We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just back after our second visit to Sol Don Pablo, one of the best hotels we have stayed in. They know what customer service is and how to make your holiday perfect.All of the staff were so friendly and polite from the cleaning ladies who do a superb job to the restaurant staff who cater for huge numbers but make everything run smoothly without any fuss or waiting, to the reception staff who were always most helpful.A special thank you to Luisa Greig in the office who made us feel very special and ensured that our every wish was catered for.
Nightly entertainment at the hotel was of a very high standard with some excellent shows and the hotel entertainment staff did a great job.
We can strongly recommend this hotel and hope to return there again and again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
5 Thank Seamus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Seamus T,
It is we who thank you for returning to the Sol Don Pablo and hopefully doing so again in the future. Your kind comments have been passed on to Luisa.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    859
    291
    80
    33
See reviews for
656
1,033
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked a large direct sea view room with large balcony and full bathroom this did not happen,given a small room on third floor which had a smell of smoke also no bath and tiny balcony.Refused this room and given a room on the 7th floor,it was a little better until night time.we were above entertainment and the music went on to midnight and very very loud music.I will never use this company again until they get bookings sorted out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank GEORGE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear GEORGE W,
We apologise again for your disappointment regarding your reservation at the Sol Don Pablo. We take full responsibility for the error produced in the booking system and have taken measures to ensure that this does not happen again.
The room that you were offered in lieu was a direct sea view room with rain shower (as most of the rooms in the hotel are equipped), the same size as all the rooms in the hotel (24m2) apart from the family rooms. However it has a smaller balcony that the frontal sea view rooms. It was not the room that you reserved, however, for which reason we offered and you accepted the 10% discount on the room rate.
We accept that this should not have happened and appreciate the fact that this being an isolated incident will not be any consolation to you. I am sorry.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed 10 nights from June 2nd. Check in was quite a lengthy process as there were three couples in the queue before us and only one of the reception staff was dealing with new arrivals. However, when our turn finally came he managed to book us in within five minutes.
We had room 331 on the third floor which we found to be quite comfortable and fairly roomy. We had enough wardrobe space and drawers to suit our needs although one guest complained to us that her wardrobe was too small. The bathroom had been modernised and contained an excellent walk-in shower (see photos) which is fast becoming the norm in better hotels. Our room was kept very clean by our regular cleaner and at least once in our stay the bathroom was deep cleaned by a lady in a light blue uniform ( I called her El Bleachio) who left enough chlorine gas in the bathroom to rival a WW1 battlefield. We had to ventilate the room to get rid of it.
Air con was effective, once correctly set, which was good because we had marvellous weather with temperatures as high as 31degrees. There are no tea/ coffee facilities provided in the room but since we always take our own this was not a problem.
Mattresses on our beds were firm and the bolster pillow, very firm. However, the second pillow was very soft so it was possible to be fairly comfortable. The main problem was the hotel generator was sited just below and to the right of our room so the was a constant 24 hour noise which we could not shut off because the room does not have double glazing. Through the day the ambient noise tended to mask the generator noise but a night it was much more in evidence and could interfere with your sleep.
The dining room was large and airy and the food provided was of good quality. My particular favourite was the Italian section where everything was labled "Italian Food" and you had to guess what it was. I enjoyed all of it whereas as Sun (The wife) stuck mostly to the British food types. The food was always hot with hot plates ( other hotels please note! ). There was not a lot of variety, the main changes to the menu being a different roast each day. Salads were reasonable but desserts had only a small section with mostly fresh ( very good ) fruit and a small selection of cakes. The staff were very pleasant, in particular, Esther, who looked after us well.
Water, beer and wine were available for evening dinner. Water (500 cl) cost 2 euros, a small beer, 2.65 euros and wine started at hmmm and went up to ye gods! as is normal in hotels.
Bar prices were 4.40 euros for a pint of beer and 3 euros for a small vino tinto.
One tip about breakfast. If you like coffee with milk DO NOT press the café con leche button on the machine. Instead, use a jug for the coffee and another for the leche caliente and you will get a far better cup of coffee.
There are lots of sunbeds around the complex, more even than the most determined towel bookers can handle. Some of them are under a very good gazebo type construction but here are lots more the Kami-Kaze pilots to get their dark mahogany sun burns.
The pool area and grounds are kept very clean, Hose Man washes everything and I mean everything including sunbeds and towels and the pool toilets were superb, the best we've seen.
The gardens were well maintained and looked good.
We were surprised to see the two bowling greens outside our window but they were probably the most used facility provided by the hotel.
Basically, this is a very good hotel that we would be happy to use again .

Room Tip: Rooms on the bowling green side and nearer to the sea end are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunNfun60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear SunNfun60,
Thank you for choosing the Sol Don Pablo for your holidays. Thanks also for your very-complete review on TA. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope that you do visit us again.
Kind regards,
Jaime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshiore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Ive just returned from my third visit to this complex, my second stay at the Don Pablo. The hotel is situated opposite the beach in the middle of the resort with lots of shops and restaurants around it. Also a nice walk up into the town. The majority of the rooms have a lovely view of the sea. The hotel is also easily accessible from the airport. I used the train from the airport 1.75 euros each way. Torremolinos station is 3 or 4 stops away, then walked to the escalator which takes you down to the promenade and then its about a 3 minute walk to the hotel. There are three hotels in the complex and this gives you a large choice of pools and sunbathing areas.No problem getting a sun bed at any time, though the brollies are more of an issue. All areas of the hotel are extremely clean and well presented. The rooms are a good size and and since my last visit, the bathroom had been refurbised and now had a lovely rain shower. If you want a view of the pool, ask for an even numbered room, if you want the sun on your balcony for the afternoon and evening, ask for a odd numbered room which overlooks the bowling green. You have all the amenities you need including a fridge and flat screen tv. There are limited uk channels, which I believe is something the hotel is looking to address. No tea making facilities, so bring your own if this is important to you. Rooms have interconnecting doors, so the quality of your sleep does depend on how noisy the guests in the neighbouring rooms are. I stayed half board and the food choice and quality for both breakfast and dinner is excellent. Food was always hot, well presented and constantly topped up. I didnt stay in the hotel for the evening entertainment so cant comment on that. Daytime activities seemed well attended and well organised. I also stayed at the Don Marco with my disabled father, so if anyone wants more information about the disabled facilities please ask me. Guests at this time tended to be more mature or business travellers. This time I booked direct with the Melia hotel website and my room requests were honoured. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will no doubt return again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Snozzo,
Thanks for your repeated visits to the Sol Don Hotel complex. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us again and appreciete the very informative review that you have posted. I think that it will be very useful for other Trip Advisor users.
I have taken note of your comment regarding the sun umbrellas and we will solve this issue. In fact we have ordered some new fixed shade for the lower pools in the Don Pablo area as part of the renovation of the pools and expect it to be installed in the next two weeks but in the iterim we will provide more umbrellas.
We are working on getting more UK TV channels back since the satellite which supplied southern Spain was decommisioned. We hope this will be soon.
Thanks again for your review.
We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just come back following a week's stay at this hotel. My husband and I are in our early forties and I can tell you we felt very young! The guests are mainly of retirement age. I would not recommend this as somewhere families should go. As with the other reviews we agree the hotel is absolutely spotlessly clean. The food is average. If you like fish you will be fine as there are more choices than anything else. I think the puddings are the same everyday. As the hotel seems to cater for the more mature they don't seem to be worry about the younger generation. If you can get WIFI you are doing better than us.( they offered us WIFI for 30euros in our room for a week ) One last thing if you do go here stay on one of the lower floors as the lifts are slower than slow. We were on the top floor. You spend half your holiday waiting for one. If you are a mature couple and want peace and quiet and a very relaxing holiday then you will love it.....if you loved to holiday in the late 70's and early 80's this is the place for you !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cals118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Cals118,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Sol Don Pablo. We appreciate your review and will look at ways of incorporating your experiences into our continual programme of improvements.
The Sol Don Hotels complex caters for different types of guests throughout the year and month-by-month the profiles of nationality, age and type of holiday are changing. Now that we are coming into summer the average age becomes younger and there is more emphasis on our Mini Club and sporting activities for younger guests.
A quick clarification regarding the WiFi offered in the hotel. In the lobby bar there is a free service - there are usually five or six people connected during the day. Guests also have the option of upgrading to a fast service which is available in all areas of the hotel including the rooms. This costs 30€ per week.
Your comments regarding the lifts has been noted. We have a project for renewing them next winter.
Thanks again for your review.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We returned from Sol don Pablo after a long stay and we had lovely unforgettable time. It is because our stay has always been so nice we love Spain and the spanish people, spanish culture, and ALL. The staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful should you need help. The hotel is super big with lots of action and this is what we loved. It is a big resort with 3 hotels, Don Pablo, Don Marco and Don Pedro and you can go from one to the other internally and you will never get bored. There is a lot of activities going on all the time and one can never get enough. There is free Wi-Fi in all the lobbies and the evening shows (4 per week) are all excellent so is the lively music 3 days a week with lots of dancing and different groups of singers. We went with 2 meals per day and the food is excellent with many choices. I am not a big meat eater so I ate fish most of the time and it is so fresh and tasty, no one can complain. My husband ate meat, rabbit, quails, fish etc.. and he was happy. It is the not the first time for us in the Sol Hoteles in Torremolinos but the first time in Don Pablo and it won't be the last time. We loved this hotel and next time we will stay longer God willing.
The only thing that bothered me is when we checked out, there was a small bill in our account from the bar and we had never consumed anything from the bar and charged it to our room. We asked the member of staff at the checkout counter to show us the bill we signed to the waiter or the barman for that charge but he said he did not have it!! Daily, at supper we ordered drinks like beer or bottle of wine or soft drinks and we paid daily to the waiter and tipped him/her daily. For us it is better to pay daily for drinks so you do not find a big bill waiting for you when you check out especially when you stay longer than 3 weeks. We told the employee that we had never charged anything to our room but he said: there is a charge to be paid!! it was a small charge and frankly we could have paid it but it is a matter of principle: if we did not drink it, we cannot pay for it. Anyway the staff employee at the end said it was okay and we did not have to pay it and we left but still we felt very uneasy in this situation as if we were guilty. I believe when someone is checking out, and there a charge to be paid, there should be a copy of the signed bill with our signature with a room number so we can pay it. Sol Don Pablo is a big hotel and mistakes can happen and the best solution is to keep good records of expenses for each room at checkout time. Other than that, the location of the hotel is excellent and everyone there is doing their best to make your stay a happy one. The renovations they did while we were there were a bit noisy but it is not the fault of the hotel and they cannot close to do renovations so we understood. Those renovations are very good and the hotel is upgraded regularly. Now the hotel needs to update their website with the new updated pictures of the renovated pools and surroundings etc..also they should remove from their website that the hotel offers shuttle service (under services and facilities) since this does not exist anymore. We cannot wait to return to the Don Pablo for our next trip.

Room Tip: ocean side view rooms are very nice. Third and fourth floors are smoking and non smoking rooms so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear topaze,
Thank you for returning to the Sol Don Pablo again and thanks too for taking time to write your very informative review.
I am so sorry that your lovely holiday should have been marred by your treatment in Reception. Our policy is to file all signed bar and restaurant bills so that guests can check their extras when paying and you are absolutely right that you should never have been asked to pay this bill. We are taking measures to ensure that this does not happen again and I apologise.
Do please come and visit us again to enjoy all the things that you do enjoy in the Sol Don Hotels complex.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were given a lovely corner room with a wonderful view and a welcoming gift of wine, fresh fruit and water. The food was mostly excellent, just one complaint from the hubby, " No English sausages for breakfast" I was quiet happy with that, less weight to put on !!The pool areas were great but unfortunately some ignorant adults could not read the VERY CLEARLY MARKED SIGNS that said no-one under 16 in the Jacuzzi , no fault of the hotel. My only disappointment was some of the entertainment, we prefer to stay in the hotel and be entertained but miming is not really a talent and the Flamenco was a big disappointment. That said we met some lovely people who came year after year and I think we will be back again probably in September. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms get the sun in the morning, lovely sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluecellio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear bluecelli ,
Thanks for coming to stay with us again. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the hotel so much and I take note of your comments. It is surprisingly difficuly to get a classic English sausage here so we offer other options. I hope that your husband made the most of the bacon, eggs, fried bread and cooked tomatoes at least!
I am sorry that you did not like the flamenco. We have two troupes this year on alternate weeks. One has been with us for some time and performs a classic 'tablao' whilst the other performs a modern fusion flamenco. I am not sure which one you saw. For the information of anyone who does not know our hotels, there are always two separate types of entertainment going on each evening. If you don't seel like the main show in the Patio Bar we have live music in the Andalucia salon which is a little more relaxed.
Thanks again for your review. I hope that we see you again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#13 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Melia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing