We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice venue, horrible food and service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olivia Valere Babilonia

Olivia Valere Babilonia
Ranked #389 of 1,353 Restaurants in Marbella
Price range: US$56 - US$80
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice venue, horrible food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The only thing I can say about this place is: DO NOT go there!!! It’s a rip off!!!!
The venue is very nice but table decoration is very cheap (artificial flowers, cheap candle holders), very cheap show if we can call this a show!
Dinner doesn’t start before 10pm but that’s ok because you’re in Spain, you have to wait for ever before a waiter comes along to take your order, you end up paying a fortune for nothing. I’ve been to very expensive restaurants before but it was worth it. We’ve ordered the gambas for 42€ and ended up having 3 gambas and 1 LEAF of salad!!! We also had the salmon with just a little bit of rice and it was tasteless! Needless to say that we were very disappointed!! The desert was simply awful!!! When you charge people so much, you at least have to deliver a perfect cuisine and service, it’s not all about the venue. We had to ask the bill to 4 different waiters before having it!
We’ve been there last year for a couple of drinks and we were very impressed with the venue and decided to go back this year for dinner and would never go back again.
Definitely NOT the place to be!!!
Olivia, do yourself a favor and hire a good chef, redecorate your tables and deliver perfect service!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Marky1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    7
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CALAHONDA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“no return”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

waited over an hour for food, service lacks, just anonther number

Helpful?
1 Thank LECLERE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Olivia Valer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great , but expensive! A good night out if you have something special to celebrate

Helpful?
Thank wendy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Very good Quality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Love this restaurant. One of my all time favourites. The restaurant is beautiful and stylish. The food is well presented and very tasty! First class.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VVNJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ARROGANT & RUDE SERVICE. COLD, BLAND OVERPRICED FOOD. POOR MANAGEMENT”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

A group of 15 of us pre booked a table at Olivia Valeres restaurant for Saturday 30/7/11.
The greeting we received was unwelcoming and cold. We were directed to a table at the bar by the host who simply pointed down the stairs.

We waited approximately 12 minutes and then asked if we could order some drinks. House wine was 15euro a glass. We later found, when seated at the table the bar tariff is a lot more expensive than the drinks list you see at the table.

A knowledgeable sommelier made some good suggestions for wine and several bottles of water were brought to our table without ordering them.

The starters were very good.

The main courses arrived sporadically. Two people in our party ordered Steak cooked medium-rare which was cold – not hot, not even warm but cold. Three people ordered vegetable lasagne, which arrived and was hot on top but again cold in the middle. On checking, another 4 people in our party found their food to be cold.

We sent the 11 meals back and asked for our food to be warm.

One of the dishes that was hot was a fish tagine – the fish was good but the sauce was bland.

Slowly, one by one the meals returned, the same food we had sent back, we noticed had been reheated and given to a different person it had originally been taken to. Also we now had no cutlery.

The lasagne however was still cold and now fairly congealed. The Steaks were now overcooked and yet still only slightly warm.

5 people of our party did not eat the food.

The waiting staff were apologetic.

We asked for the manager and 20 minutes later he arrived. ‘What can I do for you?’ he asked, unaware of the problems we had. I explained our food had taken a long time to get right and after 2 attempts at sending it back we had given up and 5 of our party had not eaten. I asked what he could do to put this right.

He said ‘I will sort this for you’. Another 20 minutes and he had not returned. After we found him, I asked what he had sorted for us and I was told that, we had received the food so what was the problem? He claimed steak cooked med-rare should be cold in the middle and yes he agreed the lasagne was cold as he had stuck his finger in it. After arguing these points for a while we explained we weren’t happy to pay for the 5 meals that we had been unable to eat. Impossible he said, ‘I can only take 2 off the bill – that is all I can do’ And on that note he left.

One of the hosts came to take over and agreed the service was unacceptable. She eventually managed to get the 5 meals off the bill, 8 bottles of water (which incidentally were 10EURO each) and two bottles of wine as a goodwill gesture.

The manager, we were advised was dealing with his VIP customers in the club.

At 12.30am we left, having paid just under 600EURO. Disappointed to say the least.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMidlandLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olivia Valere Babilonia also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Puerto Banus, Marbella
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Olivia Valere Babilonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing