We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do consider this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Just returned from a four day stay at this hotel, wow. We had read the reviews and thought that no place could be this respected, we were wrong, it is as others have described, perfect is the word.
Prior to our arrival we emailed a query, if it was possible to get a room with a pool view rather than a street view, it was replied to in the matter of minutes, this set the tone of our experience during our stay. The pool view is the one to get, tranquil.
On our arrival, early in the morning, well 11am the receptonist was very plesant and helpful and the room was available immediatedly.
On our first night we asked to see the menu and were guided into the dining area and shown the array of food available, we hadn't booked half board on line at €10.00 per head, we decided to eat there when we were quoted €12.00 each. The food and the choices available influenced our decision to eat there every night during our stay. There is something for everyone available regardless of your tastes.
Breakfasts are similar, good selection, do not worry about the food in this hotel.
The rooms are clean and respectable and are cleaned daily. One of the first things you will see at this place are the staff cleaning around the pool at 7.30am, silently.
The rooms have air con, but for those that like a cup of tea on their own, no kettle is supplied, but is available to rent.
Staff are friendly and efficient.
If this is a three star, I can't imagine what one of their sister hotels is like as it is a four star.
There is a happy hour there and plenty of small pubs nearby.
This hotel has no frills and they have got it right.

Room Tip: Book half board and get a pool view.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maryboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
There are newer reviews for Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

The hotel was near the beach, although there was little entertainment in the area, due the time of year (April). However, the hotel suited us for a quiet relaxing holiday, with excellent service and accommodation. The hotel was small, clean, quiet and comfortable (although we did find the beds to be rather firm). The staff were very friendly and helpful and catered for my coeliac diet very well. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldfox58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Came for a few days before heading up to Madrid to soak in some sun, and honestly it was not enough! This is a fantastic little hotel that is but a couple minute walk from the beach. Although it is not the closest hotel to the center of town, it is terrifically located and worth the 10 minute walk to town. If you do not have too much stuff, it is an easy downhill walk from the Torremolinos train station.

The service is spectacular, the rooms clean, the balconies a bit small but good for an evening watching the world go by. The internet is free and fast. Breakfast is included in the price and you can eat as much or as little as pleases you. There is a wide selection to choose from including an English fried breakfast and the regular choices of yogurts, meats, granolas etc. There is also an extensive pastry selection. The reception staff is top notch and very friendly.

There is a nightly happy hour with 2 for 1 drinks from 5 to 6 that should not be missed.

This hotel seems to be not as well known in Torremolinos as some of the bigger hotels, so it really is very much a hidden gem! I love to travel and visit new places, I don't like to visit the same places over and over again, but I'd choose go back to the Don Paquito over other plans as I had such as terrific time!

The rooms either face the street or the pool, if you want a "quieter" room you may want to ask for a pool-facing room as there are a couple of bars across the street. The street facing rooms are remarkably sound proof, but you can still hear the noise a little bit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inasianow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Had a great few days, maybe a little excessive in the local gay bars which seem to stay open well into the morning but had a ball. Make sure you visit El Gato's new spot on the seafront for a chilled out day drinking mojitos.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeyrust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

i stayed for a mini break with my wife and 8 year old grandson.
i choose it from tripadvisor review,rating it no 2 in torremolinos,we weren't disappointed.we this it was small (50 rooms) but i guess this made it more manageable and personable. the food was good for 3 star,no complaints as we werent expecting 5 star.all the staff pleasant
and the rooms cleaned perfectly every day,extra pillows instantly on request,new yellow sunloungers and parasols and pleasant pool area.pool smallish but good for size of hotel. very quiet for first week of easter school hols. close to beach and big hypermarket 400 mts away (just close enough to carry 2 x 5 ltr waters for the fit) although small supermarket next to hotel helpfull. if using taxi from airport ask price first as we paid 25 euros from airport/15 to airport!
w

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallamart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Travel
It is easy to get to Torremolinos from Malaga Airport. It cost 1 Euro 35 each way. We got a taxi from the railway station which was a rip off at 7 Euros. On the return journey we walked from the hotel - about 10 minutes up a big hill . The trains depart from the airport twice a hour .

Hotel
From the second you arrive at the hotel you realise that the staff are friendly and professional. The receptionist on in the morning was great and extremely helpful. I liked the food at the hotel - twice I had steak and the fish was well cooked. You could not fault the food when you take into account how much the hotel charges per night - Around £60 half board for a double room. My only criticism about the food was that it needed food labels on the main dishes.
The bar was reasonably priced, the outside area had a small swimming pool and the rooms were adequate size and cleaned extremely well each day. You were about two minutes away from the beach.
I would definitely go back here and glad I found it on Trip advisor and Thomas Cookes hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

This is my second visit here , and still one of the best choices as to value for money.
Other hotels have a bigger and wider selection of food available, but a small hotel has its own advantages.

Room Tip: swimming pool view is best.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
788 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito

Address: Avenida Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £69 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a fantastic area of Torremolinos, 100 meters from the beach and 500 meters from its famous promenade, La Carihuela, and near beaches as popular as Playamar. The Hotel Don Paquito is situated just 800 meters from the center of Torremolinos and 5 kilometers from Puerto Marina in Benalmádena, with a variety of restaurants, pubs and bars. This hotel in Costa del Sol offers a quiet and cozy atmosphere. It is within walking distance of major attractions and nightlife venues in Torremolinos. The hotel was completely renovated. Rooms are fully equipped and feature terrace, bathroom, hairdryer, minibar, safe, telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and free WIFI in rooms and common areas. The hotel has a restaurant with buffet, bar and outdoor swimming pool for you to enjoy the best holiday in Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Paquito Torremolinos
Don Paquito Hotel
Essence Hotel Boutique By Don Paquito Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing