We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“upgrading Don Pablo Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“upgrading Don Pablo Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Frequent visitors to Don Pablo and always enjoy our stay. Disappointed on this trip due to the renovations out side and. on 6th floor. We appreciate that the winter is the time to carry out this work but when booking our stay we were not informed and we booked directly with hotel.The other change is the english channels on the television .If you didnt want to go to the entertainment in the lounge you could watch bbc1 or itv 4 these are no longer available and the english channels have old Dallas series etc. We did mention these complaints to a lady ?assistant manager although we didnt discover the complaints desk until the night before we left we stayed 19th to 26 th march.

Room Tip: sunny side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mal96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear mal96,
I am so sorry that you were disturbed by the upgarding work in March. Unfortunately these works had to be carried out and we did everything possible to minimise the disturbance to our guests but I can fully understand that your coinciding with them was disappointing for you.
I am also sorry that there have not been any UK channels available for the past few weeks. This is due to the FreeSat emissions being moved to a new satellite that does not broadcast to Southern Spain. We are currently finding an alternative method of replacing these channels. There are new companies developing solutions at the moment and we hope to have the BBC and ITV channels back soon.
Thanks for writing in. I hope that we will see you again soon and ask that you contact me before a future visit.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    859
    291
    80
    33
See reviews for
656
1,033
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nice friendly restaurant and bar staff and the food is good but this is let down by the noise we are experiencing. We would not advise visiting this hotel if you are looking for a peaceful relaxing break. We were not told prior to booking or when checking in to the hotel that it is currently having interior and exterior building work done, 4 rooms surrounding ours are being refurbished so noisy saws, workmen and radios are playing. One of the pools is also being rebuilt so part of complex is a building site. We requested to move room but there were none without noise available, disappointing that we were not offered any kind of discount or compensation for the inconvenience and noise we are experiencing. Would suggest checking when building work is completed before booking at this hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Hodges7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Hodges7,
I am really sorry to hear that you are so disappointed with your stay at the Don Pablo. It is true that we have had to carry out some updates this spring which have included renovating 3 of our 9 pools and also fitting new fire doors on all the hallways. We have not had any work done in the rooms so I am confused as to why you could not have been placed on a floor where there would not have been disturbance from the door fitters. I sincerely apologise if the reception did not make all possibilities available to you and I would much appreciate it if you would be able to contact me directly so that I can attempt to make amends.
Thank you for letting us know about the issues that you have suffered. I am sorry that the positive elements of your stay were so spoiled by the noise.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just got back from a 15 day stay at the Hotel Sol Don Pablo in Torremolinos. Due to ill health we have not been for 2 years, in that time a lot of upgrading has taken place, mainly the bathrooms, the front of the hotel has had a facelift,and the 2 bowling greens have been relaid. The best part of the upgrade is the restaurant it has been made much easier to get your meals and there is a lot more choice. The place is spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpful. The room we had was 907 it had a large walk in shower with an overhead and a hand held head.They class this as the sunnyside of the hotel, and there is a supplement payable, good maid service whilst we where there. The outdoor pool was closed for refurbishment, but should reopen in the next week or so. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: pick a room on sunny side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank graham f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear graham f,
Thanks for your review. It is great to hear from returning guests and to have their appreciation of the upgrades that we make to the hotels every winter. I am very happy to hear that the last two years' improvements have made such a great difference to the experience. The new pool complex is going to be really beautiful as well so I hope that you will be back soon to enjoy it.
Thanks again for your review and for your repeated custom.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a fabulous hotel with great food and entertainment. However it was not as good as it could be in the double rooms. The wardrobe space was barely enough for one person and we had to cram our clothes in on the hangers! There has been a good refurbishment to the bathroom. The hotel must now consider extending the wardrobe space as well, as creased clothes are not what we want on holiday!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
4 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Chris P,
Many thanks for choosing the Sol Don Pablo and for taking the time to send in your positive review. I am glad that you were so impressed by the food and entertainment as well as the bathroom refurb. Your point is noted regarding the wardrobes. They were newly installed two years ago but it is true that they are not very large, particularly for winter long-stay guests.
Thanks for your suggestion and thanks again for your review.
I hope that we see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 1st to 4th March
The hotel is a little tired as was the rooms I stayed in room 838 the front door was so loose on the latch when the wind was blowing outside it would rattle as would the glass partition on the balcony
We had 2 nights of gales.
1st morning we went to breakfast we cued for twenty minutes and what a bun fight when we eventually got in.
The orange juice was watery, the coffee was awful and the natural yogurt was also watery!!!! How do you manage that
And on top of that the staff weren't exactly the friendliest to say the least even the cleaner on our floor couldn't even be bothered to say ola in the mornings and yes I did speak. Any way we didn't let it spoil our time in torre and for the second time it was great even if the weather could have been better
Me manager if you want to know what a proper 4 star hotel is then visit the rui nautilus thats 4 star.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike11959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Mike11959,
I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay at the Sol Don Pablo. I appreciate your taking the time to let us know your feelings. All comments are useful to us and will be treated as opportunities for improvement.
I am sorry that you had to experience the extreme winds that we suffered earlier this month. It certainly doesn't help to improve a holiday experience.
I hope that you enjoy your future holidays in Torremolinos.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short Monday to Friday stay at this excellent hotel. The room was of a very good standard as was the food. I have walking problems but found that the main promenade with all of the shops etc were very close by and as such meant I did not have to walk very far to access them. We had paid for a sun facing room and this was a good decision as we had the sun all afternoon unlike the rooms on the other side. The only downside was the building work which we did not know about prior to arrival and on one particular afternoon they were fitting some fire doors and the constant banging noise was not good. It sounded like a tennis ball being constantly hit against a wall and when I called the reception to find out where the noise was coming from,thier reply was " Sorry it is building work and it wiil be the same again tomorrow. Apart from this annoyance the hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: If you require the sun on your balcony,pay the extra for a sun facing room. It's worth every pen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TyroneM378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Tyrone M,
Thank you for writing your review of your short stay and the Don Pablo. I am so glad that you liked the hotel so much and appreciate you letting everyone know.
I am sorry that you were a bit inconvenienced by the updates that we have been carrying out this winter. Unfortunately periodic changes in health and safety legislation require us to make changes - this year adding new fire doors and decreasing the depth of the swimming pool. We have at least taken advantage of the latter to make the Don Pablo pools much more attractive. I am particularly sorry that you did not receive information about this prior to booking; all the Tour Operators were made aware of these works.
I hope that we see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Whilst the area around the outdoor pools was a building site it did not in any way detract from our enjoyment of the Don Pablo, we were once again made most welcome by all the staff and the evening entertainment gets better. We will be back again very soon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Harry J,
Thanks for coming back to see us again and please come back soon. I apologise for the building works and am glad that they did not inconvenience you too much. The finished article will be wonderful, especially for those guests who come a little later in the year and can enjoy outdoor bathing.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#12 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing