We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so good all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 21 July 2012

booked hotel and flight seperate got to the hotel at 9.35pm exellent book in very polite lady at desk kept our baggage whilst we had dinner as the dining hall was closing at 10. nice clean and tidy hotel food ok , rooms ok very good location close to everything pool area closed untill 9.00 am so no very early towel runs to reserve sunloungers. no entertainment just a bit of ballroom dancing some nights.we stayed all inclusive one word describes this DONT ,it is the worst all inc ive ever stayed in as ive said the food was ok in the dinning room and the staff pleasant , snacks are terrible but the worst are the bar staff ignorant , miserable , dont smile at all . if your paying the beer comes in a nice pint glass if your all inc it comes in a small wine glass and your up and down all the time and made to feel like your intruding and feel like a second rate guest to paying customers , its stricttly 11 to 11 and out of that time you pay. if you stay at this hotel its good but dont go all inclusive simple.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brooklandsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,021 - 2,027 of 3,196 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

we had a great week here,think some people moan for the sake of it,,room great, food great,great drink,great location,great pool,yes slight lack of sunbeds but if that is going to spoil your holiday well thats a bit petty ,plenty become available during the day ..overall brilliant stay will return

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank curryman118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Myself and my partner spent 10 nights at the above hotel from 9th - 19th July 2012 half board. It was our first time to Torremolinos and we found that the hotel was good overall, albeit a few minor gripes, and we would definitely stay there again in the future.
On booking the holiday I requested a quiet room on a high floor (although this was not guaranteed). We were given a room on the 3rd floor which was adjacent to the 3 lifts. After about an hour I could hear people chatting as they were waiting for lifts etc and I wasn`t happy with this, (thinking long term and at night when people are coming back late from nights out, or rising with the larks for breakfast etc) so I spoke to a young lady at reception who was very polite and helpful, and we were moved to a room on the 7th floor. This was a much better location and I was happy with the outcome.

Location wise the hotel is very central and close to all amenities including the train station, bars (including La Nogolera which was 5 mins away), restaurants, shops and only a 15 -20 minute walk from the beaches.

The room was a bit dated but spotlessly clean and a decent size, with air con, (a god send, especially when the weather hit 40 degrees), a small fridge, a TV, circular table and 2 chairs with a balcony, and we had a mountain view which was very nice. The only issues I would say were that the matresses were hard and the pillows not supportive enough, even using 2 pillows. The TV worked fine but only 1 English channel and no way of changing the language via the remote.
No iron or tea/coffee making facilities, which would have been nice...and more plug sockets to charge things up!

The breakfasts were very good with a wide variety of foods, although we found the fruit juices of poor quality and a bit "tarty", and the cereals tasted stale!
The evening meals were varied but again the quality of the meats could have been a lot better, and where the chefs were cooking fresh meat, it`s not a good idea to split the one cooking hob with meats and fish!! Also the cheeses next to the salad area were very bland with no taste at all, and the desserts weren`t up to much either.
The restaurant staff were very polite and professional.

The hotel pool looked amazing, although we didnt spend any of our days there. It was always very busy, no free sunbeds and there was a "kids club" by the pool playing music...my idea of hell for relaxing during the day!

The pool on the roof was very nice too and the views from the top were stunning. We did use that pool, but again limited sunbeds. The gym is a small area next to the roof pool, which was dated and with no form of air con.

The hotel offers wi-fi, but is a rip off. It was 5 euros for 45 minutes or 9 euros for 24 hours. If you go ahead and take the 24 hours option please be aware that if there are 2 of you sharing a room, only one person at a time can connect to the wi-fi.
This is terrible really when a lot of the bars, shops and restaurants offer free wi-fi. Even other hotels in mainland Spain offer free wi-fi to customers staying at their hotels.

There are 4 lifts at the centre of the hotel but most of the time we waited ages for one of them to come. This was on a daily basis.

As we went out most nights, we didnt really see much of the evening entertainment, although on the one occasion we did,there were about 50 people, probably 50 years upwards, dancing away to a live duo and they all seemed to be enjoying themelves.

All in all a positive experience.

Not the friendliest staff n the world, but that can be worked on I suppose, and I would say that this is more a 2 - 3 star hotel rather than a 4.

Interesting fact...did you know... stars in Europe denote minimum standards for facilities and services provided; more stars = more amenities.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms would face the mountains. A room in a corridor will be quieter than near the lifts. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scalskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The hotel was clean tidy and well maintained. We had a few hiccups such as the safe which was rectified within the hour as requested. Their was a day where all our room keys had to be reset as they would not work, but we did not realize that keeping our card key next to our mobile phone wipes out the data, so that was more fault on our part.
The only downside is the beds by the downstairs pool and bar there is none really out of 800 or so guests there is only around 150 beds. My friends did attempt to address this with the manager. The manager stated that people go to the beach. So it was extremely difficult to get a sunbed downstairs by the pool and bar. The roof top pool was nice with a lovely view of the sea but no refreshments other than from a vending machine which you have to pay for which does not feel like all inclusive.
There were set times for all inclusive meals and refreshments alcohol was only served free until 11pm which was fine because we would go to the other bars outside the hotel and go to Benalmadena. I slept on a fold out bed which was comfortable and there was no noise so no disturbed sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Visited with 2 friends on an AI basis for 4 nights for our 40th birthday. We really wanted somewhere sunny and central to chill out all day. It was sunny and central alright but the stampede to get a sunbed was nothing short of ridiculous. The staff actually lock the guests in in the morning and so a crowd accumulates until they eventually decide to open the doors after which a rush for beds ensues. If you are looking for guaranteed no hassle sunbathing this hotel is not for you!
That aside, it's a very easy and cheap journey from Malaga airport and the hotel is a one minute walk from the station. The food is canteen style and plentiful but very bland. It did the job for a short stay but that's about as much as I could say about it. I concur with other reviews regarding the plastic cups however we asked the friendly pool bar man (Alberto) to fill up empty water bottles and he obliged.
The room was sufficient (once they had changed the kids camp bed that was put into our twin to make it a triple) apart from the hair dryer which was patched up with electrical tape. It wasn't up to much anyway so pack your own, girls if you brave this hotel.
We enjoyed our holiday due to the great weather, however the hotel was nothing other than adequate and certainly not a 4 star by our standards!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Oblolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We have just come back from a lovely break at the ceventes hotel we found our stay great, the hotel and rooms were lovely and the food was the best all inclusive i have ever had,plenty to choose from, we would definatly stay at this hotel again, the only thing i would say there was no entertainment in the evenings which we would have prefered, but there is a door at the back of the hotel that leads you straight out into the street where the night life is and there was always something going on. me and my fiance had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quiggers37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Well what can I say about the hotel Cervantes???? We booked a holiday for four people all inclusive to the Gran Hotel Cervantes for a friends 40th birthday celebration, we chose the hotel fr the location and area which was close to all amenities..... All was going well until we tried to check in at the Hotel Cervantes, this was when we were then told that it had been cancelled and they had double booked !!! Two hours later they advised that we had been transferred to another hotel which was 2km away from where we should of been staying, which we then had to use the complimentary shuttle bus offered by the other hotel......... so cant really comment on hotel cervantes apart from receptionist being rude and not bothered!!!!!! we were not happy

Room Tip: make sure you have got one!!!! and dont book through alpha rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
8  Thank jagger190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#32 of 71 in Torremolinos
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £48 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Onthebeach, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing