We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Tearful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
ballymoney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cheap and Tearful”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My wife and I stayed for four days All Inclusive.location was really good as we used the nearby train to travel each day either way down the line for a few euros!! The hotel was spotless, although while rooms were also clean they were very uncomfortable.beds were so hard it was impossable to have a good nights sleep.as I can concur with other reviews the food was always cold although the. Variety was good!! Dining room service was poor with a sluggish approach to clearing tables .staff were unfriendly and unhelpful..the same staff problem can also be attributed to BAR and RECEPTION STAFF a total lack of interest in their GUESTS!! Drinks all come in small glasses so forget about asking for a pint or half pint wine glasses for beer only !!overall this Hotel in our opinion is well Overated! Three star would be more than appropriate!!
















  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    1,172
    773
    326
    194
See reviews for
634
1,216
191
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Very impressed, but it is all a matter of opinion. The food was excellent, if people felt the meat done on the griddle was a bit underdone just ask for it to be cooked a bit more. Although there is not a hugh selection the quality was good. A lot of the meat came on the bone so you had to do a bit of picking, but very tasty beacause of that. Tables were kept well cleared and the staff were friendly. The location is superb being less than 5 minutes from the railway station (3 euro 10 cents for 2 from the airport). On one side, out the card controlled back door behind the internet acess point, you have the town. On the other out the main door you are 2 minutes to the lift for the beach. Rooms were comfortable and well maintained. We lost the sun around 16:00 in our original room but it was no bother to change. All the staff were very helpful. Yes there were a few queues for food and drink at times but nothing that you could not put up with. Thanks to all at this hotel who made it a wonderful holiday, we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered 04 to 10 on any floor (eg 704 to 710) get most of the sun in the late afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RagtimeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Just returned from a 10 day stay on the all inclusive basis, which I have never tried in Europe before. Paid extra for a sea view room and it was worth it as we were given a corner room which meant a double balcony with views of the sea and the hills behind, although the actual Torremolinos skyline leaves a lot to be desired. The room was a reasonable size with a fridge although the 3 euro a day charge for the safe was bit steep. It was kept impeccably clean by the maid, as was the bathroom which also had toiletries replenished daily. However the beds were hard and uncomfortable and the walls are paper thin, could hear them sneezing next door and the tv noise a nightmare.
The food was disappointing, plenty of it but not great taste and often lukewarm. We did discover that lunch was often better than dinner and not as crowded. The drinks were easily available, soft drinks and sparkling water, when we found it but the wine was very poor quality.The menu also seems to be only on a weekly basis. Starts well on Sunday but goes downhill from there.
The main bar was closed except for weekends and was kept dark and very cold. The cafe snack bar was awful, very bright, formica tables and chairs and not very big. Not really a place to sit after dinner. It was also spoilt by people who seemed determined to drink the place dry then be very noisy and the bar staff did nothing to stop it. Entertainment was non existent, sport on Spanish tv being the only option.
Weekends were difficult as the Spanish families come in so leave plenty of time to get served. We had to queue for breakfast on Sunday only to sit down and discover that everything was cleared away and turned off as it was 10am.
On the plus side the location is excellent. Close to the train and bus stations and near the lift to the beach(50 cents a time). The shopping centre is also on hand. The Thursday market in the town is good fun, but take a taxi, it's quite a long trek uphill. The staff at the hotel are friendly and very efficient.
Torremolinos doesn't really deserve its reputation. We visited most of the Costa towns and found it to be the most Spanish. If in Marbella and you like shopping visit Le Canada centre, no 3 bus from the station. Malaga is also worth a visit as it is a beautiful town with lots to do.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehotelstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

just got back from a four night break with two young children in January. Overall it was good value for money. There was the usual choice of food although the meat dishes weren't good, far too much salt added and very fatty. The derserts were ok but not great. the rooms were spacious and clean but the beds weren't that comfy! As far as the staff go, forget any chance of a smile or customer service (although i don't include the cleaners in this). the reception staff were particularly rude and unhelpful. Upon arrival we were told our room would be ready in 20 mins, an hour and a half later we finally got into our room. Although we complained that we were constantly being told another 10 mins we were met with a shrug! Not even an insincere apology. Apart from this the hotel is in a good central location for the train and shops and not too hard a walk to the beach down the steps.

Room Tip: Higher the number the better the view room, 8 floors first floor starting in the 100's, try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poorparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Having just returned from our holiday in this hotel, our first holiday in 30 years, definitely not impressed. The food left a lot to be desired, everything was either cold or luke warm, there was a good choice but nothing very appetising. All staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were quite spacious and kept very clean, cleaning staff could not be faulted they did a great job. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. Our main gripe was the lack of entertainment, a week solid of football on tv, only entertainment provided was at the weekend for 2 nights when the hotel was packed with Spanish guests and the entertainment was a Spanish duo that entertained them. Bar staff were polite and cheerful serving drinks until 11pm.We thought the hotel was quite well situated but dont think we would stay here again, seemed to be better hotels in area, definitely wouldnt agree that its a 4* Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room the balconies are much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Having read the revues i thought i would give it a go as it was supposed to be a 4 star hotel and i have only stayed in 3 stars all inclusive in spain (benidorm) all have been exellent so thought i wow 4 stars its got to be better.I wish i had not waisted my money.The room was clean and comfortable and thats the only good thing about this place.It says premium tv in your room all it was is bbc world news.The one bar that was open was like a navys canteen.The food was no better unless you like fish,lunch and dinner with chips.And the pudding/sweets was the same every day every meal rice pudding custard and a few cake things o ye fruit.The breakfast was eggs that hadnt been cooked bacon beans toms and jam n stuff. My advice to anyone is look for another Hotel.Im glad i only went for 4 days i was glad to leave and come home. DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: "Ask for a higher floor as the noise from the bar is load
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEZZA1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

our visit was 1st week in jan,had a good view of the sea & beach,sun till lunch time on our varanda,good variety of food,would prefer meat to be cooked a bit more,recieption, bar, dinning, and cleaning staff, were all very friendly and helpfull.would use hotel again as it was central to amenities.all inclusive is good value.

Room Tip: we were on the 5 floor,and had the sun from morning till lunch on varanda,our room was above the rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindariddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#20 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#50 of 71 in Torremolinos
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Property: Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing