We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best xmas yet”
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
portland dorset
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best xmas yet”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Have spent last 9 christmas holidays in southern spain , the sol don pablo was the best so far , hope to return next xmas , we have not stayed in same hotel over xmas yet but we will be going back to this hotel,, We found Maximo our waiter on gala xmas meal excellent,, and Antonio also excellent,, and Maria our maid excelent,,,,,, thank you all

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank nigel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear nigel m,
It is great news that the staff ot the Sol Don Pablo could help to make this your best Spanish Christams yet. I sincerely hope that you do join us again next year and that your christmas is as merry as this one.
Happy New Year.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    926
    315
    84
    40
See reviews for
705
1,104
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here with my family for 7 nights over New Year. I E Mailed the hotel prior to our stay with a room request and we were accomodated, the rooms are in need of modernisation the Hotel was very busy with a wide range of nationalities mainly older guests.

The hotel and room was very clean and serviced well each day with fresh towells etc, plenty of public seating areas.

Food was average, we found the dining room very noisy particularly at breakfast. Drinks were quite expensive compared to bar/cafe prices outside the hotel.

Entertainment was ok, typical hotel style - we did enjoy The Four Tops Tribute Band they were very good indeed.

The Gala New Year Eve Meal was superb, lovely surroundings, good entertainment with excellent food and service - top marks for this.

Overall we enjoyed our time here, I would imagine that in high season it would be very busy and quite loud. Having stayed at both small and large hotels I do feel personally I prefer the smaller hotel, what they lack in entertainment/facilities etc they make up for as they have a friendlier, quieter and more personal touch.

Room Tip: During the winter months ask for a room on the sunny side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlJay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear SunSandSe, etc.,
Thank you for choosing to spend your Christmas with us and for taking the time to write your review. I am so happy that you enjoyed the gala dinner and had a good time at the Sol Don Pablo.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Just Returned from an Excellent Holiday for Christmas and New Year at the Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos. I would strongly recommend staying at this hotel if you are considering staying in the Torremolinos Area. The Hotel is Very clean, the Food is very good, there's always some good entertainment on a night. The rooms are very spacious and very clean you do have a choice of a walk in shower however, these are located on the lower floors of the hotel. ( which we had and was Brilliant, especially if you have difficulty getting out of a bath) There's a Huge pool and a heated pool indoors.

The Location of the Hotel is Brilliant! A few minutes walk from the beach, shops, cafés etc. There are also lots of restraunts for you to eat out in ( handy for if you're going Half Board and want to eat out on a lunch time. The Christmas and New Year Gala dinner's were very good too! So bare in mind if you are wanting to stay somewhere for Christmas and New Year! The Hotel is decorated throughout with decorations which is nice. The lifts are fast (which is a very good thing).

Overall My Family and I thoroughly enjoyed our 12 Night stay here and I'm sure it won't be long until we book back. Very impressed I would give this Hotel 10/10.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Harry M,
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Sol Don Pablo so much. I really appreciate you taking time to let people know. We have had so many wonderful comments about the Christmas and New Year's festivities this year and it is a real privilege to have participated in such a successful event.
I do hope that we see you again soon; either in winter or summer. Happy New Year.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Arrived 3 days before Christmas day. Very nice looking hotel, very spanish. The room was delightful. We had a modernized bathroom with a walk in shower which was great and plenty of hot water all day. The English television channels were BBC1 london and film four. Room cleaned every day and done well. We had a view of the pool area, the promenade and sea. The food was ok in the week but found saturday and sunday meals not too good. On the whole we had a very good holiday. I could imagine that in the summer months it would be very noisy as there are 2 sister hotels in the complex but for a family summer holiday it would be ideal. Not so if you looking for a bit of peace and quiet. Ideally situated with plenty to do and see all around.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor and on the sunny side if you don't want to overlook the pool area and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Gretta G,
Thank you for choosing the Don Pablo for your Christmas break and for taking the time to write a review.
I am very happy to see that you liked the hotel so much. It is true that in summer the whole atmosphere is much busier although we have the advantage of having more facilities that are available from spring to autumn. These include another buffet dining room, more bars, 9 swimming pools and very considerable gardens, much of which you would not have seen in winter. In summer it is very much a complex for family holidays.
Thanks again for you review.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skillingaryd, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Good hotel close to the beach, big rooms suitable for families. Clean hotel. Staff is very friendly. Plenty restaurants in the neighbourhood. Even walking distance to the old city center.
Good hotel close to the beach, big rooms suitable for families. Clean hotel. Staff is very friendly. Plenty restaurants in the neighbourhood. Even walking distance to the old city center.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin_Lever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Erwin_Lever,
Thank you for taking time to review the Sol Don Pablo. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate all your positive comments about the hotel and it's location. I hope that we will see you again in the future, possibly on a family holiday.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just returned from a long weekend break with my 14 year old Granddaughter. Couldn't fault the hotel at all. Room was spacious with lovely bathroom, everywhere very clean and lots of choice at meals. Chose a room on the 'sunny side' and wasn't disappointed - fantastic weather for November/December. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room on 'sunny side' was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prestonpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Prestonpal,
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I am so glad that the trip was a success.
Thank you for letting us know you views on Trip Advisor.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Second visit check in better than last time, the gentleman checking us in was friendly and we were in the room straight away. The rooms are spotless, clean and very well looked after the bathrooms are excellent (shower only) if a little dated, We had a non sunny room as we like the sea views down to Malaga and watching the planes come in to land very little noise as about 5 miles away, The food is very good but don't expect the full english the hotel caters for its market and with fresh fish and a good selection of international food every night it was a refreshing change to eat international dishes. Cleaners are exceptional and the bar staff were very helpful as were the waiters.
The reception staff how rude and unhelpful can staff be before the hotel takes any action. Paco i think checked us in very helpful, the others just notice you and ignore you,On 4 occasions we waited at reception whilst they finished their conversations with each other ignoring us and other guests. Unhelpful shrugs of shoulders and please remember that even though i may be from Britian i lived and worked in Spain for 5 years and do understand what you say to each other in Spanish.
Overall we had a good holiday and did yes the christmas shopping in Malaga excellent shopping, The weather was good and we relaxed.
This hotel is a good hotel but please for the second year running give the reception staff customer service lessons I dont care about what you have been up to last night and obviously conversations about other guests should not take place on the reception desk neither should personal calls when guests are waiting. Reception is a vital area of any hotel and this reception's staff should learn and deliver customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cdave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear cdave10,
Many thanks for your review of the Sol Don Pablo. I am really sorry to hear your comments about the reception, especially in light of the fact that you seem to have enjoyed all other aspects of the hotel and the area so much. We take your comments seriously and will use the information to try and improve this aspect.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to show you an improved service in teh future.
Happy New Year and Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro
Sol Don Pedro
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Melia, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing