We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Ideal Hotel To Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife & I stayed in this hotel, Melia Costa Del Sol last November 14, 2013 for three nights and four days during our 14 Day Spain and Portugal Tour through Gate 1 Travel. Of all the hotels that we had been to during this tour, this is the best as far as cleanliness, and the location. The hotel is situated along a stretch of boulevard full of variety of restaurants along the beach. What I Iiked most was that WiFi was free. The service was excellent. The food in their own restaurant was delicious, and inexpensive.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the ocean for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pid45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you so much for giving us the chance to provide you our services and most of all to share your experience with potential future guests.
Your satisfaction is our goal, so read comments like yours makes us feel very happy.

Thank you again, We'll be waiting for you and your family at Melia Costa del Sol in a near future.

Kind Regards.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,651 - 1,657 of 4,102 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed in the Melia Costa del Sol from 29th Dec 2013 for one week, taking in New Year. It is spotlessly clean and the room was spacious and totally silent once the balcony door is properly closed.We had a premier position for our room. lThe location is directly on the sea front with just a road between the hotel and the sand. A beautiful walkway promenade outside the hotel allows one to walk in comfort for miles and miles, perhaps for ever! The housekeeping service throughout the hotel maintains total cleanliness all the time. The towels in the bedroom were the biggest towels I have ever come across in a hotel anywhere and were changed every day without fail, sometimes twice a day if needed. Bed linen seemed to be renewed every day, even on New Year's Day and we were never interrupted by housekeeping staff - we just put the Do Not Distrub signand checked that it had not been removed by the wind.
The food was fantastic. Breakfast was simply unmissable and they even attempt an Irish Full Fry! Cava every morning as standard and beautiful fresh fruit every day. We did not take lunch in the hotel but they have a good bar menu throughout the day near the roadside entrance. Dinner was a delight with a full Sushi choice every evening. One was free to come to dine at will between certain hours.which gave freedom if one had been out all day etc etc. A freshly cooked meat was always available to be carved in front of the diner. Potatoes were available although they never came in a clear format, such as boiled in their jackets, but they were present in other forms, along with hot pasta and rice. It was a pleasure to go down to dinner. The Bar in the centre of the hotel came to life in the evenings at dinner time but only a tiny fraction of residents stayed beyond one after dinner coffee or a drink. The barman was kept on duty til 1am by us most nights, with a small cohort of Germans joining in the fun. Live music was available every night in the bar after dinner.
New Year's Eve Gala was just OK - we have had much better (even in nearby Benalmadena last year) and was overpriced for what was on offer. The Disco kept us occupied til 4am and the hotel seemed to provide free drinks after midnight when most of the residents had gone to bed..

The staff were friendly enough, especially at the Reception, but the waiting staff in the diningroom seemed mostly tired and disinterested.

Two big drawbacks of this hotel are: 1. its location at sealevel leaves it hard to gain access to the town which is up many, many steps and the one and only Public Lift to take one up to the town from the seafront was out of action. 2. The hotel ONLY has a tiny outdoor unheated swimming pool which is just for "window dressing" and one has to pay for use of the Spa pool which is seawater and heated but is pay-by-the-hour and is tiny also. This may not be a problem in summertime as the sea is across the road but in winter, it would have been nice to sit by a warm heated pool indoors.

We had lunch on the seafront frequently and particularly recommend The Eden on the shore, a few metres outside the hotel, going towards Benalmadena.

The hotel did not make any effort to help us with the geography or facilities of the area - no maps, no bus timetables, no train timetables are on display although Day Trips are advertised.
We enjoyed our stay and had great sleeps!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe .

Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests.

Concerning, area info , transportation timetables ,etc... i would like to take this opportunity to inform you that touch screens with this information are located at the reception level. As well Hotel Melia Costa del Sol app can be downloaded for smartphones with this and touristic info of the region.


Thanks again for the time you took to write about your experience.

Kind Regards


Orlando Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Just came back from a 4 night break, great spotlessly clean hotel, with great balcony views. I think all the reviews have said it all, much more for business people than holiday people, however it makes it very quiet, if that's what you prefer. A great base for exploring.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.
We greatly appreciate your feedback and while we are delighted you enjoyed our location.
We have been fortunate to receive many complimentary reviews since the hotel's opening in and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a second visit.


Yours Sincerely
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for one night while waiting to catch a flight . This hotel is very well appointed. Rooms are spacious, & clean. In addition the breakfast that was included in our package was very good for a hotel breakfast. There are lots of shops, & restaurants in walking distance.

Staff are very helpful, & accommodating even when our group of 36 needed an early check in.

Best Part is the Stunning View overlooking the Ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level floor directly facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missbhavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Melia Costa del Sol. We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations .

Hopefully we will see you back again very soon at Melia Costa del Sol.

Warmest regards,


Orlando Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a modern hotel facing the Mediterranean. It is well appointed and has its own balcony where it's pleasant to lounge and watch either over the sea or the hotel pool.

From the hotel it is easy to stroll along the waterfront, enjoying both the shopping and the restaurants on offer. The alternative is to take the elevator up the hillside to the town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

We thank you for trusting us and for your reviews as they help us improve our day-to-day customer service, we are glad to hear that your stay at the hotel was pleasant and you were able to enjoy the lovely Mediterranean Seaviews from your room.
We realize that you have spent some of your time to share your comments as well as your photos with us through Tripadvisor and we thank you.


On behalf of the entire team of Melia Costa del Sol, many thanks.

Yours Sincerely.

Orlando Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Could not fault our stay. The hotel was extremely clean and well maintained in both the bedrooms and public áreas. The Staff from Front Desk, Dining Rooms and other áreas were always friendly, courteous and helpful. The New Years Eve Gala Dinner was superb and we will probably return in a future year to repeat the experience. Well done and thankyou to all at the Melia Costa del Sol.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank djspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property.
Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards.


Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have stayed in this Hotel Many Times over the last 15 Years or more and 4 over the New Year period from Millenium onwards, We always have a wonderful time as the staff are great the rooms are lovely and the food always excellent and the Gala Dinner a great start to a New Year.


We arrived and check in was fine a bit slow eventually got the rooms we requested although still not ready had lunch, rooms were fine although you can see the ware and tare in places showing in bathroom especially but still very nice clean the free safe and wi fi are good. no Mini Bar in fridge which didnt work or Water and Newspaper for MAS Holders?

We were Full Board so Lunch was available in La Proa, Over the years you could order from there general menu, However now they have a daily set Lunch menu for Full Board which over the 4 days too limited in choice and in particular in quality example is one day seafood with spaghetti next day tuna with macarroni same sauce only different pasta!! so overall cut backs are obvious to regular customers which is a shame,However as always the Staff are lovely which is always a pleasure.


The lounge in the evening in nice singer each evening although missed the dancers this year drinks are expensive this should be looked at again service is very good it is not a party Hotel but suits us fine.


The Main dinning Room has had a major Makeover since or last Stay now similar to reception in decor Black and White etc! Before this makeover it was always Pleasure going for Dinner lovely atmosphere all the Tables had Linen Table clothe Napkins and very nice Wine Glasses etc which always gave a an upmarket feel without being pretentious and a vast choice on food presented always left Dinnerwith a Smile, Now however it is plastic black and white tables mainly for 2 Persons with plastic mats etc although they can make them for more joining them together!! the noise level both at breakfast and Dinner is Horrible the nearest comparison is a Fast Food Outlet now its an atmosphere of get them in and get them out perfect for the coach parties that now seem to be there main stay.

The Food is still very good but not as varied as before but it is not a place now for a nice couple of hours eating and drinking over conversations you would be hoarse having to raise your voice
to be heard. this is a great disappointment to all of us as now we would not consider going either Half or Full Board but again the staff cope with masses well and are lovely there ears must be ringing at the end of the evening!!!!


Thankfully the Gala Dinner was Great Restaurant done up properly had a good time, nice Meal Wine, Drinks good, highlight of stay! again staff hard working and lovely always to be thanked.

So overall it was good to be back seeing the lovely staff again, However next time we would only go Bed and Breakfast as the Restaurant now as mentioned is far too noisy and cheap in Decor, This is a Great disappintment to us all, However would still recomend staying here.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rynldsjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

We thank you for trusting us and for your reviews as they help us improve our day-to-day customer service, we are glad to hear that your stay at the hotel was pleasant in general.
Nevertheless i consider important to inform you that all the changes of the hotel, had been made listening to the needs of our guests, and new demands of the market.

We realize that you have spent some of your time to share your comments with us through Tripadvisor and we thank you.

I am available for any future requirement, if you send an email to. -
melia.costasol @ melia.com so that we can respond as quickly.

On behalf of the entire team of Melia Costa del Sol, many thanks.

Yours Sincerely.

Orlando Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £71 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing