We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay!”
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just back from a fortnight in the Sol Don Pablo. This was our 4th visit in 5 years and this year was the best yet. We went in late June through to early July as opposed to October in previous years. The main differences were the temperature (above 30oC every day) and the clientele, it was a real varied age group from kids to elderly folk. October was always predominantly elderly guests.

There was plenty to do for all age ranges in and around the hotel grounds, plenty activities for all if you wished to take part. Plenty of sun loungers to go around, even allowing for the fact that some guests would be up at the crack of dawn to lay towels down but then not appear until the afternoon - some people are just downright inconsiderate in my book!

The weather was fantastic too, very hot for this time of the year - even the locals remarked on that. The entertainment was very interesting, some decent acts on, and the entertainment team at the hotel deserve a lot of credit for the endeavours. At meal times, there was always a varied selection of food and unless you were a real fusspot, then you would not go hungry. There is free wi-fi in the lobby / reception / bar area if required.

The staff are excellent, all very friendly and obliging and our check in and check out process was a breeze. Maid service daily with fresh towels etc if required, again very good.

The hotel is perfectly situated just yards from the beach and is not far from the centre of Torremolinos via the lift or winding stairway. It's really nice to stroll this of an afternoon.

You can walk from Torremolinos through to Benalmadena and even to Funegirola along the beachfront, with plenty bars and restaurants if you wish to take a break enroute.

On this trip we went to the Butterfly World (on the road to Mijas) and this was wonderful. We also went to Sealife in Benalmadena, and again this was excellent. We've got some great photos and video of sharks, giant turtles, and other marine life - both well worth a visit.

We will be back again, it suits us right down to the ground.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool allow you to see the entertainment from the balcony if necessary. Rooms over the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gafferov1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Gafferov1,
I am delighted that you have enjoyed yet another stay with us so much. We appreciate your review and all the information both about the hotel, the locstion and local points of interest. I am sure that it will be useful for future guests in helping them to make their decisions.
We look forward to another stay in the future and more helpful tourist advice!
Thanks again.
Best regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,386)
There are newer reviews for Sol Don Pablo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Myself and three friends booked a short break at the hotel. It was everything we needed. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff, our rooms were on the fourth floor and we had paid for a sea view after ready the reviews on here and it was worth it.
we were half board and the food was brilliant. Drinks are not expensive and one evening we ate at the restaurant across the road.
We didn't have to fight for sun beds and everything was well looked after. We also used the spa and were pleased with the service there as well.
We watched the entertainment each night and it was very professional and entertaining.
There is one down side to our stay and that was the speed of the lifts! They are so slow.
I would recommend this hotel and we will look at going back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Kelly H,
Many thanks for you great review. I am very happy to hear that you all had such a good time with us and that you rate the hotel so highly.
I take on board your comment regarding the lifts. At peak times (breakfast especially) there can be frustrating delays. We have a project to replace all the lifts this winter which obviously wont effect anyone reading this with a view to booking holidays this summer. We understand that the lift service will be at least twice as efficient once the work has been done.
Please come back and check the new lifts out next year (as well as all the other attractions!).
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our second stay in this hotel and it was even better then the first one. Friendly staff, excellent food, great location. The rooms are spotless clean and comfortable. Thanks to all at Sol Don Pablo for making our vacation unforgettable!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olenagenevoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear olenagenevoise,
Many thanks for your positive comments. It is very satisfying to hear from repeat guests that we are managing to improve conticually. It goes to show that all the comments both on Trip Advisor and directly to the hotel are helping us to get better and better.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband of 8 months, my mother and I have just returned from a lovely week at the Sol Don Pablo. We had a wonderful time. They accommodated all my requests which I had made in advance - to have my mother close by as she is 79 now, to have a room on a high floor with a sunny balcony and sea views. The location is so handy to Malaga airport - we just got a taxi straight from the airport. The food was superb - we were half board and every meal was delicious. The hotel is spotlessly clean in all areas. I can definitely recommend this hotel - we wouldn't have a single complaint. I had never been to Torremolinis either and it's a really nice resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrhug47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have returned to this hotel for the nineth year and will be booking it for next year. The closeness to the beach is excellent. Hotel facilities and cleanliness first class. Reception very helpful whatever you request is supplied immediately. Entertainment provided was varied and good.Good excercise facilities e.g. aquaerobics and excercise classes Flat Green Bowling. For families there is a children's club

Room Tip: request a room facing the sea if you want a view rather than quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Titch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Arrived at the Sol Don Pablo after a 15 min taxi ride from the airport. It was a very last-minute booking so I wasn't sure what to expect. What a hotel!!! You are blown away by the sheer size of the hotel at reception. Check-in was a breeze and staff very welcoming. Room was on the 8th floor but there is ample lifts to accomodate guests although quite small (6 people max/4 if there's cases). The room was beautifully decorated and spotless clean. Fantastic water pressure in the shower too. I found the food at breakfast quite good with plenty of choice but can be a bit hectic as it's vastly spread out. The grounds and pool/spa areas of the hotel are a huge bonus and kept immaculate. People do arrive very early though to claim sun-loungers with towels and don't return until much later in the day. The location is fantastic....right across from the beach and in easy reach of all amenities. I can't wait to return to the Don Pablo later in the year as I had such a great time staying here! A huge thank you to all the staff and look forward to seeing you all again soon :-)

Room Tip: I stayed in room 833 (8th floor) which is at the start of the corridor as you come out of the lifts...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PollyPaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great hotel, good size room, staff really helpful & friendly. Good position for beach and promenade, with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Shame about some of the residents who are out on the pool terraces from 6.30a.m. putting out towels to reserve sunbeds, despite notices not to!! A good holiday all round, we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Derek Alfred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro
Sol Don Pedro
#14 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,894 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
964 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £75 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing