We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights last week. Lovely clean comfortable hotel. Good breakfast  included in  our deal and and we took advantage of the evening buffet which was on offer at only 10 euros per head per night whilst we were there. The hotel is right on the beach in a quiet location about 800 metres west of Banus harbour. Quiet enough for the South Korean national Football Team to use the hotel for a training base when we were there. There is nothing but apartments and villas in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and getting to the harbour at night on foot is a bit tricky. The quickest route is along the beach road which is basically an unlit track. Why they haven't built a proper lit path is beyond me. There is an alternative lit route through the residential area but is a lot longer.Plenty of street car parking nearby. Hotel tricky to get to from Malaga Airport direction as you have to drive west beyond the hotel on the A7 ( dual carraigeway ) for about 1 mile and turn around at a roundabout coming back in the opposite direction on the A7 eastbound to find the turn off for the hotel which is signposted. Also watch out for toll roads on the A& / E15, take the non toll dual carraigeway, its just as quick.If you are looking for  a good clean comfortable hotel with very friendly staff you shouldn't be disappointed with the Guadaplin Banus. 

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Directora at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2010

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for the time spent writing your comments.

We appreciate your evaluation about your impressions and the service received during your stay. Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities.

In reference to your remarks about the walk between our Hotel and Puerto Banús, we are glad to inform you that the Town Hall of Marbella has just communicated the imminent beginning of works to make a proper sea promenade which will connect our Hotel to Puerto Banús. We hope you can notice the change in your next stay.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús, and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Maribel Quero

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2010

Stayed 11-20 October in Beachfront Banus Suite.
Already when entering the lobby at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus it is clear this hotel does not have the quality and class of a 5 star resort. You will have to carry your luggage yourself. Slow and somewhat uninterested persons at check-in. No introduction of the hotel services, facilities, breakfast etc. Find your room on your own. What really chocks me is finding out this hotel opened in spring 2005!! How can you let a hotel run down so fast? The interior design lacks any design what-so-ever and is worn down with boring colors following you in the hotel areas as well as in the rooms. Our room had brown-beige colors; sofa, wallpapers, kitchenette and carpeting. Looked very old and is quite worn down. The “fully equipped” kitchen (read: kitchenette!) had no casseroles or any cooking tools. When asking for a casserole reception sent us a kettle. Sigh! Even though the bedroom and living/dining room were good size, the bathroom was tiny! No separate shower, just a bathtub. And again, really worn down. However, what made up for all the flaws was the remarkable floor-ceiling window view in the bedroom and living room. Furthermore, the suite had a large terrace with a magnificent view. The terrace was surprisingly nice decorated with comfortable sofa/sitting group and outdoor dining table. The half way open wooden shutters blocked most of the sun during day, but not the view. The room had some technical gadgets such as electric controlled curtains and possibility connect your mp3 player in living room or bed room for the built in speakers in the ceilings as well as on the terrace. No DVD player in the room or hotel. Our friends stayed in junior suite which was smaller but had a better kitchen and bathroom. Their terrace was smaller and not as private but with nice sea view. We visited one of the deluxe junior suites with roof terrace. In short: horrible! I wouldn’t sit in any of their worn down, dirty furnitures on the terrace and certainly NEVER set my foot in the Jacuzzi! It was filthy! The general service was slow and inefficient. A charge of 6 euro to get ice to the room (5 star hotel???). The buffet breakfast was excellent though. The restaurant was not. Instead of having the bar facing the ocean with a nice view, it was located by the hotel entrance with its terrace facing the taxi stop. The pool was of nice size with comfortable sun loungers. Pool bar close at 6. There is a beach bar but it was closed. However, the beach was good and nice swimming. No personal on the beach this time of the year so towels had to be collected at the pool area (the “towel card” only allowed one towel per person ) and any drinks or food to be ordered in the hotel. Location was good with only 10-15 minutes walk to Puerto Banus. The air-condition in the small gym was not working and never repaired despite several reminders. Staff in general friendly but obviously lacking the service level and knowledge of a 5 star resort.

In conclusion: For our terrace, the views, pool and beach – Yes a nice and possibly 4 star quality. For the rest I would not rate it more than 3+ and with no renovations being done, I would think it will fall down to a 2 star quality rating pretty soon.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Directora at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2010

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for the time spent writing your comments.

We appreciate your evaluation about your impressions and the service received during your stay. Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities.

Because of the lay out of our Banus Suites, the kitchens in these rooms are smaller than in the Superior Junior Suites and there is no t enough space to keep all the kitchen equipment. Anyway we provide it dialling 9 from your room.

In reference to the cost of Ice Service, we would like to inform you that this price does not only include the ice itself, but also, garnish (nuts and olives) and the service of being taken to the room. Nevertheless, we would like to inform you that at the moment we are also offering a basic service of ice, which only includes the ice and has a lower price, 3 euros.

Regarding your comments about our Sofía bar, we would like to inform you that we have another bar, the name is Lorea bar, facing the ocean with big terrace and nice view.

Concerning your comments about the staff by the beach, let us remind you that we only have personal on the beach during Summer Season.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may had during your stay and let us inform you that we will take measures in order to improve our service and facilities.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús, and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Maribel Quero

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Guadalpin Banus to celebrate my 40th birthday and had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. Whilst the public areas of this hotel are very nice, I feel the rooms are rather tatty and worn, certainly do not command a 5* rating and are in general need of a refurb. We stayed in a superior room, which was in our opinion very small, however it did have a lovely view of the pool and sea. On the downside every item of furniture in the room had at least one chip in it and two walls had watermark stains on the wallpaper. We had an inconnecting door in our room which did nothing to muffle the sound of our noisy neighbours. Food and drink at this hotel is also very expensive and heavily overpriced. We had requested a queen size bed and arrived to find wo twin beds. This was however rectified within an hour of requesting a queen bed. We also requested an iroing board and iron which was delivered within 15 minutes. Service wise I think this hotel rates very highly, the only downside was the cost of the food and drink along with the condition of the room.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoopyLoo_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Directora at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2010

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for the time spent writing your comments.

We appreciate your evaluation about your impressions and the service received during your stay. Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities.
Regarding your comments about the conservation of the hotel, we would like to inform you that our Maintenance Manager is aware of it. Nevertheless, let us inform you that during this / low season our Maintenance staff is repairing all damages caused in our installations during the year.
We consider the prices are quite average, taking into consideration we are a 5* Hotel located in the area of Puerto Banús.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may had during your stay and let us inform you that we will take measures in order to improve our service and facilities.
It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús, and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Maribel Quero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

The hotel
The hotel itself is lovely. I think it’s been recently refurbished or extended as everything looked brand new and super-super clean and shiny. We had booked a superior room. It was small but overlooked the pool with a sea view if you stood up. Standing up is necessary due to the high partitions between balconies designed for privacy. But my friend wanted a bigger room so we upgraded for 30 euro a night to a junior suite. The view for this was at the side, so not as good, but the room/suite and veranda were gorgeous. Huuuuge balcony with sofa and chairs and a dining table. Large living room with TV and cute little kitchen – sad there’s no supermarket nearby so cooking for ourselves turned out not to be an option.

The location
A great location for families. The hotel is a half mile/mile outside Puerto Banus so it’s very quiet. The hotel and pool area are right on the beach, so you could sit by the pool or at breakfast and watch your kids on the beach. Great. However, we aren’t a family, and we didn’t have kids! So for us the location was a bit quiet and removed. As we were outside the main season many hotel facilities were shut – so we had a choice of a 10 euro taxi fare each way, or a walk along the beach to do anything much at all (not much fun in the dark, especially in high heels!).

The downside
The downside is the lack of facilities out of season. Also, the facilities that were open were very expensive even by Puerto Banus standards. Lastly, beware if you’re hoping to use the spa facilities – they’re at the sister hotel in Marbella (about 15 euro in a cab away).

The upside
Lovely, lovely buffet style breakfast right on the beach – including fresh fruit, loads of cold cuts, freshly made omelettes etc etc etc – plus great coffee and cava.
The pool is lovely and overlooks the sea. Go in off-season like us and you’ll be lazing in top twenties temperature and have the whole thing almost to yourself.

Top tip: Once you’ve dined out once in the lovely Puerto Banus, unless you are totally loaded, it’s probably cheaper and just as much fun, to jump on a bus to Marbella – or even get a cab. The food is soooo much better value, you’ll still be quids in. Plus, you’ll be able to have loads of yummy tapas rather the formal 3-course dinners available in PB.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Directora at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2009

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for the time spent writing your comments.

We appreciate your evaluation about your impressions and the service received during your stay.

Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús, and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Maribel Quero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Stayed here on two separate occassions, and both times the service has been faultless. The standard rooms are a little on the small side, but have everything you could require. The room we stayed in had a large balcony with rattan chaise longe and breakfast table and chairs etc.

The hotel is right on a great stretch of Puerto Banus beach, all private sections of the beach have their own beach bar/restaurant etc, the one directly infront of Guadalpin is called Mistral Beach.

They have a little shop where you can buy some designer beach wear should your english togs not be up to par. As for the Beach restaurants food then I can personally recommend the chicken salad, for some reason just a salad here is to die for....

sit back with a cool beer and just people watch the sights around you, you can get a massage on the beach here, never had it myself, but it certainly seemed to do the trick for the people who had it done....and of course you'll undoubtedly see some very wealthy middle aged men with young enhanced beauties strutting around, this is par for the course in puerto banus. But fear not, you can sit there under the same sun dipping in the same sea and take solace in the fact that your beach shorts cost only cost you £20 from topman.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtimes75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Directora at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2009

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for the time spent writing your comments.

We appreciate your evaluation about your impressions and the service received during your stay. Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús, and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Maribel Quero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We have stayed many in this hotel from when it was first built and at first we thought it was super. Over the years however it has gone more and more downhill and should no longer command a 5*rating. The staff can be very offhand, there can be noise at night and it no longer has those finishing touches that have made us regular visitors. Its position is superb but that is no longer enough to entice us back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginamelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Directora at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2009

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for the time spent writing your comments.

We appreciate your evaluation about your impressions and the service received during your stay. Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities.

We are sorry to know that some aspects of your stay at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús have not been as satisfactory as you expected.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may had during your stay.

Hoping your impressions about our Hotel will get better in a possible next stay and you will return your trust to us.


Yours sincerely,

Maribel Quero

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

There was 14 people in our party and we stayed for 3 nights, on the 1st night someone was robbed in their sleep (they had left the balcony door open) once everyone heard this we were careful, however the next evening while I was in our suite (which was amazing) I heard a noise, walked into our living area to find a man stealing my IPOD and purse - I screamed and thank got the man ran back out the baloncy doors. I rang reception very frightened and I couldn't believe how blase they were!!! They didn't even ring security , he near enough said it was my fault for having the balcony door open.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenny82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Directora at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2009

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for the time spent writing your comments.

We appreciate your evaluation about your impressions and the service received during your stay. Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities.

Accept our most sincere apologies if you did not feel satisfied with the hotel response. Regarding this very serious matter we must remind you that the hotel immediately called security and we offered to the group leader a new room on the top floor so that you would feel more secure. The leader of the group came by the front desk and colleted the keys.

Let us remind you that the Hotel Management shall only be liable for the items and valuables deposited in the Reception Safety Box. The Hotel shall not be responsible for any value higher than that insured and shall never be liable for losses of jewels or money.
We reported the incident to the police but only until a formal report is issued by the customer the police won’t carry an investigation.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús, and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Maribel Quero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,774 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,835 reviews
2.6 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#8 of 70 in Marbella
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
2.5 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
5.0 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus

Address: Calle Edgar Neville s/n | Nueva Andalucía, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £82 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unbeatable location. This beachfront resort is only 15 minutes walk from the centre of Puerto Banus. Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5* has 181 exclusive rooms decorated with noble materials & luxury finishings, offering splendid views of the Mediterranean Sea in an atmosphere of privacy and rest. You can also enjoy an exclusive and varied gastronomic offer in an idyllic setting: the sea front in Puerto Banus. High Cuisine Restaurants & exclusive Bars, Beach Club & Pool Bar, Fitness Centre & Sauna, Children playground, complimentary Wi-Fi, Meeting rooms will make of your stay the most exclusive and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Marbella
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing