We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel / Poor Staff”
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel / Poor Staff”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks after seeing the great reviews on here, must say I was a little disappointed due to the unfriendliness and sometimes basic lack of manners of the waiters and reception staff.

The hotel, location and facilities are excellent with the food being good although a little repetitive. The hotel is just let down by the miserable people who work here. The waiters are the worst, the first nights meal I thought I was just unlucky but this continued for the whole 2 weeks. They are simply not interested in any interaction or even smiles. I don't know if I have just been spoilt with my last few holidays being in Egypt and Florida where the staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and enjoy the place but here was the polar opposite.

The entertainment team were better but they don't exactly go out of their way to get to know you either. They seem to just play games with the same people every day and don't have a walk round the pool just to say hello or anything like that.

On the whole I had a good holiday due to the people I met but I probably wouldn't come back here unless the staff improved dramatically.

Room Tip: Our room was facing away from pool but still a decent view, lifts are good so wouldn't mind wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Hayley M,
We very much appreciate you taking time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you liked the hotel and location but take your comments about the staff not being sufficiently engaging. It is true that one does not encounter the kind of "come forward" service that is typical of the US in Spain but at the same time you should feel welcomed. I am sorry that this weas not the case. We take this comment seriously and will look at ways to improve this for the future.
Many thanks again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    896
    306
    83
    38
See reviews for
679
1,072
47
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very beautiful. If you stay you must go to the 9th floor and look at the spectacular view. The hotel has a huge restaurant with loads of different foods. The best thing about the three hotels is that you can use any of the facilities in the three hotels. The animation team are amazing. Carlos, Danny, Jonny, Miguel, Fibi,Uxia,Leyra, Maria, Sandra, Tavo, Curro and the lifeguards Jose, Jemma, Ismile and Philipe. Can't wait to return next year. The animation team have great activities on for adults everyday and they are very enjoyable. Outstanding people and they are all amazing at their jobs. 10/10 for the people alone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Richardson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Emma_Richardson1,
Thank you for your glowing report. I am really happy that you enjoyed the holiday so much.
I will be sure that all the staff are passed your comments. They work very hard and it is always so gratifying to have one's labours recognised. Thank you on all their behalves.
We really look forward to welcoming you back next year (or sooner!).
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have just returned home after a week long holiday at the Sol Don Pablo hotel. It was the first holiday my husband and I had taken with our 13 month old daughter. We found the hotel to be excellent and it made our first holiday very relaxing and enjoyable. We were allocated a room on the quieter side of the hotel on the 5th floor which suited us well. We found the food in the restaurant varied and always found something enjoyable for us and her and although the hotel was busy there were plenty of tables in the restaurant and loungers around the pool.The only slight downsides to this hotel were having to wait for the lifts as the restaurant was on the lower ground floor and during mealtimes there could be a queue to go up and down, also we brought travelers cheques to change into currency and were told that the hotel would not change them for us but a bank in the town centre would. Unfortunately the bank would not change them either but we did eventually find an exchange kiosk in Torremolinos centre that changed them for us with a 5% commission charge. I wouldn't recommend anyone taking travelers cheques to this resort but other than that this is definitely somewhere we would return to.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mollie27,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your first holiday away with the baby. I am so glad that it all worked so well for you and that we were able to contribute to a relaxing time for you both.
I take on board your comment about the lifts and wish to let you know that we have a project to replace the four main lifts this winter. Not only will the capacity be increased but also the speed of the cabins and the efficiency of the programming. We have been told to expect a 90% increase in efficiency after the renovation.
I am sorry about the traveller's cheque problem. The truth is that their use in Spain has been declining for some years and we are no longer able to send them to the bank. The most common method of accessing cash these days seems simply to use a debit card in a cash machine. There are also companies in the UK who offer pre-charged payment cards.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We hope that we can welcome you back in teh future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We keep coming back as this is such a lovely hotel. We visited in June and asked for a 2nd floor room to see the entertainment and were granted our request with a super room with a walk in shower and a great view of the shows. Obviously this is not always possible in high season, but they do try hard to please their guests. This Hotel group is active in upgrading itself and has recently refurbished the kitchens, the pools and their fire security doors. Being 3 hotels it is wonderful to be able to visit different pools, bars and restaurants. We enjoy the food and find there is plenty of choice and in our experience, hot plates are always available. Also I have observed the standard of food hygiene is very good and the cleanliness is immaculate throughout the hotel. Air conditioning very good as beginning of June was unusually hot. Beautiful grounds and nice snack bar and across the road from the beach. For further praise please read my previous reviews.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have walk in showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vesta53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear vesta53,
It is always a source of great pride to hear from regular guests who continue to be pleased with our service and facilites. Please do keep coming back and letting us know how we are doing - we promise not to rest on out laurels.
Thanks for the review and thanks for your loyalty.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I'm not one for spending long periods in the sun but do enjoy swimming so I always book a hotel with an indoor pool. I was very disappointed to find the indooe pool out of order for my whole stay with no explanation.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank DJWMANCHESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear DJWMANCHESTER,
I am really sorry that you were discppointed by the closure of the indoor pool during your recent stay at the Don Pablo. I apologise that you were not given satisfactory explanations. We have a total of 9 pools in the Sol Don Hotels complex including the indoor one. In summer we always close the indoor pool for a short period for annual maintenance as this is the time when it is least used. I appreciate that if you prefer not to be in the sun a pool in the shade would be a bonus and am sorry that your stay had to coincide with the maintenance period and that this should have impacted your stay so negatively. I hope that the rest of the complex was to your liking.
If you should want to visit us again in the future please feel free to contact us beforehand to ensure that we have the pool open during the visit. We would also be happy to show you some of the other pools that are in the shade in the mornings and late afternoons.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just come back from this hotel hotel was clean but the food was awful cold and under seasoned deserts same every night i think they ran out of deserts as table was full at first by end of week it was half the size wouldnt stay here again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Maggie G,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Sol Don Pablo. I am sorry to hear that the food was not to your liking. We have a very large variety including fresh meat and fish choices cooked in front of the guest to their liking. We attempt to satisfy as broad a range of pallettes as possible. We will certainly look into your comment regarding under-seasoned food and the choice of desserts. I am not clear on the amount of desserts on offer as we have not changed the display area this season but we will look at teh presentation to see how we can improve it.
I am sorry that the dining experience should have marred your experience.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Aug 3rd 2014 booked this for a 5 day holiday for me and my grandson age 16 , sent email and asked for a room on the 2 or 3 floor was given 304 great room ,walk in double shower and nice firm beds view of the pool and sea,pool area was fab plenty beds and walk in pool ,snack bar food cooked fresh,dinning room plenty tables and a good selection of food ,thought going down early food would be hot, shame it was cold did speak to head waiter so hopefully that would change, this was my second time here, overall yes i would still go back .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winnerglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear winnerglasgow,
Thank you for choosing to repeat at the Sol Don Pablo. I am really glad to hear that you were well looked-after and that your stay was a success.
I am concerned about your comment regarding the food not being very hot later in the dinner service and will follow up on your preocupation.
I hope that we do see you again in the future and that you notice an improvement in this area.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Melia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing