We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definately not a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“definately not a 4 star”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Were do I start. We went all inclusive but were lucky enough to be able to afford eating away from the hotel. Not 1 meal was was warm never mind hot! Even the staff knew food was not hot they transferred food to and from the hot plates without gloves or cloths In the main restaurant as well as the bar when they put out snacks.. We stayed for a week and was ready to leave after a couple of nights. This place is good for a couple of nights stop over maximum at a push. The staff were friendly enough and had as lot to cope with as usually they were on their own for long periods of time, especially the bar area when it needed 2 or 3 staff. the rooms were basic again not 4 star the wardrobe / draws for clothes the draws were broken well smashed !! Sorry definately a lot to improve dread to think what it would be like in the main holiday season .

Room Tip: Take a set of ear defenders the walls are like cardboard!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 741flossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    1,194
    794
    339
    202
See reviews for
671
1,248
192
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great position in the resort, close to the lift that brings you up from the beach. All inclusive is well worth it. The food caters for most people and is very enjoyable. The chefs cooking the fresh products in the restaurant were not efficient at all and this needs sorting out. The hotel is very clean with good facilities, although free wi fi in the reception rooms I would say is a must these days. Only BBC news Chanel for the British and very little entertainment but this didn't bother us. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms from O1 to 09 have free pool view and afternoon sun. Go for the top floor (8th) or first or se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I will try and give a sensible and balance review here as I booked 5 nights, only 3 days before leaving and stayed half board just before Easter.

Reception - OK but come across as a bit grumpy.

Rooms - Clean enough but no one told me that the air conditioning was set to heating for the whole hotel! It was too hot so we were sleeping with the balcony door open and at night we got all the noise from the street below - dogs barking, kids screaming and running about. Not very happy as I wanted a hotel with air conditioning! Second night we had 2 coach loads of football supporters singing at 4am - and then the next 2 nights we had a group next door who were partying to all hours - not much fun if you have a family trying to get to sleep!

Food - Many of the reviews here say the food is bad.This hotel is trying to cater for English, Germans, Spanish and French families - not an easy thing to pull off successfully but the staff tried hard to please and the buffet had plenty of choice. Also remember the Spanish tend to cook with more oil than we are used to and use fattier cuts of meat so it will be different to the UK. The fish a salads were good and no one in our party had any tummy trouble.

Outside - The whole family loved the pools. But as the hotel is on top of a hill, access to the beach is via a lift that you need to pay for to use. The spa was not operational during our visit.

Overall - Not a bad last minute break but it is probably not a place I would be returning to mainly as the resort attracts far to many badly behaved Brits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I booked this hotel because of the very good references it had as a 4 star hotel, also I wanted to return to mainland Spain after 15 years. Added to this we had along with us our 9 year old grandson and the hotel promised everything we needed. Firstly it's location is perfect right in the middle of the resort. The rooms and the cleaning were very good but it ends there. The indoor heated pool is just a bit bigger than the average living room and the water was very suspect able. The Gym could hold 5 people stuck in a corner. The main pool could never accommodate even half the hotel capacity. As was the amount of sun beds available. I was told that there was day and night entertainment, in the 10 days I was there it was an old guy singing over recorded music for 2 nights. There was no free Wi Fi anywhere and it cost 5€ a day to get it. There are 2 50 inch televisions in the main reception and bar both had spanish football on every night. There is no sky t.v available resulting in only 1 English Channel in your room " true movies". I asked at the bar what selection of beer they had and was told San Miguel. Then there was the food ! I was all inclusive and to be honest really did not expect to much but even that was absolute rubbish the children's menu was the same for lunch and dinner for 10 days, burger, hotdogs and some pasta shocking. The best that could be said of the food is that it had the standard of a bad works canteen very poor quality and selection. Twice I had chicken and pork not fully cooked. This hotel ticks the boxes for 4 star but it is certainly under false pretences. The main problem is it relies heavily on transient guests who are there for only a night or two. Busses arrive every night and are often away again the next morning. Resulting in the hotel not needing to pay to much attention to the points I have made. Lastly this makes this hotel a very cold place with no atmosphere at all .Had I known this in particular I would never have booked this place at all and certainly would not do so again. This hotel should never have received a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobbyAlloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Northampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had some business to attend to so we booked 5 days The room and the view was good the hotel was tidy and the staff were fine However we thought the food was poor we have stayed at 3* hotels that were much better The drinks (Lager)was served in small wine glasses and i didn't like that.The spirits were of poor quality. There was no entertainment of any sort at any time It is not a hotel we would return to We made a mistake

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
4 Thank NorthamptonGaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Although the hotel is perfectly situated for access to the shopping centre that is where the good points end. It is very basic and soulless. Reception was almost non-existent with priority given to phone calls. Room service calls were not even answered. We got charged for the use of the room safe and there was no minibar provided and no bath mat or kettle. We were very disappointed to learn, on our last day, that there was a rooftop pool for guests! We would have loved to have used it. There is a complete disregard for communication, a case in point being that we were left a message that was not passed on. Food was barely average in quality. When we returned our room cards at reception all we got was a surly grunt. We will not be returning and neither can we recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Keep your balcony doors shut at night to stop the cigarette smoke from the next room permeating your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hotel is located very well.
Shopping and open markets near by.
Food is average , Rooms are big , but not well maintained.
The Hotel is 4 star , but feels like a 3 star.
The Buffet is cheap and food is average.
AC was not operational and rooms weer very hot.

Room Tip: Take the sea facing rooms or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SubrotoVaradkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,836 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#41 of 71 in Torremolinos
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#50 of 71 in Torremolinos
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#25 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Property: Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing