We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Excellent location. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were large and clean. Great for walking the beach or exploring the area. Close to tons of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWanderer004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,957)
There are newer reviews for Melia Costa del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,975 - 1,981 of 3,957 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Nice hotel, comfy beds and very clean. Staff were helpful and the facilities were great. The views from our room were beautiful, really really happy with our overall experience. The breakfast was the best we have had traveling thru Spain...nice, fresh and plentiful.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennya0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

You don't get what you pay for...

Overrated hotel! We decided to stay at Melia Costa Del Sol because of its excellent location right on the beach.

As we entered the hotel, we had to stand in a long line to check in. The hotel lobby was totally packed, yet they only had two receptionists checking people in. Our rooms were not ready till about 5pm. We waited in the lobby with the billion other people waiting to check into their rooms.

This hotel is understaffed. There are about 600 hotel rooms, but only a couple of people at the front desk. You have to wait in a long line just to ask one question.

The staff is not friendly and minimally helpful. Whenever I would enter the hotel, they would not even crack a smile at me. The receptionists always look down or speak with each other so that they can avoid questions.

The breakfast has a wide variety of food, BUT there is ALWAYS a line. Now if you're paying premium prices to stay in this hotel and additional money for breakfast, you should not have to wait in a 30 minute line. The dining room looks like a cafeteria since there are so many people. If you calculate the numbers, there are over 1000 people staying in the hotel. One dining room is not enough. They should have a second dining room. 

Pros: excellent location right on the beach, clean and quiet rooms with a nice view of the costa del sol

Overall: I'm sorry, but if you are paying premium prices, then you deserve much more! 

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kikip7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times in the last 8 months. We think we have found the perfect hotel in this location after spending many short breaks in several of the Sol hotels in the area which we now find are not for us. Just a short taxi ride from Malaga airport. Costs around 15-19 euros. Perfect location, just across the road from the sea. Both times we have arrived at 10 am and have been given our room straight away. Always found the reception staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel gives a good impression from the minute you walk into it. Nice, clean and modern reception area. Rooms well presented. Clean with good furnishings and plenty of toiletries provided. Lovely sea view from most of the balconies. Food very good especially breakfast. The hotel does cater for large tour parties and conferences and so the restaurant can get very busy at certain times and the only problem was that the staff sometimes can be a little slow at clearing tables. The pool area is not very big for the size of the hotel and the loungers soon get taken up but a lounger on the beach will only cost around 4.50 for the day. Cannot comment on the spa as it has been closed both times we were there for refurbishment.
Entertainment in the evenings is provided in the bar by a keyboard player. There are plenty of bars and restautants across the road on the sea front. Or simply follow the coastal path round into Benalmadena. An energetic walk up into Torremolinos either by turning left out of the hotel and up the steps or by turning right and taking the steps along the side of the conference centre. Both of these have lifts which will take the less energetic (particularly in the heat) up to the top for around 50 cents each. This hotel suits us perfectly and will be back again soon I hope!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Loved this hotel, wonderful views. Good restraurants across everywhere. We ate at Gallegos - good food and prices. Enjoyed people watching from the boardwalk. Lot of shops around. This hotel had a good a/c, first we've seen in this 15 day trip. They also had ice-very hard to find in European hotels. Their breakfast buffet was large and had an omelet station. Internet was by the minute..

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Staro311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I took my partner here for her 30th birthday, and we're both so glad I did. We walked to the hotel from the train station with 2 cases and it took us shy of 15 minutes. It's all downhill.

Check In was simple, the beach was just across the road. Many bars, restaurants, and shops, within easy walking distance in 3 different directions.

The room was spotless and a decent size, we had twin beds that felt much bigger than a normal single. They were comfortable and we had no problem sleeping. The bathroom was also spotless, and spacious, and had everything you needed and more.

The staff were all very helpful but we only had to call on them once, when we arrived at our room there were no towels. We went out for tea and an hour later they were already sat on our beds.

Now onto the best bit, the breakfast, which was out of this world! There was a huge selection including milkshakes, cereals, cooked meats, fruit, preserves,muffins, donuts, croissants etc. The list goes on. Then there was the usual cooked breakfast offering, bacon, eggs, sausages, beans etc, even sweet pancakes! On top of all that, they made omelettes to order. Awesome.

We were so pleased with the hotel and Torremolinos itself, even though we are on a budget, we are going back. Roll on September.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stewpid1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This hotel is righ across the street from the beach which is on the Mediterranean Sea. The rooms have balconies that give you a great veiw. This is probably the best hotel in Torrremolinos. It is located quite close to shopping and numerous very good eating places and restaurants. Nice outdoor pool area.

This is definitely the place to stay while in Torremolonos.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to have great views of the beach.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Joseph7820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,486 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,901 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,394 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,683 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#40 of 71 in Torremolinos
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £74 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing