We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel as the reviews showed it would be perfect for my in-laws. They enjoyed the hotel very much. Excellent access, lovely decorated Spanish style public rooms and very good entertainment every night. As my husband had been unwell for the first couple of days I sat amongst the lounge, after dinner, and found I was easily one of the very few under 60. The food was a bit too varied for my older guests tastes, as rabbit, whole salmon, liver were a bit out their depth but I enjoyed it. Soup was average, Salads were fine, desserts lovely. Breakfast had a wonderful selection of continental & cooked styles. Torremelinos is a bustling resort during the day. Promenade is excellent to meander along. Train service to Fenguiorla and Malaga is very easy to negotiate. Malaga was a pleasant surprise to discover.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Lisa C23,
I am so glad that you and your in-laws enjoyed the Don Pablo and the surrounding areas so much. Torremolinos has a lot to offer and I am glad that you got on the trian and explored a bit further. Málaga is a wonderful city and very few tourists seem to realize.
It is true that in March the majority of our guests are of retirement age although the demographic changes throughout the year. Now in April there are alreadsy a lot of younger people around.
I appreciate the time taken to write your review of the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,268 - 1,274 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Visted here in October 2012. Stayed for 4 nights half board. Got a room on a high floor with a sunny balcony as requested. This over looked the bowling greens.
This is a large hotel within a small complex which houses three hotels together. We only ate in the Don Pablo during are stay. Here we found a good choice of food for both breakfast and evening meal. Brakfast included a glass of bubbly if you wanted which we enjoyed. At night you could purchase wine and drinks from the waiters. They will keep wine for you till the next day or you can take it with to your room. We found drinks a good price for a hotel.
The grounds were well maintained and there is a choice of pools. It was a bit cool for us to try these during our visit but some did brave it.
The rooms are a fair size and were clean.The balcony doors were wood and did rattle a little when windy at night. The walls are quite thin and we were unfortunate to be next door to someone who snored extremally loudly enough to keep us awake at night!! Think we were just unlucky.
There is lots to do around the hotel and a lovely promenade stretches for miles along the beach. I will be returning to both the resort and this hotel hopefully soon.

Room Tip: A room over looking bowling green for a sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blossomEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Blossomengland,
Thank you for your lovely report. I am so glad that you enjoyed Torremolinos and the Sol Don Pablo. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kins regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Despite the fact that the Sol Don Pablo is undergoing some exterior renovation, it was still an excellent and fun hotel: very friendly and helpful staff - at the reception, in the restaurant, at the bar, and housekeeping... very helpful, polite, and friendly people!.
To top it all off, the hotel has an excellent and FUN (with capital letters!) entertainment team.
Young, bubbly, friendly, sweet... and very creative!
-
The rooms at the Sol Don Pablo are very very good, great bathroom, nice balcony.
The Sol Don Pablo lobbies - yes, plural!! - are very tastefully decorated, offering busy lively areas but also cosy quieter seating areas which are excellent to withdraw and read.
-
The hotel restaurant offers a varied spread of foods, hot and cold, and a variety of fruits, cakes and ice creams. The lavish breakfast includes cava -not just for Easter, but every day!
-
A minute stroll through the beautiful garden takes you to the festive boulevard and on to the beach. A short stroll out the front door takes you to the narrow windy fun alleys - bit touristy but that's Torremolinos (which is just a bus ride away from many fun places in the area).

Room Tip: the room I was assigned overlooked the tennis courts - and partly the ocean. worked just fine for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you Asha A for your wonderful and complete review. I am so glad that you enjoy the hotel so much and have so much FUN. I have passed your review on the entertainment team. They work extremely hard and deserve the applause. Incidentally they have just launched a new Mama Mia show with a professional team of dancers which is EXCELLENT.
Please keep coming back and enjoying your holidays,
Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Second stay at this hotel. Lovely building and grounds. The indoor pool was a godsend during a chilly Feb holiday. We also used the Don Pedro restaurant when the Don Pablo's was being refurbished. It was also excellent. Looking forward to returning in the near future

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Sam A,
We look forward to having you back. Thanks very much.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Just returned from 5 night break. We have been there before but it was in June. Hotel seemed very full as the dining room at times was very busy but during the day hardly anyone around.Grounds are very spacious and very well kept
Food excellent something for everyone, hotel exceptionally clean, staff very friendly except the miserable older lady on reception she needs to learn how to smile.
We stayed over the Easter weekend and the mini disco was a lovely treat for my grandaughter who is 4 but after only two nights we went down to wait for disco to start and it wasnt on, there were about 10 children waiting very disappointed.
Entertainment was very average but the parrot show was great well worth staying in to see.
The complex has a miixture of nine pools, the resort tends to be quite windy so we chose the Don Pedro area as it is sheltered
This hotel is only a few mins walk from the steps/lift that takes you up to the shopping area of Torremolinos in a great position,very quiet if you want more lively choose nearer Benalmadena

Room Tip: sunny side in the winter overlooking bowling greens or over the pool in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesleyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear LesleyDurham,
Thank you for your very complete review. I am delighted that you have rated the hotel so highly and enjoyed your stay so much.
I am sorry that your grandaughter was dissapointed on the last night. It was a silly mistake on our part because the spanish Easter ends on Sunday and all the kids go home. The entertainment team didn't realise that the English kids have Easter Monday off too. We will try not to make that mistake again.
I am glad that you made use of the whole complex. The idea of the nine pools is so that there is an area to suit every guest.
I hope taht we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend with my partner, 18 month old and parents. The hotel is very large with lots of space to stroll around or just sit and relax. The indoor pool was lovely and warm and not busy at all - this was useful as it was too chilly to use the outdoor pools. The restaurant and food was excellent - we couldn't fault the service and quality of food available. Rooms are basic but spotlessly clean and cleaned every day. I would recommend this hotel for a holiday or long weekend. The only thing I would say is about 95% of the other residents at the hotel were over 60 and a few were miserable when our daughter was around and making even a slight noise but that is obviously not the hotels fault!

Room Tip: ask for the sunny side to get maximum sunshine on your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Louise_49,
Thank you for your review.
I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel so much. I am seeing quite a few reviews which make a mention of the age group in March. It is true that we always have a predominance of retired guests in the winter and early spring but I also think it is true that there are fewer younger people travelling this winter and so the disparity in age is more obvious. In any case, please don't let that put you off coming again. There is already a much more diverse group of guests than a month ago!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have lost count how many times we have stayed in Don Pablo.The same excellent staff have been there forever and it is like seeing old friends. Just two criticisms, not enough hanging space in the recently refurbished bedrooms,and the food is not great, even though there is ample choice and always something to eat. We go twice each year with the bridge and bowling group where we see mostly the same wonderful faces who also return year after year.

Room Tip: Worth that little extra to have a sunny side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zJackz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear zJackz,
Thank you for your review and thank you for your repeated custom.
It is true that the wardrobes are now a little small for long-staying guests in winter - particularly the bridge and bowls brigade who are always so elegantly turned out every evening.
I am sorry to hear that you are not delighted with the food. It is always a challenge to keep it exciting for long-stay guests but we had very good comments last winter and many congratulations on the new kitchen and show cooking. I hope that next winter you will find it more satisfactory.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,595 reviews
2 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,088 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos
0 mi away
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Sol Don Marco by Melia
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo by Melia

Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £56 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Melia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Don Pablo by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pablo By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing