We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday 6th to 13th November 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We have just returned from a 2nd visit to the Don Pablo. Our last holiday there was 2 years ago and we were not disappointed. Everything was excellent, staff, accommodation,facilities, restaurant etc. Everyone was so helpful.
Our room overlooked the Bowling Greens and the shooting and archery competitions so we had plenty of entertainment from our balcony. This suited me as I had been ill last year and couldn't take a lot of sunshine.
The restaurant was again superb with an excellent choice of dishes. I defy anyone to go for a meal and complain that they couldn't find anything to their taste.
We are now trying to decide when our next visit will be.
May H.

Room Tip: Didn't hear of any complaints regarding rooms but if you enjoy lawn bowls ask for a room on that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mayfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

We booked a bargin brake 1 week half board we had a good stay at the hotel, we had a nice room good food and good entertainment, i had a glass of Cava with my brakfast every day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My wife and I have visited this hotel before and have always found both the general standard and cleansiness of the hotel first class.The location is perfect for promenade strolls and is also very close to the lift up to the old town.The attitude of the staff and indeed their helpfullness cannot be faulted.Not my wifes,but my only gripe is the food at evening mealtime,owing to the fact that I do not eat salad I found myself making up a weird variety of main meals.I did not want to rely on chips and pizza every night so I found the choices a little unimaginative to say the least.As I said that was not really a massive dissapointment as I find this quite normal in Spain.The restaurant staff were very polite and efficient but after a couple of days the Pablo restaurant was the only one open for the site and it appeared to my wife and I that the staff became a little confused and overworked and the reataurant took on the appearance a motorway service station at the start of the peak summer holiday season in thre UK.We will definately be going back,usually at late October time but we will definately revert to Bed and Breakfast option.
The evening meal scenario is the only thing stopping me from labelling this hotel as VERY GOOD and not excellant.

Room Tip: choose a high room if possible as some of the lower floors are shower only and try and get a room lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Fantastic value, Great location, this hotel is very well run, lovely beach, close to lots of bars and restaurants, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrazyPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The setting could not be better.Easy access to the beach.The kids pool is great.The hotel is spotless.The staff are really good.The rooms are cleaned every day.The beds and bathroom also cleaned.The maids were great.The food in the main restaurant was really good breakfast lunch and dinner.A couple of minutes from the beach.There was alwas someone there to help you with anything.WE went late october early november and the weather was good.WE will be back..IT is only 15 minutes from MALAGA airport...

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparky2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The setting could not be better with easy beach access, well maintained gardens, multiple pool choices. Inside the hotel is spotless. Off season (October) the choice of restaurants is limited in the hotel with one of the restaurants closing. The food in the main restaurant is self-service and the choice in the evenings generally dull unless you are a desserts freak. Drinks and general table service is first rate. So is breakfast. We extended our room on the last day for late departure at a reasonable rate but were not told that the electronic keys stopped working at midday even though this had been booked well in advance. Reception updated the keys but asked that we settle our bill straight away. I pointed out that this would not be possible until we could get into our rooms. A five star stay spoilt by a little bit of thoughtlessness.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We'd been to this hotel a couple of years back and it is a frontline hotel catering mainly for the elderly, who hijacked the bowls greens and large part of the ground floor for their poker evenings.. Well situated for long walks along the promenage, all on the flat. The rooms are comfy, well serviced every day and clean. When a bargain break at £209pp Half board came up for some November sunshine we snapped it up. This time our experience was less favourable.

The breakfasts offer a wide variety of adequate fare, the main restaurant is rather frantic but a second smaller one is a more peaceful oasis. Our main problem this time was that my wife was violently ill within 30 mins of dinner, and took a day to recover. Having a medical background I approached the undermanager with my concerns that this was most likely food poisoning given the timescale. Instead of investigating and calling in public health to do an inspection I was fobbed off with the excuse that it could have been a virus, and in a hotel of 900 people, you would expect many more people to be ill - I don't know how many were stilll lying in bed too ill to inform the manager. Understandably my wife was very reluctant to eat again at the hotel restaurant where she had been so ill, for quite some time, so we ate out at extra cost.

The evening meals were very repetitious, a nice salad bar and soups, main courses very ordinary, and the desserts the usual cakes full of confectionary cream - pretty awful. Many of the veg and all the tinned fruit salads, pears, pineapple etc were also tinned. The staff seemed very off-hand and unobliging, such a contrast to the service we received in Kefalonia earlier in the year. No wonder their country is nearly bankrupt. The walls of the rooms were very thin, and we were disturbed by other people TVs, talking on the balcony several rooms away, smokers coughing all night and snoring - not, all in all, the peaceful, relaxing short break we we're hoping for. The best meals we had were at a nearby Italian, with fabulous pizzas, olives, lasagne and ravioli, with lovely beer.

We hired a car and visited Marbella and Estapona along the coast, and Mijas up in hills, a more upmarket place with leather shops and good restaurants. On a previous visit we went to the gardens at Alahambra Palace,almost on the snowline - wonderful views. Like most of coastal Spain it caters for working class Brits who would be quite a t home in Blackpool. The evening 'entertainment' was dire. In short, NEVER AGAIN!!

Room Tip: The 'odd numbers are on the side which gets afternoon sun - they tried to charge us xtra for thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RNR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

We are very sorry that to receive this comment on Trip Advisor but glad to have the opportunity to respond.
I would like to begin by commenting that in winter we have groups who come to the Don Pablo on organised Lawn Bowls and Bridge (not poker!) holidays. In the mornings these groups have exclusive use of the Bowling Greens and in the afternoon they are available for all guests. Apart from the main card room which is used by the groups, there are other card tables available for the use of all guests.
In winter the average age of visitors to the Costa del Sol is obviously much higher than in summer for a number of reasons: no school holidays, cooler weather etc... For this reason the majority of the guests in low season are retired. I would not like anyone to think that only the "elderly" are welcome.
Obviously the most important element of this comment regards the restaurant. Food hygiene is a critical element of our operation and for this reason we employ independent inspectors and laboratories to ensure that all the APPCC food-handling procedures to which we adhere are working correctly.
The reviewer did indeed speak to the assistant manager to suggest that his wife had been poisoned. It is also true that there were 900 guests in the hotel complex the previous night and no other guest complained of illness (either that night or on any of the subsequent nights). It is also true that there are many possible reasons that one could be sick but it is very unlikely that a single person would succumb to food poisoning when eating from the same buffet as so many others.
In spite of the latter point the guests were offered:
Access to a private doctor at the hotel's expense;
A special personalised menu following the doctor's instructions or the desires of the guests;
The option of changing from Half-Board to a Bed and Breakfast with the difference being refunded.
None of these offers were taken up. The guest told the assistant manager that the hotel would have to come up with a better solution or else they would write about the "food poisoning" on Trip Advisor. They were asked what they considered to be a "better solution" and were told that the guests wished to eat out at the restaurants of their choice every evening and have the hotel reimburse the receipts. Obviously this is not an acceptable option for the hotel. The guests still did not wish to take up any of the offers that they had previously been offered.
We do not like to see any guest leave the Sol Don Hotels dissatisfied and do all that can reasonably be expected of us to ensure that solutions are found to any issues that may occur. In this case, sadly, we see that it has not been possible.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,134 reviews
2 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
0 mi away
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Sol Don Marco by Melia
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
996 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo by Melia

Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £50 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Melia, getaroom.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Pablo by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pablo By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing