We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just arrived back from our stay here and was completely disappointed with the service. We booked the hotel thinking it would be 4 star. There was always a wait at the reception desk and at the bar, the staff were quite miserable.
Our room was spacious, the air conditioning was great and our view was nice, the beds were uncomfortable and although they were made everyday they were not changed during our stay. The rooms looked clean but after looking further there was dust and I noticed that there were a lot of cockroaches around the hotel- I saw the 2 near the entrance, although it wasn't their fault I did feel a little apprehensive.
The food was terrible. On one day I had a kebab and was not sure what meat it was, it was very under cooked. I have been to a lot of food places on the costa del sol and it was by far the worst place I have ever ate.
The location was perfect, close to the beach, restaurants and shops. I would definately visit Torremolinos again but not the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    1,154
    762
    320
    194
See reviews for
623
1,201
191
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This was advertised to us as a 4 star hotel , well weren't we in for a shock. It is a 4 star building ,with 2 star service.Staff were all grumpy and abrupt apart from one super lovely smiley lady.

The rooms were actually good sizes and with air con. But we went all inclusive which was a huge mistake. The food was just abysmal quality or should I say lack of quality. Was very disappointed , as they couldn't even get the simple stuff right like a burger ...just under cooked.

If you wanted to use the safe it was 3 euro a day and for wifi a further 5 euros a day.

We requested a double bed and was given 2 singles and they were not comfortable.

We also requested a later check out as our flight was late evening and we were refused , even though it was clearly stated that we could for 20 euros. They claimed to not have sufficient staff to clean our room after our depart. ... just lazy!!!


The location is I can not deny amazing, as you've got everything at your fingertips :
Beach
Shops
Clubs
Restaurants!

This saved the holiday!

So as a result of this I won't be staying with this hotel again .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio R, Responsable de Calidad at Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We're sorry for all the inconvenient that you mention.
Why you didn't talk to me at the moment, because for example, the burguer could done at the show cooking as you prefer.
We have 7 days differrent menus. I don't think it is abysmal quality about later check-out, if the Hotel is booked we can not do late chek-out.
We are not lazy all of us we are doing our best for all of you (before insult, please consult).
If you want a late check-out, why you didn't reserve for one extra day. Of course you have to pay extra, because we have to pay extra hours, and there are more guest that wait for a room.

Regards,

Sergio Robles
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Definitely not 4 star . Rooms dated and shabby fridge was not working no water bottles available.Food repetitive and bland and boring long lines for simple things like toast and tea machines. All inclusive drinks a joke beer served in a half pint glass and limited to 2 per visit so always a queue at both bars with only 1 person serving. Will not be returning.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank petercharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Arrived at the hotel yesterday very apprehensive after reading other reviews, all I can say is don't believe all u read. Check in was quick and staff friendly and helpful. Reception, bar and restaurant spotless. Rooms are a little dated but if u want to Ritz go and stay there. Self service buffet stations for breakfast, lunch and dinner all food satisfactory and edible compared to what has been written in other reviews. There are snacks available in the bar also from 11am. Two plastic glasses of beer or whatever alcohol u want, a lot don't seem to be happy with this I have no complaints. Pool area is very clean, could do with a few more sunbeds but every place I've stayed has same problem. All in all I am very happy so far with my stay so if you are getting a good deal and have been put off by other reviews pass no remarks!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank evelynb925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio R, Quality Department at Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time in Torremolinos and we are proud that we was part of your plans.
The Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes is centrally located. Our staff always puts the guests first and full attention is at hand whenever needed.
All the staff want to thank you for your nice comments this is the one of the best reward we can get after all the effort we make daily.

Once again we thank you for your feedback. We hope you can recommend us to friends and family and look foward to welcoming you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sergio Robles
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

stayed here all inc for 16 nights end of may . Good points are its clean and good location .Don't go all inc , had breakfast 3 mornings , it may look good but its poor quality and the boiled and scrambled eggs are very underdone , the fruit juice from the machine tastes like very strong diluting juice,so didn't rush down for anymore breakfasts but the restaurant closes at 10am and the snack bar where the "late breakfast " is doesn't open till 11am so between 10 and 11 you cant even get a tea or coffee . lunch and dinner ....pork, pork and fish , also a lot of garlic in 90% of dishes ok if you like garlic I suppose but they even put it in brussel sprouts ! They played terrible violin music on and off and had a guy playing keyboard on Friday and sat nights. overall I thought it was noisy and boring , I like torremolinos and have stayed many times and picked this hotel because of the location but wont go back ,its a shame because it could be so much better ,have stayed in better 3 star hotels .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

just returned from a seven day break with my daughter and 2 year old grandson for some reason took ages to checkin ,but eventually got to or room which had 2 beds instead of 3 but decided not to complain as beds seemed big enough for 2 adults and a child .room was clean and was cleaned and beds made everyday,towels were paper thin had seen better days ,restaurant was quite chaotic at times waiting in queues with a toddler not recommended,food very repetitive no drinks with evening meal unless you bought them,never a four star more a three would stay again but only if self catering as i quite liked the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlejacksnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes Fife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I had a lovely time in torrimilinos The hotel was spotlessly clean food good and plentiful and very central location. Square at back of hotel had lots of restaurants and bars and then the beachfront was only ten minutes walk away with the same. Couldnt fault this hoiliday and excelelnt value only comment (a lot of hens and stags but we used roof top pool as quieter)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio R, Responsable de Calidad at Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for your comments.
I was very pleased to read how well you rate the Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes.
Without further ado, we’re looking fowards to see you soon in our hotel or in any other Hotel Chain.

Kind Regards.
Sergio Robles
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#21 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Property: Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing