We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, amazing location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, amazing location!”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stayed at the Melia Costa Del Sol from the 16th- 21st July as part of a group of 6 girls as a celebratory end of A levels group holiday. Unlike the majority of young people our age we stayed half board. As we were one of the youngest groups there we were anticipating the staff to act differently with us however they were extremely friendly and welcoming and ensured that we had 3 rooms close to one another (next door in fact on the 3rd floor, with a sea view)! The variety of food was great. We chose to have breakfast and dinner each day and thoroughly enjoyed the spread of food on offer. The outdoor pool (on top of the car park) had spectacular views over the beach and there is the opportunity to hire out beach towels to use throughout your stay which is very helpful. There are many people complaining on here that the pool is too small for the size of the hotel. I think this is a stupid point to make as if you require greater space, surely you could make use of the endless stretch of beach that is straight opposite the hotel/pool? The facilities in the hotel were amazing and myself and a couple of friends made use of the spa one afternoon. For 21 euros (have to pay 3 euros to purchase a swim hat to wear) we were able to use the salt water pool/Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room for over an hour (due to it being very quiet.) The lady at the desk of the spa was lovely and extremely friendly. I have absolutely no faults with this hotel, the location, facilities, staff and food were incredible and great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank i_bentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,785
    1,447
    367
    89
    56
See reviews for
665
2,097
204
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Food wasnt the best reception wasnt very helpfull as well! but rooms really good, clean and updated!! Actually expected a bit more from 4* hotel but in averrage holidays went smooth.

Room Tip: Architect was really smart and I think every room has a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibi794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here in May for a long weekend and was very happy with everything. Given a lovely carpeted room on the floor second from the top with a lovely view. Decor a bit corporate looking but fresh and good quality nonetheless. Service was friendly and efficient - especially for breakfast, where we appreciated one of the best choices for breakfast that I have ever seen. The hotel is ideally placed on the promenade midway between Torremolinos centre and Carihuela. Perfect for evening strolls. Got a good deal online through the Melia website. You should become a MAS member and then you can enjoy free newspapers and late check-out.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor facing west for more sun in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kennimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Booked last minute to Hotel Melia for long weekend break. Staff were great from checking in at reception to staff in breakfast buffet who kept things moving to the maid who cleaned the room. Breakfast was a good choice and well stocked, omlettes made while you wait and plenty of other foods, fruit, cold meats etc. Rooms were better than we expected plenty big enough huge bed all got sea views, very nice bathroom, safe big t.v, fridge. didn't use hotel bar as there are hundreds of bars on the front which stretches for miles, really are spoilt for choice (legs ache you do so much walking on the prom you don't realise how far your walking there's so much going on)
Only down side is the pool area is only small and like everywhere else sunbeds are like gold dust. Beach is straight across road plenty of sunbeds there and if you ask the attendant he will reserve you a bed for the next day so no rushing up to get a towel out. Will definitely use this hotel again great location.

Room Tip: Hotel is shaped so all rooms have sea view, suppose higher up the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paullodge007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed here 12th - 15th July and have to say it was excellent especially the breakfast variety which had everything you could wish for and more!!

Staff where more than helpfull and everything was kept in a great order.

Didn't get to try the Spa unfortunately but did speak to Lola the Spa receptionist who was very helpfull in giving me directions to where I was going and also recommended Puerto Marina which was a lovely walk from the Hotel alond the sea front.

Will definitely stay at Melia Resorts again in the future!!

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms both located at the back of Hotel both with good sea views so think any room would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My wife & I have used this hotel twice this year & it was great on both occasions. Service from staff, quality of accommodation, food & location are all great. They even provided me with a free razor as we only took hand luggage & I didn't want to risk one through baggage checks.

The Melia was much busier the second time but it appeared that standards were being maintained at all levels. Staff very friendly and approachable, quickly seated in the restaurant, food constantly replenished with fresh produce and grounds well maintained.

There is a deposit system for beach towels so you don't need to take your own in these days of restrictive airline luggage charges.

The hotel is really for adults and we saw few children. Evening entertainment is low key and definitely for the middle aged (& upwards).

Plenty of bars etc nearby for lunches, snacks & drinks (the hotel also has its own snack bar) and it's across the road from the beach with a pleasant walkway along the coast in both directions.

The cliff lift (small charge) and (free) steps up into Torremolinos are about 100 meters away or there is a pleasant walk up behind the hotel.

The only criticism for us is that we found the mattresses a little too hard but that is a minor point really.

Will we go back? Most definitely.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkietraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Great location, the staff provided a higher level of customer service that isn't easily found in Spain (no offense Spaniards, but it's what it is lacking in a lot of places); Great breakfast and attentive staff that was as good as 5 Star places, without the cost.
One of the reviews (maptreker) didn't care for their room, and admittedly it wasn't like the hotel photo. Friends had a room like that, but I had one by the cliff that I liked a lot. I actually liked being by the cliff and didn't feel the need to keep the shades drawn.
I'm attaching a shot I took on my phone that you can see that view. Still not bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LA_native_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,302 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,322 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing