We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Don Alfredo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Don Alfredo
Ranked #36 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Reviewed 20 December 2009

we stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. It is a small family owned hotel with very good atmosphere and location.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aneta_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2009

We returned to the Don Alfredo for a second time as our first stay was so good. Yet again the staff were really friendly and helpful and the accommodation excellent...very comfortable and clean. A truly great location, with an excellent cafe attached to the hotel and an unbeatable room rate. Thanks again

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 20 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We stayed for one week in the Don Alfredo in November, with our six year old. The hotel is just on the edge of the old town, but not in the pedestrian zone. Everything was really close - restaurants, shops, beach, etc. We had a fantastic view of the castle walls from our room.
The hotel is very clean and the maid comes everyday. The room (202) had everything we needed, and the bathroom was spacious (although not all rooms have a bath). The personnel were helpful and friendly, although English was limited. We asked to move from one room to another, and the staff were more than happy to oblige. There is no restaurant/bar in the hotel itself, but the cafe downstairs is very handy, again with friendly staff.
We were overall very happy with our stay and would recommend the hotel. However, there were one or two points that stopped our stay being perfect. Firstly, the road outside could be very noisy in the middle of the night - it seemed that the street cleaners passed six or seven times a night some nights. Secondly, the doors in the hotel were noisy: the handles and locks were stiff, and made a lot of noisy, which also added to the noise especially at night. For these two reasons, bring earplugs. Lastly, the room was rather small for three - even though we paid extra to have a third bed, it was not really big enough. We found it difficult to find space to store everything, and there was little room to move.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusymumBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Small hotel with 19 rooms, clean, quiet, located in the Old Town, and looks across to the ancient fort walls. We took a taxi and this turned out to be a good idea as there was no way we could have walked all those labyrinthian streets and found it on our own.

Not a whole lot of English spoken at the hotel but we were able to communicate somehow.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyCLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Hi i stayed at the Don Alfredo in Sept for a week, I can honestly say i have never stayed in a clearer hotel. Its a 2 star but its got everything you could need. the hotel has recently been refurbished and looks great. Location, service and price very hard to beat.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DublinKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Don Alfredo. This was a big change from the resort and large hotels we were used to staying. However, it turned out to be a brilliant surprise. If you do not mind walking around and getting to know a city, it is a perfect place to stay. The Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable of where the very helpful in finding the local food and hangouts.

Should we return to Marbella, we will most certainly be visiting the Don Alfredo again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dcharb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.3 mi away
Marbella Inn
Marbella Inn
#42 of 70 in Marbella
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#22 of 70 in Marbella
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baviera
Hotel Baviera
#44 of 70 in Marbella
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Berlin
Hostal Berlin
#41 of 70 in Marbella
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Morada Mas Hermosa
0.2 mi away
Hostal Paco
Hostal Paco
#46 of 70 in Marbella
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Alfredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Alfredo

Address: Calle Portada 11, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range: £81 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Alfredo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Don Alfredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Alfredo Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing