We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We have just arrived back after 10 nights. Hotel very clean, staff cleaning all the time. Food better then sister hotel the Don Pablo. Staff very friendly and helpful. Entertainment shared with sister hotel very good. Unlike earlier poster got on well with germans at hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bbillclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    426
    160
    48
    24
See reviews for
279
440
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Travelled with a group of 10 on over 55 programme.
Location: Excellent. Ideal if you want to do nothing or are looking for shopping restaurants golf etc.
Hotel: Staff very friendly, Food v.g. entertainment was professional.
Stay was for 10 days & did not give enough time to see and experience all available facilities.
Warning...went to Gibraltar.. rip-off prices particularly conversion of Euros . Customs is a hastle. Not worth the effort.

TMCC..Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TMCC186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Have just returned from an 8 day stay in the Sol Don Pedro and was quite disappointed. My partner and I have stopped in this hotel twice previously and enjoyed it both times. However, this time we were given a ground floor room, which looked out onto an unused area behind the car park (room number 35). The view from our balcony was of a neglected strip of grass, littered with rubbish (presumably thrown over from higher floors), poorly fitting drain covers with accompanying smells and every evening, an army of cockroaches marching out of the drains and onto our balcony!
After complaining about this, the best the hotel could do was to leave a can of insect spray in our room, for us paying guests to deal with the infestation ourselves. We obliged for a few nights, but gave up after waking each morning to the sight of loads of dead/dying cockroaches littering our balcony. The maids did not even dispose of them; they were simply swept under the handrail and left there with the other rubbish.
The food was ok and we found something we liked most meal times, but we thought the overall quality was not as good as our previous stays.
The location of the hotel is quite good. It is only a few minutes walk to the beach and there are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops within a short distance.
The cleanliness of the rooms and public areas was good and the pools were clean and reasonably well maintained.
When we first stopped in this hotel, it was classified as a three star, but has now been upgraded to a four. In my opinion, there is no way that it compares to other four star accommodation I have stopped in although the cockroaches seem highly delighted.
Like other reviewers who have stopped at this hotel, my partner and I were subjected to the bad manners and arrogance of the many German guests, but I suppose this is par for the course in many hotels throughout the med. Unfortunately, you cannot legislate for the lack of common courtesy and rudeness.
I don't think after our latest experience that we will be stopping in this hotel again, which is a shame because with a little more effort, it could be ok.

Room Tip: At all costs, avoid rooms 31 to 37. Preferably try and get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dangerousb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
We are very distressed by your experience. I see that you had one of the least nice rooms in the hotel - it looks out onto a little lawn behind the entrance and car park. Most of the standard rooms have a much nicer outlook than this and I am sorry for your bad luck. The Pool View rooms are slightly more expensive but we can usually move anyone who is not happy with their room if they ask in Reception.
What concerns me is the way you claim to have been dealt with by the housekeeping/maintenance departments. I have never heard of a guests being given a can of spray and, although it is not unheard of to see a cockroach very occasionally (unfortunately they are native to the area) I have never heard of an infestation of these proportions either. If the description is accurate, I apologise most sincerely and beg you to understand that this is not at all typical. Thankfully we have not had any other reports of this nature.
Regarding the Don Pedro's 4 stars. The hotel underwent a renovation during the years 2008 and 2009 in which all the rooms were totally refurbished with plasma TV and minibars also installed. I am sure that there are "better" 4-star hotels, but there are also much more expensive ones! In the price bracket I would be hard-pushed to find one with the charm, beach-front location, variety of food,extensive gardens and 9 swimming pools that we have!
In the Don Pedro we have a very broad spectrum of nationalities - Spanish, British, Belgian. Polish and Canadian are the predominant ones, although we had guests from over 90 countries last year. In general none of the nationalities is overwhelming. I am sorry however if some people rubbed you up the wrong way!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Very good hotel, well situated with plenty to do, wonderful pools and gardens, food better some days than others but all tasty, however it was like being in GERMANY, plenty of Spanish and other European guests who were well mannered, but the germans as usual most have thought they owned the place. All rude, arrogant and ignorant. Will hopefully visit again and try to go when the germans are not about.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank themayorsminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My booking could not be found when I arrived and was allocated a standby room. It stank of cigarette smoke. Overlooked hotel yard and kept awake by banging below room all night. Was allocated to a "superior" room following day overlooking main pool area. Kept awake until after midnight every night because of deafening discos and other activities.
First breakfast offered a unique floorshow. A cockroach kept appearing from under a mobile cash desk. Had one evening meal which was dreadful. Overcooked food and resembled canteen food. Wondered about the kitchen hygiene because of cockroach.
Some of the reception staff were poor english speakers and as a consequence missed one bus tour because of poor directions. The bus tours collecting from the hotel actually picked up at a nearby bus stop.
Spend a week in these conditions and never again. The hotel is certainly not 4 stars.
Buyer beware!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank EnglandJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
It is a shame that your holiday had to begin with a booking problem. Unfortunately I do not know how you reserved in order to be able to follow up the error and see if it was a failure of our reservations department or an the agency that made the booking. As we were fully booked throughout September we would not have had a great choice of rooms as a back-up. I do note that you were upgraded to a superior room for the inconvenience however.
Sol hotels are know for their entertainment programmes and in summer we have an out-door show until 11.30 every night and live music indoors for dancing so it is true that there is noise in some parts of the complex. We don't have a disco however.
Our kitchen hygiene is rigorous with frequent inspections and we adhere to a strict HACCP programme, so please don't doubt the cleanliness of the food preparation.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed here for 5 days and can not fault the place.
Rooms very clean, Restaurant very good food, Pools wonderful, Location next to the beach and far enough away from the hustle of the centre of town. Lots of places to eat outside.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Check out FAT BIRD in the aviary, it sat in the seed feeder and would not move at all, even when you put your finger in the cage. It was happy to sit there day and night and just get fat on the seed.

Room Tip: We were in a room overlooking the road and there was no sun in the evening. A room overlooking the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gmtthws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Thank you. Come back soon!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Perfect. This is one of the most relaxing breaks i have ever had. (Even though I did run from Fuerngirola back to Torremolinos and yes it was hot!!)
No Screaming kids, Teenage tearaways or blaring music. Just Chill
Monday afternoon pure heaven round the pool at don pedro. Blues sky, warm sun, peace and Quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nextdoortoadingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Property: Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Address: Avenida Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pedro, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), together with the Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Marco forms part of the Don Hotels Complex. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, the new rooms (refurbish in 2016) are decorated in a modern and functional style with views over the mountain, gardens and swimming pool. Floating wood floors have been installed in all of them, they have new wardrobes, beds and bedclothes, curtains, mattresses, a giant 43-inch flat screen TV with satellite channels and air conditioning and heating systems. New windows have been installed with insulating glass to keep out noise. All of the rooms have free Wi-Fi, a Safe (*) and a minibar (On request) (*), desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years old). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Melia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing