We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ageing but well located, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
153 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Ageing but well located, comfortable”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights while attending friends' wedding. We booked a suite with a huge balcony overlooking the sea.
The decor is...dated! Indeed, the whole place could do with a decent makeover. But to be fair, this is largely catering to families and beach lovers, not refined sophisticates.
We had a large living room, a large double bed and a reasonably sized bathroom. I was disappointed by the lack of bath robes but again, this is a 4* hotel so modify your expectations.
Breakfast was something of a bun fight but again, despite huge numbers of people pouring into the dining room, everything seemed well stocked and the food was generally pretty good.
What I would say is that the pool is tiny for such a large hotel! Many people commented on it - though the beach is, literally, opposite the hotel.
The other gripe is the lifts - tiny and slow!
Overlal not a bad hotel, probably worthy of its 4* status (just) but personally I was pleased we were only there for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests.

Thanks again for the time you took to write about your experience.

Kind Regards


Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,664
    1,369
    357
    88
    56
See reviews for
625
1,974
192
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. Got the junior suite room 716 on 7th floor, which are all sea front views of the full coastline unlike the ordinary rooms. Had large balcony and little sitting room. Very clean room. Housekeeping staff even work in evenings. Air conditioning worked fine. Bathroom small but very usable. Dining and drinks expensive. No wifi for the whole 6 days on any of our phones or ipads, it sometimes worked slowly after midnight but not during the day. Technician was supposed to call on 3 occasions but never did. Breakfast not normally what irish or English would eat but great selection. Good spot. Clean hotel. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RoyBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and while we are delighted you enjoyed the majority of our services , we are sorry that you also had some disappointing comments to make. Please rest assured we have taken all your points regarding the WIFI service on board for immediate consideration as this was clearly not up to our usual Melia Hotels International standards. We have been fortunate to receive many complimentary reviews since the hotel's opening in and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a second visit.

Yours Sincerely

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel & if anything it is better than before. Friendly attentive staff, spotlessly clean, spacious room (we stayed in 722). You cannot fault the choices of food in the restaurant & never had to wait for a table although the hotel was very busy.

Lovely beach right opposite & plenty of café bars all along the front. Lots of Spanish people & very family orientated with no noisy nightclubs.

Very good bus services to Marbella, Mihas, Benalmadina etc.,

Room Tip: Rooms to the right of reception are nice & cool in the afternoon & sunny in morning
See more room tips
Green Features: You only have towels changed when you ask for them & on each landing in the morning are receptacles for newspapers, plastic bottles etc.,
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 50londoner031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol .

It was a pleasure to have you with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed 7 nights here and used it as a base for our exploration. The service was good at reception, although when we tried to ask questions by email before the response often took a few days (for English emails). We also wanted so much to take some excursions and when asking before our arrival we were told not to worry just to book when we arrived. Finally the day before arriving, we had a change of plans so we called to ask about excursions and managed to get the last two seats before the trip was sold out.

The rooms were a little old and in need of a little love (paint touch ups, carpet touch ups) mattress was on it's last legs but it came with everything we needed .. . There was a safe, a decent sized minibar, bathroom amenities etc.

The internet worked well, we had a great view, and enjoyed our experience here. The pool area is a little small (often no seats). Later we noticed an upper deck with seats (and good looking fake grass!!) which we could have used. perhaps a sign showing 'upper deck' would help ...

We also found that they were trying hard to be green, to the point where they'd charge 1E for a towel change and not change your sheets for a week. I'd think that perhaps one change a day for towels and a little card that we could put on the bed if we chose to have the sheets changed earlier would have been preferred.

The buffet dinner and breakfast also has a great selection, and as many of the beach side restaurants are pricey, actually gives good value to eat here and choose what you want and eat as much as you'd like. Did ate twice and later opted to try out some tripadvisor recommendations up the hill ... which we loved too btw.

if your going to stay in Torremolinos, you can't go wrong here. Its near the end of the strip, across from the beach (you have to pay a few Euro to get a chair at a club across the street, but it's not bad). This hotel is probably one of the better ones, and throughout our stay we saw people working on the hotel doing upgrades and updates, so I think they are in the process of making it even better.

Room Tip: Take the superior room with a view. Skip on the meal plan, just go when you like (same price)
See more room tips
Green Features: Good idea, perhaps a little extreme.. offer choices to customer
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natandjaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are filled with happiness knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable and services offered filled your expectations, for us, comments like yours are what motivate all Melia Costa del Sol Team to give the best of ourselves, always working to provide quality.

We appreciate the intention and the time you took to share your experience at Melia Costa

We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gt.Bardfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel exceeded our expectations and my mother and I enjoyed our stay in room 725. Check in was speedy and professional in a friendly manner. Our room was spacious, comfortable,spotlessly clean, free air con, fridge, safe,full bathroom,plenty of plug sockets. Not at all noisy with a sea/pool view from a perfectly adequate balcony. Breakfast and service was amazing, fabulous choice of food in very pleasant surroundings. We loved the fact that many clients were Spanish, together with various other nationalities and the little Spanish conversation I know was appreciated by the dining area staff who we found to be most attentive and friendly. The hotel is in a wonderful location with everything you need nearby. We enjoyed our first visit so much, absolutely no complaints and would recommend 100%. We hope to re visit next year. Muchas gracias Melia Costa Del Sol.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen1Gt_Bardfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We are filled with happiness knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable and services offered filled your expectations, for us, comments like yours are what motivate all Melia Costa del Sol Team to give the best of ourselves, always working to provide quality.

We appreciate the intention and the time you took to share your experience at Melia Costa

We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Melia in July, what a fantastic hotel! The restaurant is second to none, it has all the food under the sun. The staff is extremely attentive. The bar is great. There are no bad views and everyone gets a balcony!! The beach is right across the street, beautiful views. I would absolutely come back for another week's stay on the coast.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSetter922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We are filled with happiness knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable and services offered filled your expectations, for us, comments like yours are what motivate all Melia Costa del Sol Team to give the best of ourselves, always working to provide quality.

We appreciate the intention and the time you took to share your experience at Melia Costa

We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just arrived home from a trip to tho hotel and would highly recommend it. Crisp, clean and modern decor, great location across from the beach and close to bars and restaurants, great choice on the buffet, we opted half board and good variety for both breakfast and dinner and breakfast served until 11.00 not 10.00. Lovely sea view from the balcony and lots of mirrors, plugs to enable two women to get ready at the same time :-). We had a problem on our last day and reception had to print e-mails for us, again very helpful and friendly, even gave personal e-mail in case hotel one wouldn't receive the document. All restaurant staff were friendly and spoke quite good English.
Just a couple of negatives, the pool wasn't large, but probably because the beach is opposite and if you want a fun night out you will have to taxi into Benalmadena as this hotel is situated within a family friendly location, but perfect if you holiday as a family.
All in all a great trip that could have been better if we had studied the resort for nightlife.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views so higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe .

Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests.

Kind Regards.


Orlando Pérez- Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Melia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing