We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location and a lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Positive.
Very impressive lobby and downstairs area in old style. The fact you can also get to hotels Pedro and Marco by inside corridors leaves a masive space with little reading rooms, bars, computer rooms etc. Bedrooms are average size and average in most ways but kept very well by friendly efficient staff. We were on the sunny side and it was nice - don't know what the other side is like. Good entertainment at night in two centers. Plenty of live music for dancing and sometimes 'shows' in one centre. We especially enjoyed the Flaminco show - away above the average standard for hotel entertainment. We did not play bowles but seemed a major draw for many. In November they just used one dining room - a large one seating 300/400. Meals in buffet style. A bit daunting on first night but we soon settled in to where to find things. And there was plenty to find. Some wonderful food. I especially enjoyed the fish selection but there was plenty of pork, chicken turkey and beef. Good selection for breakfast also.
Negative.
Swimming was a problem. I know it was November but the outdoor pools seemed very small for the number in hotels and all unusable in winter. Indoor pool is a small circular one with half over 2 m deep and the other half about 1.7 m. Only way to find the division was trial and error - not wise for non swimmer. Why do we need 2m in such a small area. Also some swim around the circle some diagonaly accross just like figure of 8 in stock car racing -' he who dares wins'. There are no other facilities in pool room. Jacuzzi was outside but not working.
Then the SPA - this is terrible - the worst I have ever seen = staff horrible.

Room Tip: Sunny side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2frank2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear and,
Thank you for choosing the Sol Don Pedro for your holidays. I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotels and the complex so much. I do hope that you come back again soon.
A quick note about the pools - there are actually nine pools in total in the complex, all of them with sunbathing areas around them. I can honestly say that even in high summer there is always enough pool and sunbathing space. There are also 2 jacuzzis, one indoor and one outdoor. I am sorry to hear that one of them was not working - it would only have been briefly because the records of the water samples taken three times a day do not show either of them being out of order for a complete day.
I am sorry to hear about the spa. This facility is not actually run by the hotel but the service is a complement to our guests and I would hope that everyone would be treated well. I will have words with the management. Thank you for alerting me to this.
I hope that we see you again in the future. Thank you so much for your review.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed for two weeks in the sol don Pedro hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful but Pedro ( the one with the glasses and the white shirt) was suuuuper !!! Never seen before someone so friendly and working so hard ! Everything in the hotel was clean and dinner and breakfast delicious. The hotel is close by the beach ,and city centre with many shops and tapasbars and for us is sol don Pedro the best choice when we go to Torremolinos. We felt at home and we will go back !!

Room Tip: Room with a view on the swimming pool and sea was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Anita G,
Thank you for choosing the Don Pedro and thank you for writing you review. I will be sure to let Pedro know how much you appreciated his efforts and friendliness.
We look forward to your return in the future and will make sure that you keep enjoying the Don Pedro.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A surprisingly good hotel 2 other hotels in this complex.You can use all hotel fascilites inc a choice of happy hours in the various bars.We stayed 4 nights but only had breakfast and dinner last day both good choice and good value.But with a lot of good tapas in the area only so much you can eat.Room on third floor not huge but clean and sea view got to agree about very hard beds.Staff were fantastic.Teresas bar near pedro front entrance is worth a drink in the sun and mark was very welcoming. A good clean hotel with great staff.The lift up to the town is up steps in front of ship inn.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking pool but may be noisy in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rutland-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review rutland-7. I am so glad that you enjoyed the Sol Don Hotels complex. I hope that we see you again in the future in one of the three hotels in the complex.
Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed for one night after arriving on a late flight into Malaga, arrived at hotel one hour after actual landing. Staff very helpful and friendly, room clean and everything worked well. Breakfast very busy but well organised, and good choice of food, and all fresh.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Patrick Anthony M,
Thank you very much for your repeat custom. We are so happy that you continue to be so content at the Don Pedro and we will do everything we can to ensure that you are happy coming back for many years.
We really appreciate you taking the time to write up your report. We look forward to May 2014!
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Best hotel in Spain. First class hotel in all aspects. We honestly could not find
fault with any aspect of the Sol Don Pedro. Our only regret is that we could not
stay longer! Third occasion staying here, and we are booked to stay again in May of 2014. No more surfing for other accomodation in Torremilinos. This is the real deal!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Patrick Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Peter H,
We can't wait to have you back! Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Don Pedro and to tell everyone how much you enjoyed the hotel, the service, the location and your holiday in general.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was our second stay at Don Pedro having been there for last New Year. We had booked a pool room and asked for a high floor. Manolo gave us room 485 which he said had good view of the sea ( which it did) but he said we could move to another room on same floor where the view was not quite so good but had a little more sun. We stayed where we were but we were impressed we got a choice. Room and balcony a bit old fashioned but as good as most other hotels with all the usual facilities. There are two restaurants you can use and again it is good to have a choice and we thought the variety of food was fantastic. Most nights we felt spoilt for choice. Plenty of different bars to have a drink with happy hours at different ones between 5 and 7 ( worked out well for football on Sunday in large Tv area). Drinks are a little expensive as are most hotels but there are some cheaper bars nearby. We love the location as you are straight on to a lovely promenade which goes for miles in each direction. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Peter H,
Thanks for coming back to the Sol Don Pedro. I am glad to see that we didn't disappoint.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just back from a lovely 4 days in this hotel. We had a ground floor room overlooking one of the many pools. The room was ideal and included a fridge ideal for drinks as the only down side was the cost of drinks a jug of Sangria averaged at 7 euros in the many bars around but over 15 euros in the complex. The buffet breakfast was varied and even had bucks fizz. The complex is large and has three hotels on site all interconnected allowing guests to use the facilities and entertainment. The entrrtainment board is in reception and there is something going on all day. We found a lovely little adults only pool area ideal sun trap

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindadennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Lindadennis,
First of all, thanks for choosing the Sol Don Pedro for your break. I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel, facilities and entertainment team so much. It is really satisfying to us to see that our guests make the most of the variety of options that are available in the complex: one minute taking part in the entertainment programme and the next finding a quiet corner away from the crowd for some R&R.
Thanks for writing up your experience of Trip Advisor.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
0 mi away
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Sol Don Marco by Melia
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
2 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pedro by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro by Melia

Address: Avenida Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £54 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pedro, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), together with the Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Marco forms part of the Don Hotels Complex. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, the new rooms (refurbish in 2016) are decorated in a modern and functional style with views over the mountain, gardens and swimming pool. Floating wood floors have been installed in all of them, they have new wardrobes, beds and bedclothes, curtains, mattresses, a giant 43-inch flat screen TV with satellite channels and air conditioning and heating systems. New windows have been installed with insulating glass to keep out noise. All of the rooms have free Wi-Fi, a Safe (*) and a minibar (On request) (*), desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years old). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Don Pedro by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing