We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends reunion ”
Review of Yamas Restaurant - CLOSED

Yamas Restaurant
Price range: US$1 - US$37
Cuisines: Greek, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open all day ....Join us for Greek tapas, a light bite or fine dining while you sit enjoying mezze (small plates) and wine philosophizing with your friends and family. Situated on the main pedestrian walkway from old town to the port just a few steps from the main Av Del Mar parking, you will find us within a very secret, beautiful garden, just hidden away from the rest of the world..... Welcome to our paradise....We have made it our mission at Yamas to bring you a taste of Greece fused together with occasional Asian flavours.......Experience the Mediterranean region's timeless culinary traditions and culture together with friends and family celebrating life over a fresh tasty plate and a glass of cold Ouzo!
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I have to say YAMAS , is the top of my list for places to go eat now in marbella... I know every time I go there the food will be great , and the ambiance is just wonderful. The service is tremendous... Thank you for a wonderful , experience...

Thank paulijuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK Y, Owner at Yamas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Sir,
We thank you so much for your great comments , all of us at Yamas appreciate such wonderful feedback!
We hope you visit us again very soon!
Kindest Regards
Kulis & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Excellent meal for Irish society where all the stops were pulled out. There was such a variety of food and such a lot it. Welcome Drinks which was Ouzo and/or Cava and lots of lovely wine with meal. The staff paid so much attention to detail and made all of us feel so comfortable.
The owners were also overseeing the meal which I always think makes such a difference to all.
Will be back. Good luck.
Mary

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BVMary52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK Y, Owner at Yamas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Mary,
We thank you for your lovely comments, we are so happy that you enjoyed the lunch at Yamas! Ane we hope that you visit us again very soon!
We wish you all the best wishes from all of the Yamas Team!
Kindest Regards
Kulis & Hayley x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Absolutely delicious food, great atmosphere and brilliant service! Had a great time tonight and hope to go back before the end of our trip. 100% recommend!! P.s lots of vegetarian options which are clearly labelled.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK Y, Owner at Yamas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, we are happy that you like our vegetarian options, many of our starters and delicious dips are in fact vegetarian with great selection! We do hope you visit us again very soon!
Kindest Regards
Kulis & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Yamas is located in the centre of Marbella town, we parked in the underground carpark nearby. You find it through the entrance to what looks like a block of apartments, it has a street A board showing the way. It is extremely busy and I suggest that booking a table is required even in low season but especially through the summer months.

After settling in a starter plate of two wholemeal rolls, some mayo based dip and green olives arrive, a pleasant start.

We had the meze for one as a starter for two along with a portion of pitta bread, which comes soaked in garlic butter. It was very well presented offering a good selection of humous, stuffed vine leaves and various methods of presenting feta cheese. There was no meat or fish on the plate so it would suit a vegetarian. It was reasonable value at €12.50 and certainly was interesting.

We followed with the king prawns flambeed in Ouzo which where delicious but had to ask for a finger bowl to clean our hands after peeling them. We noticed that a finger bowl was delivered at the same time as the prawns to another table, so perhaps they just forgot about ours. It was quite busy for the few staff that were on duty but they were still very friendly and spoke very good english. We noticed others tables having difficulty attracting their attention. Along with the prawns we had the fillet of lamb which was not served as described on the menu, we received the accompanying vegetable which should have came with the pork fillet, so the kitchen is not that "switched on". A portion of the home made thick cut chips with crumbles of feta cheese was ordered with all this and were delicious.

All in all the main course was a success even though the veg was mixed up. The lamb as tasty and the Metaxa brandy sauce worked well.

Three glasses of Spanish wine was served through the meal at a very reasonable price of €2.90/ glass which says they are not trying to rip you off.

A greek dessert of filo pastry soaked in syrup followed which was the same as you get in any greek restaurant.

A very dramatically served Metaxa flaming brandy rounded off an good greek meal so we were not disappointed.

The waiter was chatting up a table of girls as we rose to leave having paid the €100 bill including tip so there was no farewell which was not a good ending.

All in all if we wanted another greek meal we would go back, but this restaurant is definitely not the best in Marbella as Trip adviser says being No 1 on the list but its smart casual and not that expensive when you find it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Demented999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK Y, Owner at Yamas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We are extremely upset at your rating of average, when your actual comments written seem much higher.
After being open only 8 weeks out of 821 Restaurants in Marbella to gain number 1 on Trip Advisor is a wonderful achievement to us and our staff to make this happen, we are genuinely sorry you did not feel the same.
Our Local is situated in the centre of Marbella in commercial centre, which allows us to provide a beautiful patio setting / secret garden area away from the main roads, or average terrace right in the heart of Marbella. We do not have A boards in the street as this is not legal, a separate licence is required for this, hence we are more subtle at bringing guests in and I'm sure you will agree as all our guests do our secret exterior patio is most tranquil.
Our Cubiertos are quite unique and consist of homemade wholemeal rolls with a homemade sweet curry dip, and green olives, not your average bread and butter that are mostly on offer.
The pitta bread is made with garlic inside and is lightly drizzled with olive oil and oregano, not a garlic butter, apologies if you felt it tasted like this.
The mixed meze states on the menu is it a selection of hot and cold starters, it does include the Taramas ( fish) and is great for vegetarians, we thank you for comment for it being interesting, it is one of our most popular starters to give everyone a 'taste of Greece'.
Thank you for commenting that you need to reserve, we are very busy and we hate to disappoint, in the evenings we normally present 4 staff plus personal service from the owner 5 in total for a patio that can seat 30 we feel is sufficient, sorry if you felt some other clients were trying to catch attention at times, we endeavour to offer great service , great food, great atmosphere and great prices to all of our clients which can be noted in our other guest reviews, we are sorry it did not match your expectations.
We feel the comment of our kitchen 'not being switched on', most unfair and we feel does not really match the comments written about our lamb being tasty , the Metaxa brandy sauce working well and the meze being interesting etc. we are extremely sorry you felt this way.
The Greek dessert chosen would have been either the Baklawa, Kataifi or Galaktoburiko, if you desired something less Greek, we could have offered you Homemade Bailies Cheesecake, Popcorn Ice cream, Fresh Fruit platter, Selection of Cheese board, various teas , coffees or dessert wine.
We also apologise that you feel that we did not say goodbye to you, it is certainly something that we always do , our current waiters are all married so the comment on chatting up a table of ladies was possibly in fact him trying to explain the menu or wines to them, we apologise for their charm, and will address this personally with the staff in question.
Kindest Regards
Kulis & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had lunch today at Yamas Restaurant, in the outdoor patio, under the lovely white parasols. I took my Dad as a special thank you treat for him. We really enjoyed our Cesar Salads and time out from the heat and crowds of Marbella, spent in the calm and peaceful patio. The staff were charming and professional. It was so nice. I am coming back for my birthday in June - for an evening of live music and maybe some greek plate smashing - looking forward to that!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank casamadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK Y, Owner at Yamas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments greatly , and we are glad you had a wonderful lunch on our Patio here at Yamas Marbella.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kindest Regards
Kulis & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yamas Restaurant also viewed

Puerto Banus, Marbella
Puerto Banus, Marbella
 
Nueva Andalucia, Marbella
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing