduced price. Point for any potential travellers - prebook the buffet it is half price at 10 euros and worth every cent, normal price 20 euros. Do not understand the negative comments of others we found everything wonderful and there is obviously a problem with a sea view as the trees have grown so tall it is difficult to see over them. The beds are excellent, the little kitchen incredibly well fitted even with a washer and dishwasher although we did not need these for two nights. Advice to others stop complaining and shouting and be polite you will obtain more benefits that way, we live in Spain and do a great deal of travelling and find that respect and politeness to the Spanish goes a long way. Only one negative I would describe is that the music round the pool is noisy at least the base is, we tried to have a siesta in the afternoon and this was difficult. Hotel please note.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duchess6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

We booked the hotel for our family of four being & paid a n upgrade told to have "Superior Rooms" with a Sea View. Both our rooms were incredibly small, minute, - with no storage space, one single wardrobe and two drawers each. The room was so small that there is only about one foot all around the bed, no furniture just a small desk! We had to keep many of our clthes and luggage on the balcony! Our headboard was missing and the fixtures & fittings damaged. No turndown or evening towel replacement service takes place. It took 3 attempts to obtain extra pillows. We requested x2 single beds for our teenage children but was told on arrival that they only had doubles available. We quickly worked out that these "superior" rooms were in fact part of a family suite which were normally for adjoining a double & for use of children only! We were promised twice that this would be reviewed - neither time was this addressed. Many rooms that are quoted sea view are not they have a side sea view with a frontage view of the neighbouring apartments. We wanted a gym - but half the equipment was broken and out of order. Parking in the Hotel car park is an unbelievable 15Euros per night! The Hotels Beach Club was partially derelict with no attendance nor maintenenace, the plastic beds were left upturned, no litter collected and no cushions or towels supplied, such that many guests take beds & eat in the adjoining private luxury but very expensive beach club.
The Hotel - being still so new was poorly maintained and looked very run down, the entrance is down a dirty, badly lit & partially made up road is a very poor welcome. Reception was untidy and many of the lights were broken or not replaced. The plusses - the breakfast buffet & the housekeeping staffs friendly attitude.
I stay inn many Hotels on BUsiness all over the world - this was simply the worst value I have ever experienced in my life & by our experience there is no way can this Hotel be judged as being a 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kipstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

On arrival our room was not ready. When we got our room it was twin bed, not double bed. Then it was not a pool view as confirmed. For a 5star hotel the reception staff did not seem to care! then our Jacuzzi did not work. The maintenance man came up and said that the jets were not working and that there was nothing that he could do. We did not even receive as much as an apology and the reception did not even follow it up. The furniture in the balcony was absolutely filthy. On numerous days I asked for an ironing board to be sent to our room and it never arrived. We were told that we would get a discount when checking out, when we went to check out the reception knew nothing about it. The also tried to charge us a full room rate for late check out, when half the price was confirmed with reception before arrival. My partner has stayed there numerous time and has now decided that we will not be staying in the hotel again. It should be a 3star hotel not a 5 star. Was really not a good experience at all especially for the huge amount that was spent on staying in the suite!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

This is a lovely hotel and reasonably quiet in April. The buffet is excellent for the price and the service rapid and polite. I would have given this hotel a five rating if it hadn't been for the stand-up row I was forced to have on arrival. I told the hotel on booking that a sea view was important to me but on arrival I was shown two unsatisfactory rooms. The first had no view at all and the second had a bit of a view if you leaned out of the balcony. I was finally shown a wonderful suite with fabulous views but had to pay a huge supplement. I felt I had been conned. To be told 'this is what we call a sea view' is simply laughable. If I'd been told the truth I could have made a decision on whether to book or not. So if a view is important to you, make sure you get an absolute guarantee from the hotel before you arrive. Despite the row, I did very much enjoy my stay and if I could afford that particular suite again I might well reserve it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandakirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

My sister and I were upgraded from a double room to a fantastic suite with ALL of the amenities including a fully furnished balcony overlooking the pool with views of the Mediterranean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The complimentary buffet breakfast was the most amazing spread I have ever seen. No matter how one might define breakfast, it was available. Then, to enjoy it on the beach, was truly wonderful. Outstanding!!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petite_mignonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
5.0 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus

Property: Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Address: Calle Edgar Neville s/n | Nueva Andalucía, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unbeatable location. This beachfront resort is only 15 minutes walk from the centre of Puerto Banus. Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5* has 181 exclusive rooms decorated with noble materials & luxury finishings, offering splendid views of the Mediterranean Sea in an atmosphere of privacy and rest. You can also enjoy an exclusive and varied gastronomic offer in an idyllic setting: the sea front in Puerto Banus. High Cuisine Restaurants & exclusive Bars, Beach Club & Pool Bar, Fitness Centre & Sauna, Children playground, complimentary Wi-Fi, Meeting rooms will make of your stay the most exclusive and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Marbella
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing