We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhh!”
Review of Hotel Don Paquito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Don Paquito
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shhh!”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Shhh? If too many people get to know about this fab little hotel, booking a few days could become very expensive indeed.

We’ve stayed at the Don Paquito twice a year for the last four years. That should tell you all you need to know. We would not go back to a place that was not up to scratch.
We were there again for a week this May. As usual, we were given a warm welcome by Pablo and his team. Waiters, Dameon and Enriquez made us feel more like valued house-guests than paying customers, whilst Patricia at the ‘Desk’ was cheerfully helpful and efficient as always.

Food? You will not be disappointed. There’s always enough variety to ensure something to satisfy all tastes. This time round, as usual, I gained some weight - the soups were superb, the poached salmon especially tasty, and the sweet/fruit selection was just tickety-boo!

Only complaint concerns TV channels. The only English channels are Sky News & Euro Sports. OK, so you don’t holiday to watch TV, but there are times, e.g., in inclement weather (it happens, even in Spain) and a lack of English channels can be a pain.

A couple of tips: the bus to the town centre runs from the stop just to the left of the hotel’s front door and the timetable is displayed at the tourist info office at the bottom of the street – a set fare of 1.20 euro applies from any stop on the route.

Enjoy your holiday at the Don Paquito; just keep quiet about it....shhh!

Room Tip: pool-side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    236
    56
    13
    14
See reviews for
124
501
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Small 3* hotel, about 60 bedrooms. The friendliest staff we have ever had at a Spanish hotel. The food is good quality and nicely presented. Rooms on the small side with small balconies and the usual thin walls. Small fridge in the room and safe available for a charge. Rooms have air conditioning. Happy hour 5pm to 6pm, 2 pints of the excellent Cruzcampo for 3 Euro 20, whilst sat outside on the tree lined shady stree was very pleasant. Pool and pool area small but very pleasant surrounded by Hibiscus and other flowering plants.Pool is not suitable for young children as shallow end is 4 ft. Beach 2 minutes away.
Hotel caters for a mix of nationalities, mainly independent travellers as no UK package company uses this hotel. The hotel is more suited to couples than families.
We enjoyed our week at the Don Paquito and will be returning for sure. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms get sun all day and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevet380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had a lovely weeks holiday in May. Small & friendly hotel. Food was excellent & staff (especially reception) were very friendly. We were unfortunate enough to have an unwelcome visitor (cockroach in toilet) but after reporting to reception our room was cleaned & fumigated immediatley) Great relaxing walk to Benalmadena

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leniglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

It was ok, location was great, the rooms are small, walls thin and the food mediocre. Can't fault the service though, even had food laid when we landed late.

Not much more to say really. Pool is small but the bar is ok. Close to the beach and easy to get about, if you don't mind walking to the main town.

We thought a small hotel would be a change, but it's not for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cejedison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Just returned from a four day stay at this hotel, wow. We had read the reviews and thought that no place could be this respected, we were wrong, it is as others have described, perfect is the word.
Prior to our arrival we emailed a query, if it was possible to get a room with a pool view rather than a street view, it was replied to in the matter of minutes, this set the tone of our experience during our stay. The pool view is the one to get, tranquil.
On our arrival, early in the morning, well 11am the receptonist was very plesant and helpful and the room was available immediatedly.
On our first night we asked to see the menu and were guided into the dining area and shown the array of food available, we hadn't booked half board on line at €10.00 per head, we decided to eat there when we were quoted €12.00 each. The food and the choices available influenced our decision to eat there every night during our stay. There is something for everyone available regardless of your tastes.
Breakfasts are similar, good selection, do not worry about the food in this hotel.
The rooms are clean and respectable and are cleaned daily. One of the first things you will see at this place are the staff cleaning around the pool at 7.30am, silently.
The rooms have air con, but for those that like a cup of tea on their own, no kettle is supplied, but is available to rent.
Staff are friendly and efficient.
If this is a three star, I can't imagine what one of their sister hotels is like as it is a four star.
There is a happy hour there and plenty of small pubs nearby.
This hotel has no frills and they have got it right.

Room Tip: Book half board and get a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maryboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The hotel was near the beach, although there was little entertainment in the area, due the time of year (April). However, the hotel suited us for a quiet relaxing holiday, with excellent service and accommodation. The hotel was small, clean, quiet and comfortable (although we did find the beds to be rather firm). The staff were very friendly and helpful and catered for my coeliac diet very well. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfox58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Came for a few days before heading up to Madrid to soak in some sun, and honestly it was not enough! This is a fantastic little hotel that is but a couple minute walk from the beach. Although it is not the closest hotel to the center of town, it is terrifically located and worth the 10 minute walk to town. If you do not have too much stuff, it is an easy downhill walk from the Torremolinos train station.

The service is spectacular, the rooms clean, the balconies a bit small but good for an evening watching the world go by. The internet is free and fast. Breakfast is included in the price and you can eat as much or as little as pleases you. There is a wide selection to choose from including an English fried breakfast and the regular choices of yogurts, meats, granolas etc. There is also an extensive pastry selection. The reception staff is top notch and very friendly.

There is a nightly happy hour with 2 for 1 drinks from 5 to 6 that should not be missed.

This hotel seems to be not as well known in Torremolinos as some of the bigger hotels, so it really is very much a hidden gem! I love to travel and visit new places, I don't like to visit the same places over and over again, but I'd choose go back to the Don Paquito over other plans as I had such as terrific time!

The rooms either face the street or the pool, if you want a "quieter" room you may want to ask for a pool-facing room as there are a couple of bars across the street. The street facing rooms are remarkably sound proof, but you can still hear the noise a little bit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inasianow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,203 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Paquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paquito

Property: Hotel Don Paquito
Address: Avenida Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Paquito 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a fantastic area of Torremolinos, 100 meters from the beach and 500 meters from its famous promenade, La Carihuela, and near beaches as popular as Playamar. The Hotel Don Paquito is situated just 800 meters from the center of Torremolinos and 5 kilometers from Puerto Marina in Benalmádena, with a variety of restaurants, pubs and bars. This hotel in Costa del Sol offers a quiet and cozy atmosphere. It is within walking distance of major attractions and nightlife venues in Torremolinos. The hotel was completely renovated. Rooms are fully equipped and feature terrace, bathroom, hairdryer, minibar, safe, telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and free WIFI in rooms and common areas. The hotel has a restaurant with buffet, bar and outdoor swimming pool for you to enjoy the best holiday in Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Don Paquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Paquito Torremolinos
Don Paquito Hotel
Hotel Don Paquito Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing