We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Melia Costa del Sol was a fantastic hotel! It was incredibly clean, and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were cleaned daily, and towels replaced. Wifi was free. The hotel is located directly across from the beach, and the views each room has are amazing. The strip that the hotel is on is wonderful, and has restaurants, mini-putt, pharmacies, and souvenir stores. Although the staff mostly only spoke Spanish, they worked hard to understand requests made in English. I had the hot breakfast and dinner included in the cost of my hotel stay, and although most of the food was good, sometimes they added too much salt. Nonetheless, it was nothing to make me decide that I wasn’t a fan of the hotel.
The hotel has a small pool (which they clean meticulously), which I thought was going to be an issue, since I enjoy the pool more than the beach, however Torremolinos is such a wonderful city that I only spent about 30 minutes by the pool during the 7 day vacation. On the beach, lounge chairs are privately owned and cost 9 euros per umbrella (which has 2 chairs underneath) per day. Not a bad deal, assuming that most people spend a few hours on the beach whenever they go. I would suggest that people staying at the Melia take a short walk west on the board walk and spend a day at Playa Miguel, which is a great beach club. They have beds on the beach that are 35 euros, but the experience makes up for the steep cost!
The biggest problem that I encountered at this hotel was the number of elderly people who seemed to think they owned the place. A word of advice: don’t let them cut into the buffet line or you’ll never get your food!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StayClassy1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,664
    1,369
    357
    88
    56
See reviews for
625
1,974
192
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed at the Melia Costa del Sol over the Easter holidays. The hotel is in an excellent position right by the beach and the view from our junior suite was excellent.
The hotel itself is rather business like and seems to cater mainly for coach parties who are using the hotel as a stop over point whilst touring Andalucia.
The food was quite good but the acoustic in the refurbished dining room was terrible, making the place extremely noisy . This, coupled with the fact that the furniture and the layout was more like a canteen than a hotel and that all the coach travellers went for breakfast together in the morning it sometimes felt like Euston station on a busy day.
There are virtually no shops, apart from a very small Jewellers shop, in the hotel and there is no information as to what is about anywhere to be seen.
Entertainment is rather low key with just a singer every evening which tends to get quite boring after a few days and we finished up most night down the road in the Irish bar.
Room service was very sluggish, they did not empty the bins on one day and never turned up on another day to clean the room.
The pool area is far too small for the size of the hotel which could prove to be quite a problem later on in the season when the resort is really busy.
There is, of course, the beach opposite but you will have to pay for your sun beds and your brollies if you want to go there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpumpernickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed at the Melia Hotel in april. We were lucky with the weather.
Advantages : right next to the beach, most rooms have seaview, free and good wifi
Inconveniences : the swimming pool is way to small for such a hotel with views seats available (if the hotel is fully booked, I'm sure they'll have an issue), quality of the breakfast is so so.
The hotel is quite basic, typical for a tourist hotel I think.
I booked the hotel because a lot of pilotes/stewards go there and they wouldn't be going to a moderate hotel I thought, but I think it's because of the quietness of the place (no noise during the night since there are no bars around)
The many bars& restaurants are just a few hundred meters away.

Room Tip: As high as possible to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt_B7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Walk to beach, shops, etc. This hotel is in a great location. Has all the other services of a good hotel. All rooms have a view of the water I think.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Our family spent two week travelling over Costa del Sol. And Melia was our home for this trip. We arrived afternoon, dropped the luggage, checked wifi (I have to be connected) and went out for a walk; we asked on reception "what is the key for wifi" and "do you have longer additional bed ("little sixteen" boy is 1m75cm)". We found free available wifi and replaced long bed after we came back to room in two hours. No more questions till departure. Nice looking interior, clean room, great see view from window/balcony. We managed with rich but the same breakfasts and always full parking.
We did enjoy not only travelling and sightseeing, but staying in comfort and relaxation of our temporary home, sleeping up to 12 hours lulled by the sound of waves.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wlad_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The hotel was being renovated, it was like staying at a construction site. Only 12 TV channels were available . A/c did not work we were told by the front desk to open the window. The food was was satisfactory but it is the same every day, never changes. No entertainment, however this hotel does advertise entertainment nightly. It has a good looking entrance. We were told by a member of the hotel staff, this hotel caters to mostly business people. a sad remark. The beds were made every day at about 2 pm. This hotel is at most a three star hotel. We were surprised because we were recommended by a friend that stayed there years ago. It has location, location, location. Hopefully they will improve and train the staff to be a bit more professional.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rui6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

have stayed in this hotel before, and enjoyed it so much we returned. The hotel has now been refurbished, in the main areas, but has still kept the spacious lounges which are great to relax in, if unlucky withthe weather. The buffet restaurant is much improved, as is the quality of the food, with fresh meat and fish cooked to order, and if you like fish, you will not be disappointed.. Good atmosphere in the bar at night, so we actually stayed in more than we planned, as we were enjoying ourselves. What more can you ask for.

Room Tip: Get a room with a southwest facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JDTRAVELBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Melia, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing