We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3* not 4* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Southend On Sea, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3* not 4* hotel”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in May on an all-inclusive package. The hotel reception/pool area is very nice and clean. The restaurant is large and I felt the food was of a good standard and there was much variety. If you go to try and get a full english breakfast (the english way) dont bother as it will never taste the same. However the meats/seafood and salad were lovely. All inclusive but can only get 2 drinks at a time. The vodka was extremely watered down and the San Francisco cocktail we were advised was non-alcoholic even though it was clearly marked on the menu in the cocktails section and not the non-alcoholic cocktails. Rooms was average but kept very clean by the maids. Fridge and air conditioning included. I found my bed extremely uncomfortable but my friends did not seem to have any problems. We arrived on a Monday and the hotel was very peaceful. However from Thursday onwards a lot of hen/stag parties arrived which caused a bit of chaos. When the hotel was busier during the day there was only one person serving at the bar for drinks. This meant people were queueing for 15/20minutes for their drink. We complained to the hotel manager who was not very helpful and told us to fill in a complaint form to head office as he had no extra staff to put on the bar. He was not apologetic at all. Not good. There is an outdoor and indoor pool which is good. The gym is ancient and dangerous do not use. Overall I would say this is 3* star hotel. I paid £300 for 5 nights all inclusive so I feel I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    1,183
    786
    338
    200
See reviews for
649
1,240
192
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The good points are the location, room was of a good size, and it was nice having a fridge. Overall cleanliness sheets towels was also good.

The minus points were the food was only average and now it caters for all inclusive there were a lot of all male/female parties with the resulting noise. There was also no entertainment and only one bar open yet the hotel appeared full.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Just returned from 4 Nights at the Gran Hotel Cervantes with my friend for a girl break. We arrived on the Wed and left on the Sunday. The Wed night was very peaceful and the hotel is nice for what we paid for it. We paid £270 all inclusive including flights from Glasgow and i have paid more and had far less on previous holidays.

The bar area was quiet and it was easy to get a drink. You have a choice of local spiris, several cocktails which are not the best but OK and local wine and beer. The bar staff were friendly enough.

There was not too much noise on the Wed evening when we returned to the hotel at 2:30 am in the morning so we slept well. The hotel room faced the main square and was very spacious, this also caught the sun in the evening so it was nice to sit on the balcony in the evening.

From the Thurday to the Sat a lot of Hen , stag and birthday party groups arrived. Some of whom were loud and rude. Bars and resuarants were busy and you had to queue to be served. For the amount of people ,there was definately not enough staff on hand., some of the staff in the restaurant could not speak any English so i eventually gave up trying to get some information from them.

We could hear the groups arriving at the hotel in the early hours as they were rather noisy after their nights out.

I imagine in the heigh of the summer this hotel will be full of hen and stag parties due to it's location and cheap flights to the Costa Del Sol. This may suit depending on what you are looking for.

At the busy times you could not get a bed at the pool.

Beach is a 10 min walk away and very clean and nice, you can go down the stairs and browse the stalls and shops or walk down the main road. There isn't much to do in Torremolinos, few bars but that's about the extent of the nightlife.

Restaurants reasonably priced and drinks €5 approx for Local spirit with mixer €6 for a decent cocktail, €6 for cider so pretty much the same as most standard spanish resorts.

All in all we had a good time but not much to do in the resort and too may groups of hen/stag partioes.

Room Tip: Rooms facing square catch the sun in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillianhughes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here 10th -17th may 2013 and was glad to come home, arrived Friday at 9:15pm and hurried to restaurant for food, it was terrible we put this down to the late hour and thought we would try again at breakfast, check in was short and no information was given on hotel, as we were tired we went straight to bed with out taking much notice of room, we were woken in the early hours of the morning by the unruley comings and goings of a stag party , screaming and running down corridors banging on doors. Could hear every conversation as well as other things in the neighbouring rooms. when we woke the next morning the real state of the room became apparent, the curtains were hanging off the rail, the walls were covered in dirt and brown stains and badly marked , we had a large crack down one corner, the paper was peeling off on another, the armchairs had brown stains the size of a tea plate on the seat and part of underside of the chair was on the floor. Had breakfast decided to go out and leave it for the maid to sort out the room, returned late in the evening went down to evening meal and the food was not to a very high standard, pork and fish cooked together on the same hot plate so cross contamination was on the food, it was cold and bland, ordered 2 drinks and had to pay cash , checked room after dinner no one had been up to sort out issues and been basic cleaning had not been completed, earlier hours of Sunday till 5am same unruley behaviour in corridors by drunken stag party as a result police were in hotel and banging on room doors, Sunday had breakfast but it was awful, went to hotel reception to complain about noise and room and purchased WiFi and safe had to pay cash again for WiFi as we couldn't, have bill on room, Monday went out and when we came back in the evening room still the same and again not cleaned, had evening meal and helped self to orange juice from machine in restaurant then the head waiter came and threw a bill across table and says you pay for that 2euro cash, when I asked why as I had the same juice at breakfast he replied all drinks have to be paid for not even tea or coffee was included with meal, after meal I complained at reception about his attitude and why had to pay and they said they didn't know , I also complained about room at same time, the staff were not interested and there seems to be a communication problem, Tuesday had enough so took photos and went to reception and asked for manager, showed him the photos and told him about previous issue in restaurant and brought him to room, he decided to move us but had attitude as if he was doing us a favour, we moved 4doors down and was told bell boy would help but no bell boy in hotel, our old room was then redecorated so manager knew it was not fit for purpose, he also asked why did we only bring to there attention on Tuesday, I advised we had complained before, low and behold stag and hen parties arrived again police were in hotel again due to drunken behaviour in bar, stag parties were throwing each other-in the pool fully clothed so pool area emptied due to the behaviour and staff took no action,
I am a 66 year old well travelled person and I stayed 2mins from here last year and enjoyed the area however hotel spoilt my holiday lack of management is appalling I am not the type to complain but my review needed to be said- see attached photos

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmyloo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a great area next to shops and cafe/bars. Hotel very clean, went half board was what you would expect not great but you could find something to eat, would go back again, if going to that area, the flamenco night near the hotel was very good, had a good holiday,

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amarie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh-on-sea
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Arrived here for a 3 night break with my daughter. Was a little worried with the reviews, but can honestly say we enjoyed ourselves. We arrived by taxi costing 20 euros, although after finding out how close the station is i would only travel by train, which is only 1.70 euros and 10 mins.
On arrival we were swiftly given our room card and a blue cardboard booklet. Information which is not presented to you which is useful. Firstly you can hire towels for the loungers at a cost of 10 euro's deposit, which is returnable at the end of your stay, found this out on the last day - would save lots of space in the luggage! Second, take the blue cardboard with you at all mealtimes, it is classed as proof you are still a guest, wristbands are not always proof (was sent back on second night to get it) Breakfast on a sat morning is quiet first thing, with everybody hungover!
The hotel itself is spotless and modern, only the rooms are outdated, however, still ample space and are comfortable. Beds are are comfortable, slept soundly the entire break.
The reception are/lounge area is spacious, modern and comfortable. The place could do with music on around the area, none playing in the bar area either.
Food:
breakfast is continental, with also fried, scrambled and boiled eggs. Small sausages(either hotdog style or chorizo), baked beans, Bacon(streaky), tomatoes or mushrooms, potatoes shaped like churros. Plenty of cereals and yoghurts, croisants, pancakes, breads. also there is a hanging meats such a salami, chorizo, where you can cut as much as you like off!
Lunch and dinner are very similar, plenty to chose from,including paella, pizza, meats potatoes etc, put it this way, my daughter is fussy, but managed to find something every mealtime. Those that said the food was disgusting, i suggest you open your tastebuds, as the food was not just acceptable but delicious, and i can totally recommend the gazpacho soup, and the puddings were yummy. Snacks are poor, i have been to 2 star hotels with a better snack system, however, 3 meals per day is ample! I didn't use the bar much, as we are not drinkers, but coffee and juice is self serve, so we didn't experience any queuing.
We did not use the downstairs pool, as i prefer the quietness of the rooftop pool, plenty of beds, and it doesn't open until 10am, which means you can enjoy your breakfast and not rush. the sauna is next to the rooftop pool, open at 5pm. Also here there is an area to change and shower here, ideal if you have checked out of your room early.
Stag do's are a plenty here, i just recommend the hotel is best visited mon- thus, i arrived wd-sat, and noticed a difference come friday!
Train station is very easy to find, and the hotel is just on the edge of the shopping area. There is a lift costing 50cents each way, saving a very long walk to the beach.
Overall i will return as the hotel suits my needs, but would only stay mon-thurs. Any questions please message me.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor, better for a room facing the road, gives sea views but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank superlexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here for a week 10 to 17 May 2013. Clean hotel, varied food all inclusive option very good value for money. Entertainment very limited to Friday and Saturday nights to keyboard player, who plays mainly Spanish music for the hordes of local Spanish people who descend on the hotel taking most of the seats and the whole of the dance floor over.

This hotel appears to host many stag and hen parties, which unfortunately lower the tone of the place, which otherwise is a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nan2272252117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,734 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#24 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#41 of 71 in Torremolinos
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Property: Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Onthebeach, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing