We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
stratford upon avon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year Break”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spent one week at this hotel from 27/12/13 ,Food was superb with Cava in the morning with breakfast if required and of course , Food selection was first class morning and evening, The staff are so friendly and courteous and the maid service second to none.
The location is perfect for the town centre and beach ,The Train station is a short walk say 10 minutes and the lovely city of Malaga about 20 minutes on the Train.
I would certainly come back again to this fantastic Hotel in the future as the location is 10/10

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your New Year´s stay at Melia Costa del Sol.
We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter,
I am sharing your nice comments with all the staff and hope to celebrate many more New Year´s Galas with you.


Warmest regards,

Orlando Pérez- Dep. Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,832
    1,479
    375
    92
    57
See reviews for
691
2,140
208
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel many times over the years and had a fabulous holiday each time, on this occasion it even surpassed our expectations. We always know that when we arrive at Reception and Snr. Gonzales and Victoria are there thing will be spot - on and that everything we have requested will be in order. We had a Junior Suite as usual ( room 614 ) for our five night stay , fabulous views, massive balcony, spotlessly clean, what more can you ask for ?

The food and service is always wonderful , the New Year Gala Dinner was outstanding, fantastic food, excellent service, all drinks and entertainment included, this was no doubt the best New Year function that we have ever attended in Spain, the next task is to book for the next one.

We shall also be booking for some more short breaks during the year at this Hotel, although we are aware that there are other places in Spain to visit , this place always makes us feel very confident that there will be no problems and that everything is first - class.

Room Tip: A Junior Suite is well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephens89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property.
Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team.
Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards.


Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we did 10 days over xmas ,very clean,very modern. Really disappointed with the xmas day meal.
NO GALA meal,No atmosphere-mainly catering for transit folks on tours.7/30-11.00 breakfast
times were needed to feed them all.If tours coincided with meal times,the dining room was rammed at times.We even complained to the hotel manager who claimed they catered for 30%
british-if so why NO xmas gala+NO xmas theme.It was also brought to his attention that casual
attire(3/4 shorts) even at evening meals.We cant blame transit folk-who wants to change for
dinner. Also great beach location--No bars/NO night life either sides of the hotel.A very very steep
climb up steps up into the town,We shall be doing SOL MELIA hotels again- but NOT this one.

Room Tip: high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dens123trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests.

Thanks again for the time you took to write about your experience.

Kind Regards


Orlando Pérez- Dep. Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My friend and I arrived December 30th for two nights, excellent location with a few choice places to eat just across the road, we wanted to chill for a couple of days and it hit the spot. Rooms clean and very well maintained, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast superb as was dinner in the Gastro bar and with stunning wine at €10.00 a bottle couldn't be better, enjoyed it so much we are just waiting on flights being loaded to go back same time this year.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyMac60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation!
We are thrilled that our staff was able to give you great sevice at our gastrobar, and that you had an experience that exceeded your expectations.
That is very high praise indeed!
Thank you for staying with us, and from all of us here at the Melia Costa del Sol Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon!


Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

If you want a holiday with a good Christmas Day do not book this hotel.There was no atmosphere no decorations and just a standard menu As OAP we save over the year to get away over christmas and for many years have had good ones this was the worst yet Hotel rooms very good and staff good this hotel is more fot the business man and coach tours

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g_smith685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you very much to sharing your experience with us, we really sorry for do not except your expectations regarding Christmas Ambiance.
This style of Christmas decorations according to the times and taste of the great majority of our clients. Of which we have received many congratulations
Nevertheless we take seriously your check points, since they are the tool to improve our quality and service levels and also to highlight the opportunity areas that you as our important client observed during your stay.

We hope so, that you give us another opportunity to change your experience.


Best Regards
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned after a 5 night stay over New Year. Everything about this hotel was superb and exceeded our expectations. There is wide choice of food at breakfast and dinner. The staff are friendly,courteous and professional. Free wi-fi and a safe in the room is another bonus.
Overall an enjoyable stay and without hesitation would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you so much for giving us the chance to provide you our services and most of all to share your experience with potential future guests.
Your satisfaction is our goal, so read comments like yours makes us feel very happy.

Thank you again, We'll be waiting for you and your family at Melia Costa del Sol in a near future.

Kind Regards.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrox, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent a 2 night stay at the Melia CDS with friends 13 and 14 December.

The hotel was spotlessly clean, rooms well equipped (free safe and WiFi), staff pleasant and helpful and food, particularly breakfast, very good. Because there were few guests Dinner was served in the Gastrobar rather than the main restaurant and service here was hit and miss to say the least but Breakfast service in the main dining room was first class.

Although there were so few guests, there was a first class singer in the bar each evening. Bar drink prices were VERY expensive but the dinnertime wine list was well priced.

All in all we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so very much for your outstanding review !
We are thrilled that our staff was able to provide you a good service, and that you had an experience that exceeded your expectations.
That is very high praise indeed!
Thank you for staying with us, and from all of us here at the Melia Costa del Sol Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Happy 2014 !!!

Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,356 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,631 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#43 of 71 in Torremolinos
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing