We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better TV”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Better TV”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I love this hotel. Perfect location,, right on the beach with every facility you could ask for on your doorstep. Most balconies have a view to the sea which is wonderful.I only have one complaint. We don't go on holiday to watch tv but there were a few rainy days when we were there and not much to do but get wet. As most of the tourists to the Costa Del Sol are british why are there very limited tv channels. Don't think this would cost the hotel a great deal of money to fix this. This is a very common complaint for the Brits abroad.We did travel out of season, any other time this would not be a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property.
It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team.
We value the feedback that you give us about the TV channels , it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests, I take inmediatly this issue in order to improve our English channels.

Thanks again for the time you took to write about your experience.

Kind Regards


Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,616
    1,340
    351
    86
    54
See reviews for
614
1,915
188
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just spent a week at Melia, our room was on the 9th floor and the view was amazing, the room was very clean and linen spotless, the breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choice for all diet requirements even champagne and smoked salmon, all staff were very helpful, will definitely be back again

Room Tip: The higher the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe .

Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests.

Kind Regards.

Orlando Pérez- Dep. Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

A wonderful experience, thanks to the attention to detail of the reception staff I had an ideal room with sun on the balcony for most of the day. The room was of a high standard, and spacious. the option with the half board of either lunch or dinner was perfect, especially as the food was so good, and the service exceptional. The staff made it their business to ensure all was well, and there was nothing further that could be done to add to the stay.
I would highly recommend this hotel, and look forward to visit again.

Room Tip: If you want a room with all day balcony sun, make sure you ask reception at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe .

Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests.

Kind Regards.


Orlando Pérez - Hotel Dep. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights booked through a Melia Hotels special deal.
The positive side was the pick up at the airport included this was great and worked very well. A well kept and very clean well run hotel.
The rooms though not the largest are very clean and comfortable and all have a sea view. The buffet breakfast was very good too, with a wide range of hot and cold foods. With great staff too.Also good free wifi in the hotel
The negatives are few, but just a little extra effort would change this from a good hotel to a great hotel.
Firstly when you look at the facilities of the hotel is says spar and gym, there is a spar but what they do not make clear is that there is a daily fee of 19 Euro, just to go into the spar for a sauna or steam room.I could understand paying for treatments but this is an excessive daily fee that is not made clear when booking. The gym is a very small room with old equipment. Also during my visit they were doing extensive work on the exterior of the building and re planting the pool area. So there was no where to swim and at times no where to sit out in the sun. This again was not made clear at time of booking.
They did offer use of an indoor pool in another hotel nearby , I visited this once and found it not well maintained deep water and unsupervised and the pool area not clean. This was not in the Melia hotel but one of their other hotels.
The main thing that I found negative, was that for an a four start hotel , no tea or coffee facilities in the room. In the winter months a warm drink before bed would have been nice. You can tell by the room layout that there used to be kettles to make a drink. Its seems petty to me that this facility has been removed. I would expect tea and coffee facilities in a four star hotel as standard. The Melia is a good hotel and the very good staff make it a nice place to stay. I would stay again but it could be made better with just a little extra work by the hotel management.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that get the sun most of the day. Also the higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests.

Thanks again for the time you took to write about your experience.

Kind Regards


Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The food, location, staff are great and my family and I enjoyed every bit of our stay here in the oceanfront "junior suite" that we stayed in for 5 days. What wasn't so great was, the computer system is outdated and could not populate thru all sections of the hotel as we went to eat that my family's expenses should be charged to our room. This had to be noted on paper. Also, though i booked online using my creditcard, they had to write down my creditcard number at thr front desk and i was surprised a hotel of this magnitude would be doing this as this should be on the computer system already since i chose to pay with the same creditcard. Also, check-out was not grest as it was a slow process. I would suggest the hotel puts a check-out bill under the door overnight to expedite the check-out process thereby if there are no discrepancies, the guest can leave. Lastly, wifi / internet connectivity is very poor.
Overall, the internet was the most frustrating in the room and if this issue is not a concern for others, i would recommend staying at this hotel as the lovely experience staying here outweighed the other issues i mentioned.

Room Tip: Every section / corner of this hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mega90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Melia Costa del Sol.
We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter, I am sharing your nice comments with all the staff.
Regarding the billing system i would like to inform you that dut to EU Data Protection your card data can not be displayed in all hotel Outlets.

Hopefully we will see you back again very soon at Melia Costa del Sol.

Warmest regards,


Orlando Pérez - Dep. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
416 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here last week for 5 nights. €20 in a taxi from the airport, check in was quick, 6th floor, nice room ,sea view.Buffet breakfast was very good, lots of choice.
Then the noise started ,grinders, jack hammers , compressors at 8am so much for a lie in. 3 days i think this went on for, pool looked small for the size of the hotel, no sunbeds out as it appeared closed due to the renovations.
Free wifi in the rooms was qiute good.
€9 for a jameson at the bar is a bit steep , not surprisingly only 2 or 3 people drinking there.
dont know if id return, it was a nice location, lots of little cafe/bars in the area, up the steps to train stn, where €4 return got u to malaga historical town , well worth a visit, trains every 20 min & took about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgosul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests.

Thanks again for the time you took to write about your experience.

Kind Regards


Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
332 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were part of a tour group and the first thing we noticed at the hotel was the service at the front desk. The rooms themselves were generous with ocean views and the service and food provided at the breakfast buffet were excellent. Our large tour group (that seemed to cause difficulty at other hotels) were professionally served so that we all felt like guests rather than "one of the masses". Wish more hotels were like this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property.
Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team.
Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol.


Kind regards.


Orlando Pérez - Dep Hotel. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#17 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing