We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Senor Al”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I thought it was a great hotel, ideal for the train and bus stations to get up and down the coast. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Food was excellent. Downsides were waiting for the lifts at breakfast and dinner but i suppose because its peak times, theres not a lot you can do but its a long walk down six flights. The only way to get wet under the shower was to move around. WI/FI far to expensive. I would ask for a south facing room because the view was a bit dismal from my room. Would i stay again? Without hesitation is the answer.

Room Tip: I would ask for a south facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,215 - 2,221 of 3,197 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel is one of the worst I have stayed in, but apparently one of the best in Torremolinos.
Rooms are basic and dated and dirty! I noticed lots of dark hair on the bathroom floor (I have light hair so was not mine). I asked for it to be cleaned each day, but each day a dirty mop just moved it to a different area of the floor.
The bed is too hard!
The lifts are ridiculously slow!
Breakfast is basic.
Staff are rude.
Good location for the town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OHandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

just returned form this hotel. more than dissapointed! rated 4* i would be pushed to class it 2*. this hotel is geared to the gay commumity. the staff were the most ignorant people i have ever met, in the dining room the staff never spoke a pleasant word, and would run over you with the trolleys of plates. even the girl taking payment couldnt even say hello, goodbye or thanks. dinner was the worst display i have ever saw, burgers were the main thing bein cooked. every night was the same slap of tinned fruit and veg nothing was fresh, it was repeated bland uneatable rubbish every night. i had soup for dinner for 2 weeks, even the dessert was repeated same plastic lookin buns every night..need a good shake up for 4*ratin def not the same as other 4*s i have stayed in.
outdoor pool gave me skin rash, would not recommend this hotel to my enemy.
rooms were clean, towels changed every day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The good:
* Hmmm, this is tough. It's cheap!??!?!

The bad:
* Lifts unbearably slow so it's easier to walk
* Staff are not very friendly
* I found the pay upon arrival policy a bit weird
* Breakfast is plentiful but awful
* Water leaks from shower out of bathroom
* Beds are a bit hard

Conclusion:
I wouldn't stay here again. I've stayed at Hotel Miami before in this town and it has a lot more character than this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed here two days in a standard double bed room. The hotel was easy to find. We took the train from the Malaga airport to Torremolinos and as soon as we go out, we were able to spot it. The rooms are decent and beds hard. The hotel charges you for the safety deposit box (3 euros per day) so we just locked up our valuables in our suitcases. The hotel is no where near the beach. You have to take an elevator for 50 cents and walk through an outdoor market. The lounge chais in the beach are not free so bring your own beach towl or be prepare to pay for them. The pool area was small and therefore always crowded. The breakfast buffet was good and had a large selection. The staff was courteous. No free wifi. We had dinner at a restaurant called Bodega Guerola and it was the best food ever. All the locals seemed to hang out here. The food in the main plaza was too touristy. We took a walk to a bank to get the best currency exchange. I picked this hotel because it was cheap and easy to find. No ice machines and bring your own toiletries.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

November is not a high season here in Torremolinos, so we didn't have to go to the beach several times a day.

Pros:
- location is convenient for the centre of the town - nearby restaurants, shops, night clubs, etc. (but not for the beach lovers);
- the food was good with enough choice both breakfast and dinner;

Cons:
- difficult to get back to the hotel from the beach because it's not very unpleasant 1 kilometer climb up;
- the rooftop pool is nice but only 1.20 m depth, just not enough even for a teenager. And the main pool is not heated;
- dated equipment (lobby, elevators).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lyagywonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I have just returned after my fourth stay in Cervante Hotel.From my previous reviews you can see how I found this hotel very close to all amenities,food was of a reasonable standard and rooms comfortable and well cleaned.My previous stays were in November and May when the hotel was busy but not crowded.However on this visit the hotel was at capacity.The staff worked valiantly to cope and in most instances coped magnificently.On Sunday morning at breakfast there was a queue as big as I have seen at many football matches and amazingly the staff had it under control in about 30 minutes-which was Ok if you were prepared to wait that long but on the other hand should one expect to.On some other mornongs and evenings there was a queue but was normally dealt with quite quickly.Whilst I was prepared to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt regarding queueing occasionally at meal times there was a much bigger problem which I was unaware of on previous stays when the hotel was not quite as busy.There are four fairly dated lifts in the hotel and unfortunately they were completely unable to cope when the hotel has a large number of guests.On at least 3 out of four occasions when we tried to use a lift we would have waited for a few minutes and then had to take the stairs and this was the case for the full week of our stay.Fortunately we were only on the third floor but i spoke to several people on higher floors who were shattered at using stairs so regularly.Whilst I would be prepared to visit this hotel again it will only be during the off season as considering the price charged I consider it value for money in such a central location but I would not be prepared to put up with the lifts at the busier times.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tyronetraveller024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#32 of 71 in Torremolinos
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £48 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing