We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Nearby Hotels
Sol Principe by Melia(Torremolinos)(Great Value!)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Tropicana(Torremolinos)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Costa del Sol(Torremolinos)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Natursun(Torremolinos)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$217
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,096)
Filter reviews
1,096 results
Traveller rating
350
480
187
54
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
480
187
54
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon hotelssuperior roomhalf boardbreakfast and dinnerpool viewacross the roadsister hotelplenty of choicereception staffhotel groundslovely hoteldining roomfamily roomnight breakgreat holidaybuilding workshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 1,096 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The room was as you'd expect for a 4 star. One critisism is that there is no control of the air con (that we could find), it just comes on when the temp reaches a certain point. This can be quite annoying at night!.
Even though we didn't have a pool view from the balcony, the view was of the front of the hotel which was fountains and greenery- very nice!
This hotel is part of 3 which are all situated together. This meant we could use the facilites of the other 2 hotels. On exploring, we found an outside jacuzzi which was very relaxing. It does say in summer that guests are permitted 10 mins, but in winter as there was no one else there we made full use of it. An indoor swimming pool is situated directly below the jacuzzi, this again was very quiet and we were able to enjoy peacefully.
The location of the hotel is perfect. The hotel is directly on the beach, when lounging on the sun terrace there is a lovely view of the beach. There are also many places to eat, drink and a scattering of shops in the direct area left of the hotel. To the right, this takes you along the beach to the main area of shops and also to the marina. Its about a 20 minute stroll.
For breakfast, there is the usual variety and you have a choice of 2 restuarants both offering the same.
In the bar, there is an open fire which was lit a couple of times during our stay. This is lovely, HOWEVER as there is no where for the smoke to go it disperses all round the hotel! We did therefore smell like we had been to a bonfire!
If we were to visit torremolinos again, we would probably stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The hotel has priviledge rooms which overlook the swimming pool- ask for one of these if that is the view you want.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonyaC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for your thorough reveiw SonyaC81.
It is great to hear that your anniversary was a success. I hope that you let us know about the celebration as we always make sure that there is a little surprise for you.
I appreciate the comment regarding the smoke in the lounge. We have experienced a problem with the chimney and are currently working to resolve it with a chimney-top ventilator.
Regarding the heating/air-conditioning: It is possible to obtain a remote control in Reception paying a refundable deposit .
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed 5 nights at the Don Pedro over the New Year. From the sea front you approach the hotel up a drive and then through an archway into the immaculate gardens filled with Palm and Yuka trees.It is hard to believe this area exists from the busy
road. We had a 'superior' room which had two single beds,excellent shower and four English tv channels. The room was
cleaned and towels changed daily - excellently. The variation of food at breakfast and dinner cannot be faulted. The staff are
courteous and professional.
Overall I do not have any negative comments about this hotel.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Many thanks Nigel G. I hopwe that we see you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Originally booked for the Don Paquito over the Xmas period but disappointingly were relocated to the Sol Don Pedro by the booking agency as the original hotel decided to close over the holiday.
Sol Don complex has lots to offer - but everything seems a little dated and tired.
Room was small but housekeeping and standard of cleaning was brilliant.
It was quite cold in the room and we had to ask for extra blankets - we were overlooking the front of the hotel and so got no sunshine during the day......pool view on the other side of the corridor would have been much better
Breakfast was good, loads of choice.....fresly cooked omlettes to order, lovely fesh fruit, cava etc.
Dinners were very disappointing - meat cuts were cheap, chewy and not good, salads were boring and deserts very mediocre.
Restaurant staff and reception could do with a refresher course in customer services.....we normally stay in the Riu chain who have really top quality customer service.....this chain could learn a lot from them.
The New Year Gala Dinner had a charge of well over 100 euros each....we gave it a miss.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

After previously stayed at The Sol Principe about a dozen times and not having been back to the Playamar area for 4 years we had a change of hotel as it was a lot cheaper but the same rating(4*) It is only a 10 min. taxi ride from the airport. The hotel is part of a complex of 3 sister hotels (Don Pablo and Don Marco) so all facilities are shared. There are loads of swimming pools and a bowling green and organised activities. The Don Marco is the most expensive but it uses the Don Pedro restaurant. My advice would be to get a 'superior' room (pool view) The food was really good and the location is near the beach and a 10 mins walk to the hustle and bustle of the town centre. I didn't stay in the hotel on a night so I can't comment on the entertainment but it will be typical hotel stuff - not my cup of tea. I have booked to go back in May and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a pool view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodstock5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

After reading some reviews we were a little apprehensive. This was put to rest the moment we arrived, which was about 1030 am on Thursday 29 November 2012. The lady on reception welcomed us and said our room was ready. When she handed back my wife`s passport she wished her a happy birthday, we had not told her, she must have spotted it herself. We went out to explore and when we arrived back in the room a few hours later there was a bottle of Champagne and fresh fruit waiting for us. Although we only stayed three nights all the staff, reception, bar, restaurant and cleaners were very friendly and very helpful. Yes we would stay again no problem.

Room Tip: A high floor facing the pool.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RicRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews