We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, great value”
Review of Hostal El Gallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal El Gallo
Ranked #8 of 35 Marbella B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Located very near the old town centre, very quiet road, very comfortable room and clean. Was a birthday and anniversary and we were surprised to receive a bottle of cava. Certainly recommend this hostal and would definitely return.

Room Tip: One with a terrace.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toodunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Hostal El Gallo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

We prolonged our stay twice. This is an honest place. The owners and staff are very kind and accommodating people. The hostal is clean and tidy. It is located in a very charming street with traffic limitation in the old-town of Marbella. The hostal offers excellent value for money. The attached restaurant is simple but good. We ate there several times during our stay and enjoyed it a lot. We would always stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelix-BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The hotel was located in the old town, which was charming, compared to the surrounding area that is your typical Costa del Sol conglomeration of high rises and crowds. It was about a 15 minute walk to the water and promenade. The room was nice and roomy. The bathroom was nice but small and had a shower stall. There was a large balcony with a table, chairs and a laundry line. The room had a desk, chair, bureau, large closet, hot water and coffee maker, and tv. There is free street parking a couple of blocks away. Some minor complaints we had included the fact that there was not a lot of lighting in the bedroom. Also, it was hard to find because the street it's on is closed to cars, so gps will get you close but still a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walk1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

what a great little find this was we arrived and was shown to our lovely room my mother who was also staying had a great room with a terrace.We were amazed at the size of our room very spacious and very clean the staff who i believe are all family were amazing nothing was too much trouble they gave us a hair dryer ,a kettle, and some plates knives and forks mugs and spoons we were able to go to local bakery in a morning and have a great breakfast on our terrace.The food at the el gallo is simple but fresh and very inexpensive i reccomend the squid very tender and tasty, everything about the el gallo is superb and a special mention to juan he was very sweet and helpful (he topped my brandy glass up very generously thank you) they ordered us a taxi on departure and even gave us a complimentary breakfast on the day i paid our bill a lovely touch thank you to all at el gallo we will return your amazing x

Room Tip: we had room 8 very spacious my mum had room 7 that was a bit smaller but had a great terrace with ta...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My dad and I stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived very late in the evening - 10pm - and the owner stayed up for us. He then got in the car with my dad to take him and show him where to park. The room was perfect - clean, quiet, with a little fridge. They provided maps and great wifi. I would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone in Marbella.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_M_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We read about this in the Rough Guide. It is at the top end of Marbella and we were the only tourists there. It was Sunday and we had made a reservation and were asked to be there for 1.30.No sooner had we sat down when the local inhabitants came pouring in with their families. They all seemed to know each other. We had 3 courses wine and coffe for 42 euros which after Malaga seemed very reasonable . The fish was delicious. we could not eat anything more for the rest of the day. I would go back there anytime

Room Tip: We only had lunch there b ut it is so picturesque in a quiet street we would be very happy to stay i...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katharine186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

friend and I visited Marbella for a wedding and some sun. We decided to stay in old town and found this Hostal on booking.com that had great reviews and you cannot beat a $55 euro a night stay. The Hostal was hard to find, we probably asked 10 people directions before we found it in a small alley street in the middle of the beautiful winding streets.
The room was perfect for us a small fridge 2 beds and a bathroom. The hostal had a great deck that you could watch the sunrise and sunset. To top it off they had a great restaurant downstairs with delicious food for a super cheap price. All in all the location is great, the people were super nice and the parking was free in the lot behind.
Also had to mention we are right near the Arab castle and Plaza de Narajas, and hundreds of shops and tapas bars. 10 min walk to the beach and taxi station.... Recommended this place A++

Room Tip: We did not have a Balcony, but would def get one next time.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princesmelis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#24 of 70 in Marbella
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Berlin
Hostal Berlin
#41 of 70 in Marbella
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#34 of 70 in Marbella
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Paco
Hostal Paco
#46 of 70 in Marbella
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Gallo

Address: Calle Lobatas 46, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Marbella
Price Range: £50 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal El Gallo 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal El Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Gallo Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing