We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect short break”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed for 4 nights last week ,really impressed ,this is a proper 4 star Spanish hotel with some areas like the excellent breakfast and the staff all over the hotel bordering on 5 star

Treated ourselves to a junior suite and the view and sunbeds on the balcony made it a perfect relaxing morning before going out .

It's just around the corner form the wonderful cosmopolitan area la curehuela and to our delight at the marina there was la feria del Marissco a 4 day fantastic seafood / shellfish festival which was a real bonus ...and very cheap fresh street food fish ...and paella to die for :))

We will be back ,it's ideal for my wife and I for a perfect short break .

Room Tip: Pay more ...go seaview ...it's so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSapling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property.
Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards.



Orlando Pérez- Dep. Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,832
    1,479
    376
    93
    57
See reviews for
691
2,142
208
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Positives : good out of season price on group rate , modern new conference centre , close to the airport , friendly and helpful staff , great breakfasts , comfortable beds and all rooms with seaview , good wifi connections.
Negatives: hotel exterior being renovated at the moment but nothing really to complain about

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank geegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe .

Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests.

Thanks.


Orlando Pérez
Dep. Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branston Pickle
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We enjoyed our week at the Melia so much last year that we decided to rebook again this March; and once again had a wonderful week. A short e-mail to reception before we set off and we were reallocated the same room on the 5th floor that we had last year, with superb sea view and were able to enjoy the afternoon sun relaxing on room balcony.
Some earlier reviews have referred to the work being done on the exterior of the building; I have to say that we found no problem with this and it didn't intrude on our holiday one bit.
The room we had was large, comfy and spotlessly clean and the food in the restaurant for both breakfast and evening meal was amazing.
However once again what really impressed us were the staff, particularly in the restaurant, from the guys who 'greet' you at the door to the men and women who bring your drinks or clear your plates, they all seem genuinely keen for you to enjoy your holiday.
Once again a really BIG THANK YOU for making our holiday so enjoyable.
Hopefully we will see you all again next March

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mice60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property.
Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team.
Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards.

Orlando Pérez - Dep Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Melia Costa Del Sol. There have been major improvements to the dining room and these are very welcome. The food is much better than many similar 4**** hotels in this resort. Our room was very clean and well appointed with quality bedding and plenty of space.Staff were very helpful and the prices in the bar were what I would call value for money. My one negative comment is that there were major works on the outside of the building which we had not been advised of when we booked. These were quite noisy if you were at the hotel during the day. However they did not start till 08.30 so was bearable. I would recommend this hotel to couples who want a quiet holiday with no young children running around and am sure that once the work has finished the hotel will be back to the normal place it should be. We have stayed here many times in the early spring and with the improvements would be more than happy to return.
Pat & Bob.

Room Tip: Always request a higher floor room in Block B
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BOB P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol .
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol.

Yours Sincerely

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langbank, Renfrewshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Booked a 6 day trip in early March for a relaxing break in the sun and was not disappointed. Have used 2 Melia Group hotels in recent years and being impressed went for this 4 star and splashed out on a junior suite to guarantee a sea view, large balcony and VFM accommodation for three including adult son. Half board package for 3 for 6 days was £750 (March).

Located on a cul de sac so no through traffic, save for accessing a small car park near the hotel. Beach on the other side of the road.

A large but spacious and comfortable hotel. Has its own car park including charging facilities if you hire a buggy. Useful having the five check in positions on a lower, below street level, floor with the hotel proper starting on the floor above – street level. A large restaurant with plenty room, even when busy. Very acceptable variety in the buffet style evening meal. Ever changing variety of meat and fish dishes. Some food cooked to order. Breakfasts are superb. Tremendous range of cold meats, cheeses, breads, hot food and the ubiquitous moving grid toaster. Everything is topped up/refreshed on a very regular basis. Teas and coffees available. Nice range of wines and not expensive. As in many places, order a bottle of wine which will be kept overnight for you if only part consumed. Second restaurant/bar. Lounge/bar with evening entertainment – mainly easy listening music. Couple of excellent keyboard/singers. Very relaxed.

Bedroom very comfortable, see photos. Large room safe. Usual minibar but not extortionate. Linen was changed every two days. Pillows and bolsters – never have liked bolsters. Individual room controls of heating/air conditioning available. Plenty hanging space and hangers and drawer space.

The overall impression is of an extremely well run hotel. High standard of cleanliness. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Noted a German couple booking in, whose Spanish was very poor, with no English, so they conversed in French since the hotel rep’s German was not as good as his French!

Room Tip: This ‘U’ shaped hotel faces east so some sea view rooms have sun only in the morning. A blessing in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank senex-sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
We are filled with happiness knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable and services offered filled your expectations, for us, comments like yours are what motivate all Melia Costa del Sol Team to give the best of ourselves, always working to provide quality.

We appreciate the intention and the time you took to share your experience as well as the pics from Melia Costa.

We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked one night here to be close to the airport after a week touring Andalusia. We travelled by train and this hotel is reasonably close to the train station although down a steep pathway. When we booked we were offered a free taxi transfer to the airport which worked really well and meant we didn't have to climb back up to the station. There were three of us travelling and we booked a Junior Suite which had a bedroom and a sitting area with a bed setee. This proved to be a mistake as the fold down bed was very uncomfortable and the springs creaked all night. The room was only kitted out with towels for two people even though we booked it for three several months in advance. We had to chase reception to get more towels to have a shower prior to dinner. The rest of the suite was ok with plenty of room, but the TV in the bedroom was only 22 inch not 32 inch as stated on the web site. This tv didn't work anyway as there was no power lead into the TV and the socket was falling out of the wall and presumably still live! The large balcony was nice and we enjoyed sitting out in the sunshine with a glass of wine before dinner although there were only two plastic seats and a small plastic table which we had to supplement with a chair from the room. The bathroom was a good size but the corner with the shower/bath was very dark and could have done with another light. There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room so bring your kettle. As usual the air con was turned off for the winter so the room was a bit hot and stuffy in the middle of the night in spite of cooling it down by opening the sliding doors prior to going to bed. We had found a couple of good Italian restaurants on Trip advisor prior to our trip but they were closed for the winter as were many of the shops and restaurants. So we tried the buffet in the hotel which cost 23 euro and it was quite good for a buffet. The buffet breakfast was ok but we found all the pastries to be a bit dry. The coffee supplied in the pots is ok but I went for a double expresso from the machine and it was better. The outdoor swimming pool was closed for the winter and the indoor "pool" is minute and is part of the spa and you have to pay to use it. Overall this is an ok hotel in the winter.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.
We greatly appreciate your feedback and while we are delighted you enjoyed some of our services, we are sorry that you also had some disappointing comments to make.
Please rest assured we have taken all your points on board for immediate consideration as this was clearly not up to our usual Melia Hotels International standards.
We have been fortunate to receive many complimentary reviews since the hotel's opening in and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a second visit.

Yours Sincerely
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stay very regularly at Melia Costa del Sol. Once again an enjoyable stay. A problem with room location was quickly and happily resolved. The building work was not a problem. Food excellent quality and plentiful. Staff all helpful and efficient. Will be back again soon.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank groupcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol .
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,357 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,634 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#43 of 71 in Torremolinos
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing