We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location grat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
sydney australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Location grat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Walk to beach, shops, etc. This hotel is in a great location. Has all the other services of a good hotel. All rooms have a view of the water I think.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,563
    1,313
    347
    86
    53
See reviews for
593
1,871
186
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Our family spent two week travelling over Costa del Sol. And Melia was our home for this trip. We arrived afternoon, dropped the luggage, checked wifi (I have to be connected) and went out for a walk; we asked on reception "what is the key for wifi" and "do you have longer additional bed ("little sixteen" boy is 1m75cm)". We found free available wifi and replaced long bed after we came back to room in two hours. No more questions till departure. Nice looking interior, clean room, great see view from window/balcony. We managed with rich but the same breakfasts and always full parking.
We did enjoy not only travelling and sightseeing, but staying in comfort and relaxation of our temporary home, sleeping up to 12 hours lulled by the sound of waves.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wlad_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

The hotel was being renovated, it was like staying at a construction site. Only 12 TV channels were available . A/c did not work we were told by the front desk to open the window. The food was was satisfactory but it is the same every day, never changes. No entertainment, however this hotel does advertise entertainment nightly. It has a good looking entrance. We were told by a member of the hotel staff, this hotel caters to mostly business people. a sad remark. The beds were made every day at about 2 pm. This hotel is at most a three star hotel. We were surprised because we were recommended by a friend that stayed there years ago. It has location, location, location. Hopefully they will improve and train the staff to be a bit more professional.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rui6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

have stayed in this hotel before, and enjoyed it so much we returned. The hotel has now been refurbished, in the main areas, but has still kept the spacious lounges which are great to relax in, if unlucky withthe weather. The buffet restaurant is much improved, as is the quality of the food, with fresh meat and fish cooked to order, and if you like fish, you will not be disappointed.. Good atmosphere in the bar at night, so we actually stayed in more than we planned, as we were enjoying ourselves. What more can you ask for.

Room Tip: Get a room with a southwest facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JDTRAVELBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We were staying in the Costa Del Sol during the volcanic eruption and Easyjet sent us to the Melia Hotel whilst we waited for the flights to resume.
We are a party of 2 adults and 2 children so we were allocated one of their suites. The suite was very spacious and clean, with comfortable beds, plenty of storage and 2 flat screen TV's to watch the updates on the news channels!
We had a huge balcony with sunlounger and chairs with a beautiful outlook over the beach opposite the hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to talk to our children.
We really enjoyed the food selection at meal times and found the service in the restaurant was also very good.
The pool was clean and we never struggled for seating around the pool area.
We thought the location of the hotel was excellent, right on the beach but also close to the centre.
The only downside for us was that there was very little to do in the hotel during the evening. The evening entertainment was very low key and included a gentleman playing a keyboard. This may be perfect for some holidaymakers, but as a young family we enjoy watching live singers etc. However, the hotel had a very nice atmosphere and if you wanted something more lively there are plenty of places in the local area. We went to a little bar just around the corner, called Teresa's Bar. They were brilliant with our children, bringing them colouring books and toys/games to play with and making them special non alcoholic fruit cocktails.
All in all, a lovely hotel in a lovely area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank byrne279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

This hotel is located right on the beach-front, and is perfect for a relaxing sun holiday. We noticed it the first time we visited Torremolinos and decided to give it a go this time as it was one of the largest and most impressive looking hotels in the area. I'm glad to say that we were not disappointed. The hotel is impeccably presented (inside and out). Reception, restaurant, bar, and housekeeping staff all very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and spotless, with nice modern decor and bathroom, and a nice balcony with sea views. The restaurant is good, unfortunately didn't get a chance to try it for dinner, however I have to say that the breakfast was top notch, - lovely fry-up (if that's what you want), and also a lovely selection of fruit, toasts, cold meats, cereals, etc. They have a nice bar (not your typical continental hotel bar!), with a lively atmosphere and live Spanish music. There is a large swimming pool to the front of the hotel which is open from around 9am to 8pm.

Some info on the general area/amenities:

- There are plenty of nice cafes/bars/restaurants along the beachfront with late night dining and a very relaxed/safe atmosphere - (no problem to bring kids out with you at night). The hotel also offers a babysitting service (I think it was around EUR 10.00 per hour).

- Taxi to Malaga city centre will cost you approx EUR 25.00 each way at night (EUR 20.00 during the day).

- Taxi to airport approx EUR 30.00

- To rent a lounger on the beach for the day - EUR 4.00 - EUR 5.00.

Plenty of other activities such as diving, Jet skiing, etc.


This is a typical beach resort area with plenty of restaurants, bars, and souvenir shops, etc! Good fun. However If designer shopping is your thing then you might be better off to base yourself in Malaga City Centre, or a different resort.

Overall Impression: - Good value for money, excellent hotel, vibrant area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_oneill2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Its an ideal location. Airport is just 15 min travel by Taxi. Clean beach is just opposite the hotel and from all rooms you have view of Sea. Ideal stay for business and leisure travel. For travel around the city taxi's are most convenient and its avilable just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#8 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Melia, Priceline, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing