We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally fresh fish, good value and friendly, fast service.”
Review of La Barca - CLOSED

La Barca
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Totally fresh fish, good value and friendly, fast service.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We started with boquerones (marinated anchovies in vinegar), clams with lots of garlic, and baby squid, followed by seafood paella and the freshest, fluffiest, whitest hake ever. It was really excellent. A lovely place to sit also and lots of Spanish eating there - which is always a good sign. Best meal in Benalmadena, easily.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reluctantourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eat and sit and watch the world go by”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This small but very friendly restaurant is a regular haunt for holiday makers from surrounding hotels, especially the Riviera.Juan is the owner, and Paco and Pepe are the two very hardworking waiters. They welcome you back year after year, and the restaurant is positioned just so,that to sit with a drink watching people pass whilst looking out to sea and watching boats going in and out of the harbour, is so relaxing. Any food ordered, is served without much of a wait and is competitively priced. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
251 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Always Good, Whether for Tapas or a Meal.....ALWAYS BUSY!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stroll along the passeo from the Benalmadena end towards the Marina and just before the steps at the end, where you have to walk to head on for the Marina, you will come to this restaurant on the left hand side. It's always busy with Spanish people and tourists alike. The Spanish are invariably having a fish lunch. The food is always fresh and the place is spotless. It's a great place to people watch too. I was fancying sole for lunch today and passed many restaurants. However, I decided to go to the Al Barca because I know it serves quality food. I thoroughly enjoyed my lunch as well as the atmosphere. Spanish people love their food and a meal is an occasion, to be enjoyed and not hurried. Give it a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our favourite Spanish place to go”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Me and my husband go here every day after the beach for a cold beer and sangria ( or two!) they make you feel very welcome and bring you tapas with your drinks, a great mixture that I wouldn't normally try like octopus, anchovies, potato aioli, and the service is always with a smile. We love the atmosphere, Paco, Juan and Domingo made us feel very welcome. Brilliant seafood restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Queenie197435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO EAT DRINK AND WATCH THE WORLD GO BY IN THE SUN”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We like to visit in January each year to enjoy the Tapas and other food in the sun and watch the world go by.the waiters are very friendly.there is usually a variety of entertainment provided by buskers on the promenade in front of the bar wh o usually collect tips afterwards.Altogether a nice place to sit and have your lunch with a good view of the seaside.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yealandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Barca also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing