We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Beautiful place fantastic Service”
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Beautiful place fantastic Service”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My friend and I really enjoyed staying at this wonderful beautiful hotel in stunning palm ridden location. The location is great as the beach is just opposite; you just have to cross over a road that isn't busy. There are great restaurants bars called Chiringuitos lining the roads both ends, no blaring music! The food in the hotel's restaurant was out of this world, unfortunately so good I returned half a stone overweight after only 3 nights! I just could not resist going back over and over, it should have a few Michelin stars. High quality tasty food and equally excellent service. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The rooms sparkling clean, the swimming pools are just next to a bar where you can go and sit and have a nice cocktail to cool down. Plenty of palm and banana trees everywhere.
There were complimentary toiletries in the room right down to a miniature sewing kit, complimentary bottled water and fruit! My friend who travelled with me is a Travel Rep who has stayed in 100s of hotels she agrees with me completely about everything I have said here and she too did not fit into her jeans on our way home! I will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaphneBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear DaphneBas,
I really appreciate you taking time to write us such a lovely review. I am delighted that you liked the area so much and had a chance to sample the wonderful local fish in the chiringuitos. I can only apologise about the half stone. I hope that it dissappears soon enough for you to come back and see us again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    928
    315
    84
    41
See reviews for
707
1,109
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is by far the best Hotel in Torremolinos it ticks all the boxes cannot be faulted , The refurbished pool area has been well done very smart now ,we have stayed here many times and will stay again .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guy b,
Thanks you very much. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

before i start my review if the option was available i would be choosing a 2.5/5 so we checked in for 5days, staying half board and after emailing PR manager louisa confirming bookings and requesting rooms beside each other and an upgrade as we were there for a special occasion, we were giving rooms beside each other and in 1 of the rooms was a bottle of cava and glasses for our whole party as louisa couldn't do an upgrade so definitely want to give her a special mention and a thumbs up! Staff are also friendly.Rooms were spacious and clean tho extremely uncomfortable beds prob worst ive had and bedding was changed after 3days! Not many facilities given in bathroom no shower cap,shampoo or soap for basin (although there was shower gel attached to wall inside shower). The room cards are very temperamental after about 20th attempt it may work for you but be prepared for an aggravating wait! pool area very clean. The food was most definitely not 4* def a 3* and have prob had better food in a 3* breakfast was half decent the do make over cooked omelettes to order. Dinner was dreadful i cant believe they would serve that food in a 4* everything overcooked and chewing not a good selection at all unless you like bony fish, the paella was only thing half decent you could eat and one night they did do a full salmon which was nice. location is fab right on beach and about 15minute walk into town. Visited el gato lounge after reading reviews on tripadvisor and would def recommend if you are ok to wait on slow service!Visited the doctor in hotel and after taking my heath card and giving a consultation and prescribed medication he pushed a bill of 80euro to me and told to pay him or leave at reception. This is very misleading and being a private doctor which he is not advertised as, you have a slim chance of claiming it back on travel insurance which he will tell you, you can and legally he has to tell you upfront he is private and how much the consultation will be! i do fell hotel are at fault to as when asking reception about doctor bill they say we have absolutely nothing to do with him so be very aware of this! I would def not be recommending this hotel and will not be returning!

Room Tip: odd numbers sun in afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear sophie r,
Thanks for choosing the Sol Don Pablo and for making time to write up your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that despite the positive comments you make about your special treatment upon arrival, the friendliness of the staff and the favourable location of the hotel, you were not happy in general with your stay.
I am sorry if the restaurant was not to your liking. By and large we have positive feedback regarding the meals but we will certainly continue to try and improve. Your comment regarding the quality of the fish has been noted.
I apologise also about any confusion regarding the doctor. In Spain I don't believe that National Health doctors offer services in hotels. This service could well be available in other countries but that possibility had not occurred to us. We will be aware of this in future.
Thank you again for your time.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is our second year to stay at the Sol Don Pablo - we were there about four weeks ago for nine days. We really enjoyed ourselves, the service and food was good. Next time we will stay at the Sol Don Pedro which is part of the same group {Melia) and is located next door and next to the Sol Don Marco. Torremolinos has improved over the past few years with very nice beaches and the area is well looked after by the local council. There is always something to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 1st.Floor with sunny aspect. Most rooms have a side sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James2012201222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear James2012201222,
We very much appreciate you repeated custom and thank you for taking time to let everyone know your opinion both of the Sol Don Hotels complex and of Torremolinos in general.
Although times have been hard for the past few years both ourselves and the local council have continued to invest to ensure that we have a premier destination. I am delighted to see that all our efforts have borne fruit. I believe that Torremolinos has become a really nice destination for couples and families. There is lots to do but it is never rowdy.
Thanks again for your review. Come again soon!
Kind regards,
Jaiem Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just back from a quick break for our 20th anniversary at this hotel, which we thought was excellent. Location is very central, beside the beach. The pool area is well laid out with plenty of sun loungers. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choices to suit everyone. We were very impressed with the complimentary champage to help us celebrate, we will definetly be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HataDearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear HataDearg,
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your big anniversary. I am so glad that it was a success and I really look forward to welcoming you back. Don't feel that you need an excuse though!
Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just returned from a week in the Don Pablo, and I am sorry to say that although the hotel is beautiful, surroundings and pools are excellent, the food lets it down. I cannot believe that a 4 star hotel would serve such awful food. It was pork almost every night, and even that was dreadful. The same soups and desserts every night too. It was like school dinners!! Also the food was cold, although I was told that there is a microwave in the dining room. I think that not enough people complain and these hotels are getting away with it. We spoke to several other guests who felt the same way, as well as the company we met while there. It is a lovely hotel but could do with some tidying up in the rooms. Our room had cracked tiles on the bathroom floor, and the sealing around the bath was cracked. I regret to say that we will not be returning to the Don Pablo.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have either a side or front sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Isobel M,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Torremolinos. I appreciate your positive comments regarding the hotel and its grounds. All your comments are gratefully received and we will use them as a guide in our task of continuous improvement.
I am sorry that you were not impressed with the menu. It is true that we often have pork on the menu but there are always two fish and two meat done on the grill, as well as a different meat on the carvery. This is in addition to the prepared stews, rice dishes and italian options. We will certainly look to see how we can make this more appealing. Regarding the hot food, I hope that we have solved this temporary problem with a repair to the elements of the prepared food area.
I thank you again for your review.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This was our second year at the don Pablo and as usual the hotel was great. The service was good and friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable, the pools and decks perfectly set for sun and relaxation. We booked two weeks, prepared to love every minute of it. Then came the power stone saws. Have you ever heard one if those babies? They rip your ears off! Nearly every surface around the hotel is a hard surface so sound bounces and amplifies. For damn near the whole two weeks! Life in a noisy construction site. Outrageous noise...migraine noise. An apology posted in the bloody elevator was not sufficient! This is how you destroy future bookings at your hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Barry C,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at the Sol Don Pablo.
I am very sorry to see your comments about the stone saws although a little confused as I see from your review that you were with us in May and I am not aware that we had any significant repairs or upkeep during that time. In the winter months we renovated the swimming pools but that was finished before Easter. Subsequent to that there were a few details to be finished but they were relatively minor and not close to the hotel buildings.
As I say, I am really sorry for any upset that we could have caused and ask that you contact me directly so that I can try and sort the problem out.
Sincerely,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro
Sol Don Pedro
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing