We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family-run hotel in brilliant location!”
Review of Hotel Don Alfredo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Don Alfredo
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
South Pole
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Fantastic family-run hotel in brilliant location!”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My fiance chose this hotel and to be honest, I wasn't really expecting much. We stayed here for 2 nights in mid-June and wow... it was perfect! One of the cheapest options in Marbella and we were thrilled with it. The location was superb - couldn't be better. It was literally a 30 second walk to get into the centre of the old town. The rooms were clean, the bathroom perfectly adequate, the beds comfortable, and we had an absolutely amazing view of the old castle walls - superb. Unfortunately, the cafe downstairs was closed while we were there so we can't comment on that. Our only gripe would be parking - there were a few parking spots close to the hotel but the cars never seemed to move! We ended up parking in a carpark at the bottom of the town (this hotel is on top of a hill) and paid dearly for it... I think €36 for 2 days? Ouch. Also, this hotel is seriously tricky to find! We were using maps, not a GPS, but Marbella was just tricky to navigate. My advice - use a GPS! :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voyageuse_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    40
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
35
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We were referred to Don Alfredo by a local person. The 2-star hotel (family-run) is on the edge of Old Town and is facing the castle. The rooms are clean but basic just enough space for 2. There is the all-important airconditioning and flat-screen TV, and ensuite bathroom with hot and cold water. One thing that's impressive is that they offer free wi-fi in the rooms.
They have a little cafe adjoining it with great value on meals/drinks.
The staff couldn't do enough for you. The beach was only 10 minutes walk away. We only stayed 2 nights but would have definitely stayed longer if we could.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malvernite2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hainburg an der Donau, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

we stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. It is a small family owned hotel with very good atmosphere and location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aneta_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We returned to the Don Alfredo for a second time as our first stay was so good. Yet again the staff were really friendly and helpful and the accommodation excellent...very comfortable and clean. A truly great location, with an excellent cafe attached to the hotel and an unbeatable room rate. Thanks again

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We stayed for one week in the Don Alfredo in November, with our six year old. The hotel is just on the edge of the old town, but not in the pedestrian zone. Everything was really close - restaurants, shops, beach, etc. We had a fantastic view of the castle walls from our room.
The hotel is very clean and the maid comes everyday. The room (202) had everything we needed, and the bathroom was spacious (although not all rooms have a bath). The personnel were helpful and friendly, although English was limited. We asked to move from one room to another, and the staff were more than happy to oblige. There is no restaurant/bar in the hotel itself, but the cafe downstairs is very handy, again with friendly staff.
We were overall very happy with our stay and would recommend the hotel. However, there were one or two points that stopped our stay being perfect. Firstly, the road outside could be very noisy in the middle of the night - it seemed that the street cleaners passed six or seven times a night some nights. Secondly, the doors in the hotel were noisy: the handles and locks were stiff, and made a lot of noisy, which also added to the noise especially at night. For these two reasons, bring earplugs. Lastly, the room was rather small for three - even though we paid extra to have a third bed, it was not really big enough. We found it difficult to find space to store everything, and there was little room to move.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusymumBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Small hotel with 19 rooms, clean, quiet, located in the Old Town, and looks across to the ancient fort walls. We took a taxi and this turned out to be a good idea as there was no way we could have walked all those labyrinthian streets and found it on our own.

Not a whole lot of English spoken at the hotel but we were able to communicate somehow.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyCLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Morada Mas Hermosa
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#21 of 70 in Marbella
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baviera
Hotel Baviera
#44 of 70 in Marbella
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Puerta de Aduares
0.2 mi away
Hostal Paco
Hostal Paco
#46 of 70 in Marbella
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lima Marbella
Hotel Lima Marbella
#24 of 70 in Marbella
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Alfredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Alfredo

Property: Hotel Don Alfredo
Address: Calle Portada 11, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Alfredo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Don Alfredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Alfredo Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing