We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Mariola Marbella
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect short break”
Reviewed 29 October 2010

This was our second stay at Marina Mariola and we had a great time. We stayed in a 2 bedroom duplex with sea view. It comprises an open-plan lounge/dining room and kitchen plus a large terrace overlooking the pool, and beyond that, the sea. Downstairs is a twin and a double bedroom, each with its own bathroom. The duplex is well-maintained, with modern furnishings and the kitchen has a washing machine, dryer and a dishwasher.
The apartment block is situated on the Paseo Maritimo, which has several restaurants and a supermarket within easy walking distance and it is a half-hour stroll from Orange Square in the old town of Marbella.
We hired a car as it was cheaper for the 4 of us than taking a taxi to and from the airport (Malaga airport is 35 minutes away by car), but you don't absolutely need one. We drove to Seville one day (2.5 hours away) and to Puerto Banus a couple of times (5 minutes by car), but really nothing could beat admiring the view from our terrace at Marina Mariola.
The only downside would be that I wouldn't recommend the duplex for a family with very small children as the banister on the marble staircase looked easy for someone small to slip through. There is free Wifi in the lobby, where there is a lot of comfortable seating.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroleann94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We know the area quite well, and the oustanding feature of Marina Mariola is its location. It's right on the Paseo and only seconds from the beach. waking up to the sound of waves crashing on to the shore or having your breakfast on teh balcony is a great way to start the day. The apartments are very roomy and well appointed, but the second bedroom has no natural light but some high windows on to an indoor corridor which can mean lots of lights going on/off through the night and distracting. As it is self catering there is little contact with staff but for example the security on front gate are very helpful and are very prompt to open doors and very helpful with ordering taxis etc. The pool area is fine but can get a bit crowded, and there is a shortage of sun umbrellas which can lead to some nasty behaviour by some of the guests. Buying a few more sun umbrellas would solve a lot of this.So just maybe one or two small negatives but outweighed a very positive overall experience

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imeacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We recently stayed in Marina Mariola as part of our honeymoon in Spain. First of all, the location is amazing. It is right on the beach! There is an entrance straight to the boardwalk from the apartments. There is beach access from the boardwalk and to the left there are many little shops and LOTS of places to get tapas, ice cream, beers, and sit down restaurants. There are also restaurants right on the beach grilling freshly caught seafood all day.
The pool was immaculate and the pool area was very clean. There were plenty of pool chairs available as the apartments wee not super crowded.
Marina Mariola is also a short walk into the town of Marbella. All of the tourist offices will give you a free map so you can explore. There is a small section called "Old Town" that is similar to the feel of Seville. You can shop there as well as get even more tapas!
Carlos the owner was very friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant on the top of Plaza Del Mar (the boardwalk mall) called La Navilla. If you are looking for authentic Spanish cuisine this is the place to go. It is more expensive then a night of tapas but the meals are amazing and not over priced for the quality you receive.
I had never been to Marbella before this trip so I have nothing to compare these apartments to. However, I can say we had a great experience there and would certainly consider going back if we make it there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Marina Mariola has an excellent location right on the sea front, it is clean, secure and pushes most of the right buttons as previous reviewers have noted. But I felt disappointed in some respects. We travelled with my elderly parents so my wife and I were in the second bedroom which is poorly ventilated. The beds in that room were uncomfortable and only suitable for children or early teens. The Air Conditioning in the room was we felt unacceptable but our holiday company checked it out and said that the system was working normally - I don't know how anyone during the summer could sleep there comfortably. The TV only has Spanish channels no English stations in our apartment - not a problem to us but my Dad is disabled and would have liked to have been able to watch TV in the evening. Although we were fortunate to have received a 2 bedroom apartment for the price of a 1 bed you are paying a premium price for a product that compares unfavorably with other apartments we have rented elsewhere in the past. You are paying a premium for the five star location. It is a 8 - 10 minute walk to Marbella on the promenade and more than 40 minutes to Puerto Banus. We rented through Marbella Options, we were met on arrival by Monica who was a star - she did her best to sort out our problems over a bank holiday weekend, brought us an electric kettle, an AC unit for the second bedroom, and personally carried a spare bed up to the apartment for my wife. She could not have been more helpful - Carolina also had a look at our problem with the AC and TV - she sorted out the TV reception but there was nothing could be done re the AC. We enjoyed the pool and it was wonderful to have our breakfast on the terrace every morning in the lovely sunshine. Yes we had a good time, Yes Marina Mariola is in a fantastic location, but we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 64waterville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacific palisades,CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Breakfasts on the veranda with stunning views, walks along the boardwalk to many restaurants, fantastic location near the center of town. Our kids (ages 12 and 9) loved the huge swimming pool. We loved that the building had a lifeguard on duty so we didn't have to be on duty ourselves (he also made sure they didn't get too noisy so as not to disturb other guests). Our unit had an extensive collection of DVD's (you can change language selection). We had a 2 story unit on the '-1' level which was extremely comfortable (a/c, maid service every day except Sunday). Our only complaint with the unit was that the mattresses were not very comfortable. Rumor has it the unit we stayed in was for sale for more than 2 million euros! There is no reason to stay in a hotel when you can stay here.

We live near the beach in California so the beaches themselves were nothing spectacular by our measure but the pulse of the Marbella lifestyle was great with the many chiringuitos on the beach to have lunch or dinner of fantastic seafood with sangria. We also took a day trip to Grenada (about 1-1/2 each way) as well as visiting nearby Puerto Banus with it's fancy yachts and shops. We also took a trip up to Ronda but the extremely windy road made us all sick and it took much longer than we anticipated to get there (1 hour +...it felt like the curves would never end). Don't miss Orange Square for dinner ~ we didn't discover it until the last night. After Marbella we went to Sevilla which was approx. 2 hour drive and fantastic ~ don't miss it!

We would definitely book into the Marina Mariola again if we return to Marbella. We have very fond memories of a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carobritravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

I stayed at the Marina Mariola for a week in July 08 with my husband and our two daughters (aged 21 & 19) in a two bedroom duplex beachfront apartment which is absolutely stunning with amazing views. We couldn't fault the location, within walking distance of Marbella town where we ate out frequently (lots of lovely restaurants) and a short drive to Porto Banus where the girls enjoyed the clubs! On arrival in our hire car we were shown to our own underground parking space and then shown around the apartment, asked if everything was ok and that if we needed anything else to just ask. Everything in the apartment was perfect, extremely clean (maid service daily) decor and furnishings lovely. Sunbeds always available around the outdoor pool, nothing at all to complain about. We would definitely consider returning to these apartments for a future holiday. Very relaxing and a real home from home, with every amenity you could wish for.

  • Liked — view and location
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank L-H-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2008

Stayed 4 nights in a 2 bedroom duplex apartment with husband and 2 friends. After reading the other reviews we expected the apartment to be good but when we opened the door the views out over the pool and to the sea took our breath away. The furnishings were first class and the balcony furniture was fantastic. The sound of the sea was very relaxing.

.We hired a car from the airport which cost £72 for a Ford Fiesta estate for 4 days and on arrival at the complex Carolina showed us to our designated spaces in the underground car park.We found this really great as on previous visits to Marbella parking has been a nightmare.She then showed us around the apartment and answered any questions we had.We found her very helpfull.

The complex was very secure and kept spotlessly clean as was our apartment.There were pleanty of restaurants within walking distance-we especially like da Pina an Italian pizzaria with a fantastic man playing the harp.(turn left and walk down the prom. for about 5 mins.) We also visited a restaurant called Robbies in Estapona-well worth a visit for its great food and unusual decor-covered in photos of 40s filmstars.

It was too cold to use the pools but they looked very well maintained and the gym was good if you wanted to work off some of those extra calories gained at dinner time!

We would certainly visit here again and would recommend them to anyone who wants to be near all the action of Marbella but who wants to stay in an upmarket, quiet complex.

  • Liked — position, furnishings,comfort
  • Disliked — having to leave!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettylittleborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardines Del Mar Apartments
Jardines Del Mar Apartments
#56 of 70 in Marbella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
1.3 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#34 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Mariola Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Mariola Marbella

Property: Marina Mariola Marbella
Address: Calle Pepe Carleton 1 | Edificio Marina Mariola, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top Class apartments in one of the most exclusives buildings in town. Best location in town,just 20 meters to the seaside and within walking distance to the old town and 5 minutes driving to Puerto Banus marina. Top class furnished and fully fitted. Daily cleaning available. 2 Parking spaces. 24 Hours security. The complex features one of the most beautiful pools in the area,heated pool,jacuzzi,gym. Enjoy Marbella with the privacy of an apartment with 5 stars hotel accomodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Mariola Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Mariola Marbella Hotel Marbella
Marina Mariola Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing