We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The next time will be looking for better options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is considerably inferior to every 4-star accommodation I have ever stayed at. The room had beautiful views over the sea and the mountains but was smallish in size. The bathroom was grossly dated and had some piece of disconnected piping sticking out of the wall. There are vintage-looking soap and shampoo wall mounted dispensers which the hotel staff duly forgot to fill. Sometimes we had a stench of blocked sewage coming out of the bathroom and had to keep the balcony door open all the time. The hotel has probably not been refurbished properly for a long while. The buffet style breakfast was more or less adequate, though of more quantity than of quality. They often had entertainment programs running late that prevented us from falling asleep and getting up early for daily trips. The public parking nearby which the hotel seemed to own was overly expensive though not even being a secure underground one. We did not get any discounts there as hotel guests. On the brighter side, the communal areas looked quite well and the hotel’s location is convenient. Still the next time I will be looking for better options than Don Pablo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helga718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Helga718,
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that your stay with us seems ot have been so unsatisfactory. I hope that you have not been put of Sol hotels by your experience. We will certainly work to remedy the points where you feel that we fell down. The bathroom which you mention is one of very few which has yet to be renovated but will be completed this winter.
I would just like to note for the information of any one reading the review who has yet to visit the Sol Don Pablo that there are 60 secure parking spaces next to the front door hotel which are secure and exclusively for the use of our guests. There is also a public covered parking next to the hotel where guests do not get any discount.
Thanks again for taking the time to write.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 2,474 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Anyone looking for a good midclass hotel for holidays will be in good hands in the Sol Don Pablo,
especially if entertainment until midnight is welcome. Breakfast and Dinner should suit everyones
taste everyday. Considering the dimension of the restaurant more staff is recommended. Having
in mind the number of pools and the beach just in front of the hotel overcrowding is not expected,
even during high season. The house and the garden is neat and clean. Free WIFI is working well
at the bar area. Room, bathroom and terrace (824) is spaceous enough for a couple and properly cleaned, all equipment is working well. Room safe is old fashioned (key) and should be replaced by electronic models. One word, recommendable.

Room Tip: choose a room opposite the entertainment area if you want to have a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Not being regular visitors to Spain my friend and I were unsure what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised with everything about the holiday. Booking and travel arrangements by Barrhead Travel were first class, including the flight on their chartered BA plane and transfer to and from the resort by private taxi.
The hotel itself was very nice with spacious rooms. Our first night was not too good with our room being directly above the Patio Bar where the entertainment was held and being very tired after a very early start that day the noise was not conducive to a good night's sleep. In the morning we asked for a change of room which did not seem to be a problem for the helpful, friendly receptionist. We were immediately allocated a room on the opposite side of the hotel which was not only quieter but got more afternoon sunshine.
The hotel generally was clean and well appointed and the dining although large was well
organised with no long queues for food.
A stay at Don Pablo coupled with a week of hot, sunny weather at this time of year can be recommended!

Room Tip: For a quiet, sunny room choose a high room on the side opposite the Patio Bar i.e. not facing Malaga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

2nd visit to these hotels, last time was the sol Don Marco and this time to the Pablo we love these hotels .Food and service are outstanding the entire complex is spotless. The location is toward the banjandillo beach end of torremolinos all you need is within walking distance. We will return again and again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunandfunseeker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Arriving was easy from Malaga airport the transfer was not too long and the proximity to the airport was just right. Far enough to avoid the noise close enough to make it a quick trip. The main door of the Hotel is at the back and looks quite impressive carrying four stars the reception gives the impression that they have earned them. porter service to the rooms which for a four star place were a little disappointing on first sight. They resembled most travellodge or motel rooms basic beds and drawers wardrobe and ensuite shower only. there was a small balcony with the customary table and chairs and the same repeated in the room. The biggest drawback for me was the total lack of tea / coffee making facilities in the room. This was solved by Hiring a kettle and buying tea /coffee etc from the local market. I could have bought a kettle in the UK for what they charged to rent one though. The beds were comfy and all together the room was fine and fairly clean. I have stayed in better but it definitely wasn't the worst. Personally I would have expected more for four stars. There was an empty minibar which could be stocked at exorbitant cost and a trouser press. The air conditioning was fine when it worked.
There were ample lifts ad stairs for the more energetic and the restaurant was on the basement level. There were several restaurants and bars but only one of each was open during our stay last week in September. The dining hall/restaurant was large and clean and efficiently run. The food was very good with a huge selection available every morning and evening and I guess during lunch also but I only went to the dining hall once at lunch time. Overall my wife and I enjoyed our stay there was entertainment every evening and whilst it wasn't Broadway it was entertaining most nights. there were activities put on during the day for those with a mind to take part, air gun shooting, Archery, bowls Boules and dancing and aqua gym. The pools were not large by any standards but they were clean and made a far more inviting swim than the sea for me which was as good as a sandy beached seaside can be I guess but I prefer to see who and what is swimming with me:-) There were ample sunbeds around the pools which were available to all guests whereas the ones on the beach were £4.50 each. There was a small Bar /snack bar adjacent to the pool but the prices were steep comparatively. In General we enjoyed our stay and would happily stay again the sol Don Pablo, Don Pedro, Don Marco and Don Principie were all part of the same chain and guests of each could use the facilities of them all which expanded the activities and entertainment and pool choices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

4 girls wanting to get some sun on our backs for a few days this autumn , away from stressful jobs and domestic bliss.easy flight from Liverpool with Ryan air ,arrived on time,cheap flights, however dreadful attitude from cabin crew to passengers.and poor selection of drinks and we were the 3 rd row in, to be offered!!! Enough said about Ryan air- cheap and it gets you there but frankly that's it ! Hotel is dated in parts with not over friendly, moody ,abrupt reception staff but absolutely spotlessly clean, fresh towels and linen every day. Breakfast selection amazingly good ,but a massive room with hundreds of people like ants fetching and carrying food back and forth to their tables,
Pools very clean ,plenty of sun beds at this time of yr . nightly entertainment not really our thing however very good and great end to the night when we caught the last 1/2 hr after eating out in local restaurants,lovely warm weather ,beach literally over the road ,great spot over the road from hotel for sun beds on the beach well worth the 4.5 euros each bed each day. Beds very comfortable and an excellent nights sleep had by all .no noise from clubs etc good location

Room Tip: 623 afternoon sun room 616 morning sun .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwaenyclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear gwaenyclan and friends,
I am so glad that the Sol Don Pablo gave you all a chance to recharge the batteries before heading back into real life.
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the reception didn't seem too friendly; I will take your comment up with the department. I am happy that you liked everything else about the hotel though and hope that we might see some of you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

It has all been said by others - you just cannot get better than the Pablo! This complex has captured the meaning of HOLIDAY!! Excellent location - Clinically Clean - Fabulous food - Exceptional entertainment team! Cant see any reason not to go back. Thoroughly recommend this Complex of 3 hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Sol Don Marco by Melia
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
994 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo by Melia

Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £53 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Pablo by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pablo By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing