We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“stay away”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I booked 6 nights for June 2014 through the bookings.com. The Room Details on reservation stated" This stylish, air-conditioned room has a terrace with views of the Mediterranean Sea. It includes flat-screen satellite TV, a safe and a modern bathroom". The reality was the "terrace" was a tiny balcony that barely fitted 2 plastic patio chairs, there was a pretty loud continues noise coming from some kind of an engine/water pump?. The" views of the see" were only partial. The room had a bad smell with very old carpet and tired furniture. I couldn't believe that rooms can be this bad in a 4 star hotel. Asked the front desk if they can change the room to one with a better see view. The response was the rooms with double beds (I chose the double bed with SEE VIEW option during the booking) have exactly the same view. Anyway, to cut the story short I end up paying bookings.com for one night since it was a last minute cancellation, wasted half a day and nerves trying to find a new hotel, paid over 2 and half times more for a new hotel (I was only able to find a junior suite available in 5 star hotel). Even though I paid almost triple price for a new hotel I have no regret.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Buzubich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.
We greatly appreciate your feedback , we are sorry that youhad some disappointing comments to make. Please rest assured we have taken all your points on board for immediate consideration as this was clearly not up to our usual Melia Hotels International standards. We have been fortunate to receive many complimentary reviews since the hotel's opening .

Yours Sincerely
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,831
    1,477
    375
    92
    57
See reviews for
691
2,138
208
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just had a weekend away with the girls and the hotel was in the perfect location. The hotel rooms were nice and spacious . We asked for a twin room and to be next to our friends and was told we would get rooms 900 901 and 902 and to come back for 2pm as room 902 would be free. unfortunately the guests staying in the room had gone missing and not checked out. lol
Therefor we was given room 601 instead. This room had an extra large kingsize bed which wasn't a problem. The room had a free safe and air con. A selection of shower items shampoo etc were provided so that saved space in my little 20 by 20 plastic bag we was allowed to bring on flight. Beach towels are available by leaving your towel card(given to you at check in) with the pool attendant and returning the towel when leaving. We stayed B&B and the food at breakfast was gorgeous, it was worth getting up for. The selection of food available was excellent and the staff were lovely and all polite and very very hard working. We would stay back here again if it wasn't for Torremolinos bars restaurants closing at midnight. :-( So therefore we are booking the Melia Marbella banus next year for our girlie weekend. The Melia hotels are really nice and the food excellent quality so we are going halfboard next year.

Room Tip: One facing the pool so you can see if your mates are at the pool or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susielavinia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol . It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

excellent stay room spotless. food excellent thanks to the hard working kitchen /waiting on staff nothing to much trouble and genuine with it to really faultless.have booked to go again in early october with the mrs and also my daughter/boyfreind and granddaughter for hopefully another excellent break.downer not enough sun beds [although they do seem to be adding ] no tea maker in room[could be for extra charge surely standard in 4*] and my biggest disappointment no courtersey room when i asked i was told no melia hotel had one but ive never stayed in a hotel that doesnt supply one what a shame .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derek4julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that the majority of your recent stay was satisfactory and are also grateful for your comments about the service you experienced. Feedback from our guests, both positive and negative is important to help us to constantly improve our service.
I want tyo take this opportuny to inform you that kettle service is now available for all the rooms with coffee and tea with a minimum extra charge, and as well we are proud to announce the new openning last week of our new solarium area by the pool.

We look forward to seeing you soon again at the Melia Costa del Sol

Warm regards,
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was at this hotel for 4 nights. Great hotel for location. Rooms where spacious. Lovely breakfast buffet. But we had to check out at 12 but flight wasn't til midnight and there was no facilities for guest that fly later

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vezza1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol .

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

room not available as we arrived early and on our return found our suitcases
had been taken to the room. room was fairly spacious with a lovely sea view to the east. television not working but was repaired later that day. during our stay the room was kept clean. breakfast was similar to most hotels of this standard . i found the custom of the staff to place coffee and milk on the table whether you wanted it or not a bit wasteful. at breakfast we were told it was a free sitting area however for the rest of our stay we were shown to our table by over enthusiastic staff walking past many empty tables to the far away end of the dining room. dinner was very good with lots of choice.visited the bar area but found it usually very quiet and lacking atmosphere. overall a very good hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
4 Thank angus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol .

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here for 6 days and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. We were on the 4th floor with a side ocean view. All rooms have somewhat of an ocean view. Hotel was quiet. The room was good sized with 2 twin beds together for one large king. Bathroom was large and clean. Had the breakfast buffet which had many choices good food. Staff was always friendly and check-in and out was easy and quick. Great location within walking distance of many restaurants. Beach right across the street where you could lay on the sand or rent chairs/umbrella for 4 euros each. We did this for 2 days and it was nice. We did not use the pool. It is small for such a large hotel and seemed like lounge chairs were always full, all day. You get towel cards for towels but they charge 1 euro to exchange them. Didn't really like this as we stayed for 6 days so feel we should have been able to get new towels at least once. Had to try and dry them out each night. Not sure why they charge to exchange towels. Overall we like the Melia and recommend staying there if visiting Torremolinos. Seemed to be the nicest hotel on the main strip. It well well taken care of and clean. It's a good central location to take day trips. We rented a car and traveled to Granada, Ronda and down to Gibraltar. Parking was a bit expensive but we only parked a few days so it wasn't too bad. If you can find street parking around the hotel that is free but we felt better about parking in their lot.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCA17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We are filled with happiness knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable and services offered filled your expectations, for us, comments like yours are what motivate all Melia Costa del Sol Team to give the best of ourselves, always working to provide quality.

We appreciate the intention and the time you took to share your experience at Melia Costa del Sol.

We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Second time to the Melia.Loved it first time round and loved it second time too.It's a great hotel with the perfect location for the beach and for the stairs or lift up to Torremolinos town.Some may say that it's not a four star hotel,but that's splitting hairs.The only downfall is the size of the pool area for the number of guests it can take.Way too small,but the beach is across the road.Reception hall is excellent and the reception staff are very nice and helpful,with a smile.We were bed and breakfast so never tasted the meals at night,but the breakfast spread has everything you'll ever need and the dining room is huge so there's plenty of space.The breakfast staff are so good,they'll bring your tea/coffee to your table before you even order it!With a smile!Rooms are basic,functional and clean and the bathrooms are good too.Powerful shower and plenty of hot water.Bed linen was changed twice in the week and the beds have mattress protectors on them.There is a terrace for drinks at the pool but this is undergoing a refurb at the moment so it's quite restricted.Will be brilliant when finished though.One last nice touch..a free safe!Don't have to fork out for this.Brilliant.All hotels should offer this.There's also a mini bar(not free!) with room for your own water/milk beer etc.All rooms have a side sea view.
I'll be back for a third stay the next time I'm in the Costa Del Sol.

Room Tip: A room facing the pool is a better view,but the outside rooms of the building on the south get the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are filled with happiness knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable and services offered filled your expectations, for us, comments like yours are what motivate all Melia Costa del Sol Team to give the best of ourselves, always working to provide quality.

We appreciate the intention and the time you took to share your experience at Melia Costa

We will be waiting for you a with open arms on your third visit to Melia Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,373 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,627 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#44 of 71 in Torremolinos
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing