We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some nice aspects, but wouldn't go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Claude Marbella
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The bottom line is that this hotel is just too expensive for what it offers. The rooms are nice, but we had a very small one that was frankly overpriced.
The breakfast is nice upstairs but service a bit haphazard even though they try hard.
The gym they claim to offer is about a 25 minute walk away, and really it is a joke trying to use. We had problems galore the two times we tried to use it.
The staff at reception were generally very helpful, but not enough to compensate for the fact it charges about 30% more than it should.
The Puente Romano resort down the road is the place we will stay next time....very swish.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tooraktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Claude M, Director General at Hotel Claude Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time in commenting about your experience with us.
Sorry to hear that you felt your room was too small.
Having been there myself when you arrived 4 hours before our official check-in time, I remember having offered you a bigger room which you refused because you "did not like it". As you were in a rush to check-in there and then, we showed you the slightly smaller but very charming room which you went for and no mentioning of it possibly being too expensive.

I am surprised to hear that you felt the breakfast on the roof terrace was a "bit haphazard". i wish you could have mentioned it to me on the first day you had breakfast. The only thing I can think of that our trainee waiter, who only started that week, might not have been up to scratch yet but we had senior staff at all times at the breakfast service and one word would have been enough to improve the service.

You mention the "gym they claim is about a 25 minute walk away"....yes it is, depending how one walks, some people manage in 18 minutes, some others in 20 or 25 and some even in 15 and that´s why we say approximately 25 minutes (of course one can also take an hour, taking a detour, it all depends on which way one goes). I know that you took a car and if you followed the instructions correctly then by car you should have been there in 5. I find it a bit odd to comment on the time we indicate it takes to walk when in fact you drove there on both days.
Marbella is small and there are lots of different ways in getting there but if one takes our suggestion to take the most easy and direct way on the beach promenade, then one should get there in no more than 20 to 25 minutes, walking at a normal pace.
You say "it is a joke trying to use it"....I´m not sure how funny the experience was but I know that on the first day they ran out of towels which they appologized for to you personally onsite and later to us over the phone. I personally apologized again on their behalf. It is also true that they, due to a change in management, "messed up" the fact that they were meant to give you a free parking ticket/voucher the second time you went (the first day it seemed to have worked fine as i asked and you only mentioned the towels). Again they did apologize to you and your partner and they wanted to telephone us but you were too upset and left leaving the gym receptionist apparently crying. I shall not publicly comment on the feedback I got from the apologetic staff who recognized their error.
You say we should 30% less...well, I take your point and shall review our pricing policy but I presume it is fair to check you in 4 hours before our official check-in time and for giving you free drinks for the mishap at the gym, don´t you agree?
I wish you pleasant stays at all the "very swish places" and would love to hear back from you how other hotel staff react when you arrive in a very bad mood demanding to check-in ahead of time and to demand to see different rooms to choose when we were clearly busy with check-outs that morning.
I believe there are ways and ways of communicating but I in this case i will "blame the rain in Spain" that unexpectedly happened and in the middle of June (when everyone expects it to be nice and sunny)...
I am sorry we were not up to your expectations but it would be nice to address problems on the spot, especially if one is asked if everything is fine, and not now say we were "generally helpful but not enough...". Maybe we should next time just be more firm and stick to our rules and not be so friendly and flexible? i remember you wanted to leave the moment you arrived...it was your partner who insisted in staying. You were shown 2 rooms before you checked in and you had time to just change your mind but you chose to stay.
I only hope that the rest of your trip to Spain was more peaceful and relaxing than your brief stay with us. I am pleased though, form what I can read between the lines, that the very swish hotel in town that is a complete different hotel altogether (5-star seaside resort instead of a 7-bedroom boutique hotel in the historic center of Marbella) did put a smile on your face.
Sorry we did not fulfill your expectations but thanks you for having stayed the 2 nights and we wish you happy travelings.
Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Claude Marbella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

A group of us stayed here for a hen do and it couldn't have been more perfect. Everyone at the hotel was extremely patient and accommodating, the roof terrace was lovely morning and evening and the breakfast was a revelation. The hotel is very conveniently situated in Marbella Old Town and the rooms beautifully clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scrappy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

So much better than i was expecting. We stayed in the room at the top of the hotel and loved it. Very spacious, really comfortable bed, quiet and very stylish. Really liked the common parts. Superb service. Highly recommend this hotel. Also really liked the location - was very suprised by how much we liked Marbella having made incorrect assumptions about it. Really good breakfast.

Room Tip: We liked the room right at the top which is particularly spacious
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jevandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What an incredible little boutique hotel right in the middle of the old town. Very well maintained, clean, with a very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very comfortable and was just the right size for my wife and I. the rooftop deck was a nice retreat to either have breakfast or enjoy some wine to end the day. The proprietor was wonderful. When we told her we would want to explore some of the towns along the Costa del Sol, she provided us with a very detailed package of the greatest hits of the area. Very helpful!!!

A fantastic hotel in a great location to enjoy the beauty and charm of Marbella!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharkATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at Hotel Claude for a mini weekend break and was definitely not disappointed. We stayed in the Francesa Suite which was very luxurious, with crisp white linen, a beautiful crystal chandelier and Molten Brown smelly's!!!
Breakfast was delicious which was served on the rooftop with fresh fruit, croissants, jams/honey, fresh bread, eggs, bacon.....and more!
The location is set on the cobble streets of the Old Town where restaurants and bars are a plenty. I would highly recommend a Tapas Restaurant called Arco further down the street on the same side as hotel. Although service was abit slow the Husband and Wife duo did themselves proud with a modern twist on the traditional Tapas. The food was excellent!
Overall had a fab break and would most definitely come back and do it all again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CQ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

It was a very enjoyable stay in this small boutique hotel in a nice street in old Marbella town. Friendly & professional service. Room & breakfast comfy and tastfull.Nice little lounge with selection of travel books, good wifi to remain connected with your home newspaper and or favorite tv programm.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelagain60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We spent five nights at Hotel Claude earlier this month, and it is without doubt one of the best hotels we have ever visited. From the moment we set foot in the door, we knew it was going to be worth every penny. We were offered a welcome drink, our bags were whisked away, we checked in from the comfort of huge, luxurious sofas, and we were then allowed to inspect a couple of rooms before choosing which one to stay in!
We opted for 'Savannah' which had a cute outside patio, something we didn't expect staying in the heart of Marbella's old town. The rooms are all plush, spotless and superbly furnished.
But it is the warmth, hospitality and attention to detail opf the staff which really takes the breath away - one evening we mentioned we had booked a particular restaurant - unknown to us, the hotel manager rang the restaurant and ensured we had the best table in the house, in a fully-booked eaterie. The hotel also arranged our limo transfers, provided free passes for the local spa and wellness centre and offered some impeccable restaurant recommendations.
The highlight was breakfast each morning on the beautifully sunny rooftop terrace, where we also spent one afternoon enjoying a couple of drinks.
The hotel is perfectly located, right in the old town, and yet only ten minutes from the beach - and despite its central location it was incredibly peaceful and quiet.
I could go on and on about the Hotel Claude but this property has been out together with love and attention to detail, and I cannot imagine a better place to stay.
Guests are required to ring a bell to gain access to the hotel, but this is good for security and is also a great opportunity to interact with the staff - Desiree and Joaquim were perfect hosts and really good company during our stay. The only drawback was having to leave the place!

Room Tip: There are only seven rooms in this boutique hotel - we looked at two but chose Savannah for its love...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
895 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
6.5 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claude Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claude Marbella

Address: Calle San Francisco No. 5 | Casco Antiguo, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#3 Business Hotel in Marbella
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#13 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £180 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claude Marbella 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revamped Royal Townhouse Once the summer residence of Empress Eugenia de Montijo (Napoleon III´s wife), Hotel Claude Marbella is a 17th- century townhouse that has been revamped and restyled to meld authentic period features with modern design, setting a new benchmark in the boutique-is- beautiful league of southern Spanish hotels. This latest chic retreat takes its name from the late Claude Devoize, the French Opera singer, whose home this townhouse was back in the 70s and 80s, hosting endless soirees and cultural gatherings. The focus of Hotel Claude is its marble-flagged patio and its unique romantic roof terrace, overlooking the bustling old town of Marbella. The seven rooms, divided into 6 Superior Deluxe Rooms and 1 Suite, have been designed individually and each boasting their own unique personality and feel, though all come equipped with the latest in comfort and technology. The Suite Francesca is the only room that looks out onto the old town’s main street. A large balcony and a huge floor-to-ceiling window keep it bright and airy, and the high, wood-beamed ceilings and decorative arch leading to the minimalist mosaic-fitted bathroom create a sense of spaciousness. All 6 Superior Deluxe Rooms are located to the back of the building, overlooking neighbouring patios and roofs. Up in the eaves, The Flamand room overlooks the roof terrace and has its own private stairwell leading up to a smart loft-style studio with glossy oak floors and a semi-open-plan bathroom. Listening to the church chime outside and looking out over the steeple, you feel like a princess in a tower. Savannah and North African-themed Marroqui are joined by a courtyard, making them ideal for families or friends travelling together. Small properties can sometimes feel stifling, but not here, and the design incorporates a flurry of velvet, purples, reds and cream colours. Once the a la carte breakfast has been served on the roof terrace or the black and white themed “bijou” style dining room, guests are left to their own devices. Focusing on showing guests a slice of the old Marbella, in addition to the Costa del Sol´s beaches and golf courses, Hotel Claude emphasises on slowing down and enjoying the surroundings. You´d be hard-pressed to find a retreat as slick or private as The Claude anywhere in Marbella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Claude Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claude Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing