We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We were staying in the Costa Del Sol during the volcanic eruption and Easyjet sent us to the Melia Hotel whilst we waited for the flights to resume.
We are a party of 2 adults and 2 children so we were allocated one of their suites. The suite was very spacious and clean, with comfortable beds, plenty of storage and 2 flat screen TV's to watch the updates on the news channels!
We had a huge balcony with sunlounger and chairs with a beautiful outlook over the beach opposite the hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to talk to our children.
We really enjoyed the food selection at meal times and found the service in the restaurant was also very good.
The pool was clean and we never struggled for seating around the pool area.
We thought the location of the hotel was excellent, right on the beach but also close to the centre.
The only downside for us was that there was very little to do in the hotel during the evening. The evening entertainment was very low key and included a gentleman playing a keyboard. This may be perfect for some holidaymakers, but as a young family we enjoy watching live singers etc. However, the hotel had a very nice atmosphere and if you wanted something more lively there are plenty of places in the local area. We went to a little bar just around the corner, called Teresa's Bar. They were brilliant with our children, bringing them colouring books and toys/games to play with and making them special non alcoholic fruit cocktails.
All in all, a lovely hotel in a lovely area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byrne279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,173 - 2,179 of 4,139 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

This hotel is located right on the beach-front, and is perfect for a relaxing sun holiday. We noticed it the first time we visited Torremolinos and decided to give it a go this time as it was one of the largest and most impressive looking hotels in the area. I'm glad to say that we were not disappointed. The hotel is impeccably presented (inside and out). Reception, restaurant, bar, and housekeeping staff all very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and spotless, with nice modern decor and bathroom, and a nice balcony with sea views. The restaurant is good, unfortunately didn't get a chance to try it for dinner, however I have to say that the breakfast was top notch, - lovely fry-up (if that's what you want), and also a lovely selection of fruit, toasts, cold meats, cereals, etc. They have a nice bar (not your typical continental hotel bar!), with a lively atmosphere and live Spanish music. There is a large swimming pool to the front of the hotel which is open from around 9am to 8pm.

Some info on the general area/amenities:

- There are plenty of nice cafes/bars/restaurants along the beachfront with late night dining and a very relaxed/safe atmosphere - (no problem to bring kids out with you at night). The hotel also offers a babysitting service (I think it was around EUR 10.00 per hour).

- Taxi to Malaga city centre will cost you approx EUR 25.00 each way at night (EUR 20.00 during the day).

- Taxi to airport approx EUR 30.00

- To rent a lounger on the beach for the day - EUR 4.00 - EUR 5.00.

Plenty of other activities such as diving, Jet skiing, etc.


This is a typical beach resort area with plenty of restaurants, bars, and souvenir shops, etc! Good fun. However If designer shopping is your thing then you might be better off to base yourself in Malaga City Centre, or a different resort.

Overall Impression: - Good value for money, excellent hotel, vibrant area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_oneill2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Its an ideal location. Airport is just 15 min travel by Taxi. Clean beach is just opposite the hotel and from all rooms you have view of Sea. Ideal stay for business and leisure travel. For travel around the city taxi's are most convenient and its avilable just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jomyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Myself and my partner have stayed here a number of times over the last few years. This hotel is very good value, clean, comfortable and in a good location. We were a little disappointed this time though as evening meal was served in the La Proa cafe at the front of the hotel, and not in the usual buffet restaurant. Whilst this involved having waiter service, on each occasion the waiters got our food order wrong, and of course portion sizes and general choice and variety are much smaller as a result. Its fair to say that evening dinner went from being "a feast" to being "sufficient". Breakfast was however as good as always and was served in the buffet restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in early January.Hotel is situated on the promenade and very close to the centre (mostly uphill though).on check in we received our keys to our room,but no other info on dining,facilities etc.Our room was fine and had a fantastic sea view.The hotel was virtually empty approx 50 guests in a 500+ roomed hotel .subsequently evening dinner was served in the "la proa bar" and offered waiter service,dinner was of good quality ,served and presented well,drink prices in "la proa" were fine unlike the main bar which were exceptionally high meaning it was empty which was a shame as it was very nice.Breakfast was served in the main restaurant and offered a very good selection .The hotel was spotless and very well maintained,our only dissapointment was the indoor pool and sauna which their was a charge for(this is not mentioned on the website).We would stay again and would not hesitate to recommend to anybody else looking for good quality accomodation.We travelled from the airport to torremolinos on the train and it cost 1.55 euro,fantastic value and really easy.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

this was a great value 4star hotel , on the sea front , great location, great food staff did more than they need do, great show's each night,
the hotel bar was a bit pricey but if only having one then thats fine,
a down side was that the sun lounging area was very small and was all grass that was well looked after infact it was watered every day and the flys just love that

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tws137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

My husband & I stayed a week at the Melia Costa Del Sol in October. Overall, we are very happy with our stay there. The hotel is very well located, just besides the famous Calle San Miguel & the old part of Torremolinos. If you go west, it is also very nice to walk on the boardwalk where there are many little stores & restaurants. You can also walk on the beach for kilometers. The hotel was very quiet at that time of the year because most guests were baby-boomers and some seniors, very few kids. The food / buffet was okay, a lot of fish & seafood. The staff of the hotel were very nice, (especially M. Gonzalez).
DAYTRIPS:
We booked some day trips with VDT. The main problem with those daytrips is the many stops (7 or 8) they do at different hotels on the way to the city you are visiting. When it should take 1 hour to go somewhere, it takes 3 hours. So you spend half of the day sitting in a bus. The trip to Ronda was worth going, the city is unique & spectacular. The guides (Pedro & Antonio) were some of the best guides we ever had in our many similar trips. The tour to Gibraltar what really disorganized. In this long day, we spend 20 minutes in St Michael's Cave & 20 minutes with the apes. Rest of the time was in the bus & a bit of free shopping in the very boring and even ugly downtown of Gibraltar, which is unfortunate because there must be more to see in Gibraltar, things that should be included in the tour. I won't even mentioned the guide... As for Malaga, we took the train. It was easy, very unexpensive and the train station is a 15 minutes walk from the hotel. We would have liked to see Cordoba, Seville & Granada but they were further that Ronda, which took 3 hours because of the many stops...
However, a very nice trip & the long boardwalk of Torremolinos was a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mevanwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £72 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International present Melia Costa del Sol located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms capacity up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing