We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes Torremolinos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes Torremolinos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Just returned from 4 Nights at the Gran Hotel Cervantes with my friend for a girl break. We arrived on the Wed and left on the Sunday. The Wed night was very peaceful and the hotel is nice for what we paid for it. We paid £270 all inclusive including flights from Glasgow and i have paid more and had far less on previous holidays.

The bar area was quiet and it was easy to get a drink. You have a choice of local spiris, several cocktails which are not the best but OK and local wine and beer. The bar staff were friendly enough.

There was not too much noise on the Wed evening when we returned to the hotel at 2:30 am in the morning so we slept well. The hotel room faced the main square and was very spacious, this also caught the sun in the evening so it was nice to sit on the balcony in the evening.

From the Thurday to the Sat a lot of Hen , stag and birthday party groups arrived. Some of whom were loud and rude. Bars and resuarants were busy and you had to queue to be served. For the amount of people ,there was definately not enough staff on hand., some of the staff in the restaurant could not speak any English so i eventually gave up trying to get some information from them.

We could hear the groups arriving at the hotel in the early hours as they were rather noisy after their nights out.

I imagine in the heigh of the summer this hotel will be full of hen and stag parties due to it's location and cheap flights to the Costa Del Sol. This may suit depending on what you are looking for.

At the busy times you could not get a bed at the pool.

Beach is a 10 min walk away and very clean and nice, you can go down the stairs and browse the stalls and shops or walk down the main road. There isn't much to do in Torremolinos, few bars but that's about the extent of the nightlife.

Restaurants reasonably priced and drinks €5 approx for Local spirit with mixer €6 for a decent cocktail, €6 for cider so pretty much the same as most standard spanish resorts.

All in all we had a good time but not much to do in the resort and too may groups of hen/stag partioes.

Room Tip: Rooms facing square catch the sun in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillianhughes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    1,136
    750
    317
    193
See reviews for
613
1,186
188
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here 10th -17th may 2013 and was glad to come home, arrived Friday at 9:15pm and hurried to restaurant for food, it was terrible we put this down to the late hour and thought we would try again at breakfast, check in was short and no information was given on hotel, as we were tired we went straight to bed with out taking much notice of room, we were woken in the early hours of the morning by the unruley comings and goings of a stag party , screaming and running down corridors banging on doors. Could hear every conversation as well as other things in the neighbouring rooms. when we woke the next morning the real state of the room became apparent, the curtains were hanging off the rail, the walls were covered in dirt and brown stains and badly marked , we had a large crack down one corner, the paper was peeling off on another, the armchairs had brown stains the size of a tea plate on the seat and part of underside of the chair was on the floor. Had breakfast decided to go out and leave it for the maid to sort out the room, returned late in the evening went down to evening meal and the food was not to a very high standard, pork and fish cooked together on the same hot plate so cross contamination was on the food, it was cold and bland, ordered 2 drinks and had to pay cash , checked room after dinner no one had been up to sort out issues and been basic cleaning had not been completed, earlier hours of Sunday till 5am same unruley behaviour in corridors by drunken stag party as a result police were in hotel and banging on room doors, Sunday had breakfast but it was awful, went to hotel reception to complain about noise and room and purchased WiFi and safe had to pay cash again for WiFi as we couldn't, have bill on room, Monday went out and when we came back in the evening room still the same and again not cleaned, had evening meal and helped self to orange juice from machine in restaurant then the head waiter came and threw a bill across table and says you pay for that 2euro cash, when I asked why as I had the same juice at breakfast he replied all drinks have to be paid for not even tea or coffee was included with meal, after meal I complained at reception about his attitude and why had to pay and they said they didn't know , I also complained about room at same time, the staff were not interested and there seems to be a communication problem, Tuesday had enough so took photos and went to reception and asked for manager, showed him the photos and told him about previous issue in restaurant and brought him to room, he decided to move us but had attitude as if he was doing us a favour, we moved 4doors down and was told bell boy would help but no bell boy in hotel, our old room was then redecorated so manager knew it was not fit for purpose, he also asked why did we only bring to there attention on Tuesday, I advised we had complained before, low and behold stag and hen parties arrived again police were in hotel again due to drunken behaviour in bar, stag parties were throwing each other-in the pool fully clothed so pool area emptied due to the behaviour and staff took no action,
I am a 66 year old well travelled person and I stayed 2mins from here last year and enjoyed the area however hotel spoilt my holiday lack of management is appalling I am not the type to complain but my review needed to be said- see attached photos

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmyloo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a great area next to shops and cafe/bars. Hotel very clean, went half board was what you would expect not great but you could find something to eat, would go back again, if going to that area, the flamenco night near the hotel was very good, had a good holiday,

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amarie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh-on-sea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Arrived here for a 3 night break with my daughter. Was a little worried with the reviews, but can honestly say we enjoyed ourselves. We arrived by taxi costing 20 euros, although after finding out how close the station is i would only travel by train, which is only 1.70 euros and 10 mins.
On arrival we were swiftly given our room card and a blue cardboard booklet. Information which is not presented to you which is useful. Firstly you can hire towels for the loungers at a cost of 10 euro's deposit, which is returnable at the end of your stay, found this out on the last day - would save lots of space in the luggage! Second, take the blue cardboard with you at all mealtimes, it is classed as proof you are still a guest, wristbands are not always proof (was sent back on second night to get it) Breakfast on a sat morning is quiet first thing, with everybody hungover!
The hotel itself is spotless and modern, only the rooms are outdated, however, still ample space and are comfortable. Beds are are comfortable, slept soundly the entire break.
The reception are/lounge area is spacious, modern and comfortable. The place could do with music on around the area, none playing in the bar area either.
Food:
breakfast is continental, with also fried, scrambled and boiled eggs. Small sausages(either hotdog style or chorizo), baked beans, Bacon(streaky), tomatoes or mushrooms, potatoes shaped like churros. Plenty of cereals and yoghurts, croisants, pancakes, breads. also there is a hanging meats such a salami, chorizo, where you can cut as much as you like off!
Lunch and dinner are very similar, plenty to chose from,including paella, pizza, meats potatoes etc, put it this way, my daughter is fussy, but managed to find something every mealtime. Those that said the food was disgusting, i suggest you open your tastebuds, as the food was not just acceptable but delicious, and i can totally recommend the gazpacho soup, and the puddings were yummy. Snacks are poor, i have been to 2 star hotels with a better snack system, however, 3 meals per day is ample! I didn't use the bar much, as we are not drinkers, but coffee and juice is self serve, so we didn't experience any queuing.
We did not use the downstairs pool, as i prefer the quietness of the rooftop pool, plenty of beds, and it doesn't open until 10am, which means you can enjoy your breakfast and not rush. the sauna is next to the rooftop pool, open at 5pm. Also here there is an area to change and shower here, ideal if you have checked out of your room early.
Stag do's are a plenty here, i just recommend the hotel is best visited mon- thus, i arrived wd-sat, and noticed a difference come friday!
Train station is very easy to find, and the hotel is just on the edge of the shopping area. There is a lift costing 50cents each way, saving a very long walk to the beach.
Overall i will return as the hotel suits my needs, but would only stay mon-thurs. Any questions please message me.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor, better for a room facing the road, gives sea views but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank superlexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here for a week 10 to 17 May 2013. Clean hotel, varied food all inclusive option very good value for money. Entertainment very limited to Friday and Saturday nights to keyboard player, who plays mainly Spanish music for the hordes of local Spanish people who descend on the hotel taking most of the seats and the whole of the dance floor over.

This hotel appears to host many stag and hen parties, which unfortunately lower the tone of the place, which otherwise is a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nan2272252117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed with my girlfriend for a week. Had read all the reviews and I guess it was one of those - 'You have to witness it yourself rather than rely on some of the crap you read on here!'
The people complaining about the food are those I'd consider 'Un-adventurous.' There is plenty of food combos for all. From Salad, fish, meat, paellas, to 'kids food' - Burgers, chips, pizza, etc.... It seems the minority who didn't like the food on offer were the ones that didn't want to 'Open up a new world' and 'Push the boat out' and try the selections on offer, instead they opted to moan because they loaded their plates with Pizza and chips every night! Besides that, the food is well prepared, clean and readily available in a buffet style.
If you're not one to be up for breakfast (served between 7-10am) then don't get your hopes up at the "Continental Breakfast" Served from 11pm. It's not great and selection poor, with only a few croissants and slices of bread and cheese to choose from. The hotel lay on a themed night on serveral occasions during the week, with Saturday being Italian night, Tuesday - Asian night and Thurs - Mexican night. Parts of the buffet reflect the particular night in question. So again, people saying the food is the same every night are merely chatting from their 'behinds!'
So, the rest of the hotel is Big, Clean and Modern. Apart from some of the rooms being smaller than others, I can't honestly fault our stay but can understand where others disagree. The beds are hard! Not a problem for me but seems as though a lot of people complain about the same thing. The pillows are so small and thin they're almost non-existent, so we asked reception for extra and by the next morning we had them. There is a fridge in the room which is handy. We went in May so it wasn't too bad with how busy the hotel was but I can fully understand that during peak times the x2 swimming pools and bar service can be very limited.
All-in-all the hotel is great value for money (if on an all-inclusive) and is situated in a great location.
Also like how others expect the Ritz because it's classed as a 4**** Hotel. A 4**** Hotel only is given that rating if it has certain facilities and doesn't reflect the overall state of them. This Hotel falls into that category of having the desired facilities but not neccessarily in the standard they expect to use them.

Room Tip: High Floor with Sea View Recommended Rooms on the opposite side to the swimming pool as loud drinki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GarySolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Just returned from The Gran Hotel Cervantes. Stayed for a week in May 2013 and was very pleased with the hotel and food. We were on the all inclusive option and to be honest don't know how the hotel makes any money. Great value holiday close by all transport links and amenities For our money we had the following;

A lovely spacious clean room with a nice balcony and well appointed bathroom. The shower was particularly nice, powerful with plenty of hot water, very refreshing after a long day in the sun.

Rooms made up daily and clean towels provided if required. Asked for extra pillow and was given 2 extra - no problem. Bed on the firm side but good quality not at all saggy which only encourage bad backs. Beds lovely and clean.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner all very well presented. All food types catered for. Breakfast incl - cereals, muesli, fruit, breads, pastries, bacon, sausages, eggs, crepes, churros, beans, tomatoes, hams, cheese, yogurts, tea, coffee, fruit juice. Not sure if there would be anything else one would wish for their breakfast. They had it all covered.

Lunch incl (all made an appearance in different variations everyday) grilled fish and grilled meats to order, paella rice, pasta and sauce, vegetables, chips, fish in sauce, meats in sauce/gravy, sausages, burgers, escalopes, potatoes, cold meats, cheeses, cold salad selection, breads, soups, gazpacho, fruits, ice cream, cakes, custards, creamed rice,

Dinner incl - mainly as above but also included a lovely array of shellfish platters, beautiful king prawns and mussels.

At both Dinner and lunch you help yourself to soft drinks, San Miguel, sangria or wine by the glass or bottle (red, white and rose), unlimited.

It is true that during the day all inclusive drinks are served in plastic cups however this I imagine would be for safety purposes as children and adults walking around barefooted by the poolside. Better safe than sorry. After dinner drinks are served in glasses, there are queues at the bar though. It is also true that some of the bar staff are not very happy looking however, I suppose they have a thankless job serving drinks continually to some (not all) drunken british tourists.

The entertainment was limited to Friday and Saturday and was mainly older style dancing however this did not stop others joining in. I expect it will be more frequent in high season.

In my opinion a sense of humour is required on any holiday, some people really need to lighten up and stop looking for things to complain about, perhaps this is their idea of the perfect holiday, COMPLAINING about everything. The hotel staff cannot be responsible for tourists attitude problems but they put up with it on a daily basis. If you want british food my suggestion would be to stay in Britain. Oops - then it wouldn't be so cheap And you don't get the weather.

As for stags and hens - these stags and hens usually book off season when hotels are quieter and not busy with families. They too need to enjoy their holiday and pay the same money as everyone else. Personally I found they provided some funny moments of my holiday and livened the place up for a few days. I think they would expect most children to be in school or nursery at this time too. Despite this I do agree that there are acceptable and unacceptable levels of behaviour, and people of both sexes should respect that there are other people around them.

Room Tip: We had street room which provided some good people watching and got good sunshine around 4pm onwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#21 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Property: Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing