We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but showing its age now”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Ok but showing its age now”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked one night here to be close to the airport after a week touring Andalusia. We travelled by train and this hotel is reasonably close to the train station although down a steep pathway. When we booked we were offered a free taxi transfer to the airport which worked really well and meant we didn't have to climb back up to the station. There were three of us travelling and we booked a Junior Suite which had a bedroom and a sitting area with a bed setee. This proved to be a mistake as the fold down bed was very uncomfortable and the springs creaked all night. The room was only kitted out with towels for two people even though we booked it for three several months in advance. We had to chase reception to get more towels to have a shower prior to dinner. The rest of the suite was ok with plenty of room, but the TV in the bedroom was only 22 inch not 32 inch as stated on the web site. This tv didn't work anyway as there was no power lead into the TV and the socket was falling out of the wall and presumably still live! The large balcony was nice and we enjoyed sitting out in the sunshine with a glass of wine before dinner although there were only two plastic seats and a small plastic table which we had to supplement with a chair from the room. The bathroom was a good size but the corner with the shower/bath was very dark and could have done with another light. There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room so bring your kettle. As usual the air con was turned off for the winter so the room was a bit hot and stuffy in the middle of the night in spite of cooling it down by opening the sliding doors prior to going to bed. We had found a couple of good Italian restaurants on Trip advisor prior to our trip but they were closed for the winter as were many of the shops and restaurants. So we tried the buffet in the hotel which cost 23 euro and it was quite good for a buffet. The buffet breakfast was ok but we found all the pastries to be a bit dry. The coffee supplied in the pots is ok but I went for a double expresso from the machine and it was better. The outdoor swimming pool was closed for the winter and the indoor "pool" is minute and is part of the spa and you have to pay to use it. Overall this is an ok hotel in the winter.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.
We greatly appreciate your feedback and while we are delighted you enjoyed some of our services, we are sorry that you also had some disappointing comments to make.
Please rest assured we have taken all your points on board for immediate consideration as this was clearly not up to our usual Melia Hotels International standards.
We have been fortunate to receive many complimentary reviews since the hotel's opening in and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a second visit.

Yours Sincerely
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,835
    1,484
    378
    93
    57
See reviews for
693
2,149
208
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stay very regularly at Melia Costa del Sol. Once again an enjoyable stay. A problem with room location was quickly and happily resolved. The building work was not a problem. Food excellent quality and plentiful. Staff all helpful and efficient. Will be back again soon.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank groupcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol .
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My family and I stayed here on a Christmas coach tour to Spain. Location is excellent and the balcony overlooking the sea was lovely - sipping Cava whilst the sun was disappearing into the sea - what's not to like? The room was a good size, bathroom spacious and all was spotlessly clean. Wished we had longer there - we had to leave quite early in the morning so couldn't do justice to the incredible breakfast - hot, cold, breads, pastries, juices, fruit, tea, coffee, chocolate, you name it, it was available. I don't know if in high summer it might be very noisy but we found it very quiet considering the location. Seeing the later review with building work going on we were obviously lucky as we had none of that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygardenerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We are filled with happiness knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable and services offered filled your expectations, for us, comments like yours are what motivate all Melia Costa del Sol Team to give the best of ourselves, always working to provide quality.

We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very nice and spacious hotel.Extremely friendly and professional staff.Great food also.We stayed for one (1) night (wedding anniversary May 2013) and felt very relaxed.We did not use Spa.Highly recommend this hotel for COUPLES only to relax without kids....not for families as pool is very very small.Also right at seafront

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bells1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for giving us the chance to provide you our services and most of all to share your experience with potential future guests.
Your satisfaction is our goal, so read comments like yours makes us feel very happy.

Thank you again, We'll be waiting for you at Melia Costa del Sol in a near future.

Kind Regards.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel is excellent from the point of view of the food and choice in the restaurant. The bedrooms are comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. The view and proximity to the beach is ideal. However the noise from the builders is terrible, starting at 8am and continuing until 7pm, every day except Sunday. The outside walls of the hotel are being clad in black tiles and so drills and angle-grinders are in constant use, causing clouds of dust. It was impossible to sit out on our balcony and relax.
This is an extensive project and the building work has already been going on for a long time and it will be some time before it reaches completion.
The irony of the situation is that we felt that the black exterior is not going to enhance the hotel. The investment would be much better spent on a good sized swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wentworth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests.
Regarding somes of the points raised in you commen i would like to inform you that a t the present time our forecast to finish the works is the 28 th of march with the same yellow and red.
Neverthelless , we can not guarantee it , as some of those works are subject to climatological conditions.


Thanks again for the time you took to write about your experience.

Kind Regards

Orlando Pérez - Dep Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well presented and looks just like the photos. Breakfast is also very good.
We were not pleased about the level of noise in the hotel at night though. We moved after 3 nights but the second location was also noisy. The walls transmit noise easily and the other occupants do not respect those sleeping between 12 and 2 in the morning.
The hotel should try to segregate floors for those who like quiet after 12:00.
The reception desk did not try hard to help although they were polite.
We would not choose to stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramirez10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to see that the majority of your recent stay was satisfactory and are also grateful for your comments about the service you experienced.
Feedback from our guests, both positive and negative is important to help us to constantly improve our service.

Warm regards,
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this excellent hotel at the end of February.
Following a previous visit in 2012, we returned again and were not disappointed.
I booked directly through the Melia website. I joined the rewards programme and paid 77 Euros per night, half board for the two of us (not 77 euros each!). Also, by booking direct through the Melia website, we received a promotion of free transfer by taxi to and from the hotel. This is outstanding value for money.
Have no doubt, this is an excellently run hotel in every aspect. The hotel public areas and rooms are spotless. Staff are pleasent and helpful. A special word for the Maître de and his restaurant staff. Very experienced people doing an excellent job. It is simply not possible to be disappointed with this restaurant, the food was absolutely great and plentiful. Food is laid out buffet style, but if you're not happy with that, the chef will cook you something fresh in front of you. Most nights, we had paella to start, followed by a steak, pork, or turkey dinner. Most mornings, we had an omlette of our choice, cooked fresh for us and we made our own Bucks Fizz ! A very enjoyable bottle of Rioja cost 10 euros. First Class.
In February, the hotel and restaurant was fairly quiet, but I very much get the impression that they could cope just as well at the height of the season.
Our room on the 8th floor had a perfect view of the beach and sea. The TV had dozens and dozens of channels, but only one in English - BBC World News. There was also no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. There is a mini-bar/fridge.
The hotel is right on the promenade and we enjoyed walking to Benalmadena Marina, stopping at the bars/cafes/shops along the way.
Each evening after dinner, we spent some time in the bar area, where there was live music, which usually consisted of one man playing gutar or piano etc. We enjoyed this, although there were not many other guests around. Very large G&T - 7 Euros.
On one day, we took a guided coach trip to Gibralta. Booked through Viator. We really enjoyed the trip and the experience of visiting Gibraltar, with all the history etc.
This is not a hotel that really caters for children, although we did see several around. There are no playparks or entertainment for them.
As a location for a winter break, we found this hotel to be perfect in every way. We will return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the high floors and in the north wing if possible. You will get full aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavemScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review and the photos posted !!!!!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property.
Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards.

Orlando Pérez - Dep Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,397 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,360 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,637 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#43 of 71 in Torremolinos
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Melia, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing