We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I loved my stay at this hotel and if I return to Spain, Sol Don Pedro or another of the Melia brand will be my first choice:

Location - less than 5 minutes walk to the beach through the hotel gardens
Rooms - very good size, comfortable beds, excellent walk in shower with plenty of hot water, balcony facing the pool, (free!) TV, lots of wardrobe space, fridge, complimentary water and dried fruits
Breakfast and Dinner - brilliant variety of food and there didn't seem to be any danger of the food running out even though meal times were busy. The waiters were extremely friendly and efficient - on our last night all the ladies were presented with a single red rose.
Hotel Staff - most very friendly and helpful and more than made up for the ones who weren't

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Michelle...,
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I really hope that you do come to Spain again soon and stay again. Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed yourself.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    427
    160
    48
    24
See reviews for
279
441
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for four nights at the beginning of April, first we were checked into a tiny double over looking some air conditioners, so we asked to be moved which the management did without any problem at all, lovely room over looking the pool, which was spotlessly clean.
Reception staff always very helpful, so were the restaurant staff. Only real complaint was the food was bland to our tastes, but there was also plenty of choice so you could always find something.
Breakfast a bit of a let down, but once again you could always find something to eat.
Good location, nice grounds, cant really fault it, except it did rain for two days, not the hotels fault of course.
Didn't really see the entertainment as it was a bit dated for us, but lots of people seamed to be having a good time.

Well done to all the staff and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sandy W,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at the Sol Don Pedro. I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and that you were well looked after by our staff. I am sorry that the restaurant wasn't entirely to your taste although I am glad to see that the grand variety meant that you always found something to enjoy.
I hope that we may see you in Torremolinos again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

very nice hotel , food good no half bottles of wine even at the start of service


staff keen to sell more expensive bigger bottles. good location ,on the beach


would go back again.manager made a phone call for us to our return pick up agent which was


very good of him .entertainment was average but typical of those large hotels..the haoppy


hour was great we could try out the expensive coctails for less



jon and Maura mullingar

Room Tip: pay the extra for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear siddykins,
Many thanks for writing in your report about you recent stay at the Don Pedro. I appreciate your excellent rating and am really happy that your trip was such a success. I do hope that you will be back in the future. If you return please note that although we don't serve half bottles of wine, we offer to keep them in the wine cooler from meal to meal so you aren't obliged to drink it all in one go! It actually works out more economical for the guests.
Again, thanks for writing in and for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerlo, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We've been here for a week , and i can't say anything bad about the hotel . The food was very good , very good kitchen. All the people are friendly and nice. People who write that this isn't a good hotel , i can't understand. So we booked now another holiday in may in sol don pablo. It's the same building , so to end this review i can only say , one of the best hotels i ever been, i will come here a few times in the year . Very shure it's simply the best !!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kristofg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear kristofg71 ,
Thank you very much for writing your review. I am so glad that you have had a good time at Sol Don Pedro and that you are coming back in May to stay in the Pablo. We look forward to seeing you then.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here on an accommodation only basis so can't speak for the food. Got a great deal through bookings.com and although we were a party of 3 the party of 4 room worked out much cheaper. It worked out around £30 a night and we got the biggest room in the hotel, practically an apartment...the second room was huge and attached to a good sized double room. Plenty storage space, all in all v.happy.

Visited early Oct and many of the beach bars were still open which was a nice surprise. The only down side is that the hotel is pretty fiddly to work your way round..our room was the biggest but also the furthest away involing a good walk then up on one lift, followed by another walk and some steps down to our room. Also the 3 connected hotels could benefit from some better signage as it's quite easy to get lost in the maze. Gardens are very well kept as are the pool areas. Indoor pool was clean and decent temperature but surrounding area could be spruced up. Didn't use the entertainment much but what we did see whilst passingwas pretty decent, something on every night and also activities during the day (bowling etc). Very clean room, I liked the fact that not only the sheets were changed frequently but also the bed runners which are often not changed in some hotels for I dread to think how long! Overall good stay, recommended...but for those of reduced mobility, ask for a room near reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fizzyretro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear fizzyretr, etc.
Thank you for your review of the Don Pedro. I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel desite having to work out how to get around! Room 319 used to be the housekeeper's room many years ago and is somewhat hidden away. Most people feel that it is worth the effort though because of all the extra space.
I do take your point about signage and we will certainly look into improving it at your recommendation.
You mention the area around the indoor swimming pool. We are just starting works to entirely renew the Don Pablo area swimming pools and sunbathing terraces so next time you come (I hope) you will find this all much more attractive.
Thank you for choosing the Sol Don Pedro and thanks again for your review.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We used this hotel for a stop over on route in December (arrived17:00hrs). Room and hotel appeared clean, although dated (bed was large & really comfortable). Would have liked to make use of the indoor pool / jacuzzi after a long days drive, however, by the time we queued at check in (25 mins.), checked out the room and wandered through the gardens to find the pool area, it was about to close (18:00hrs.). Instead went for a stroll on the understandably deserted seafront and surrounding area with a large number of recommend restaurants closed until March and the acceptable remainder only serving lunch due to the time of year. Hence, we returned to the hotel for the evening meal (only one restaurant open in the complex) which consisted of a large amount of very poor quality tasteless food (21€ per person & Wine). Breakfast was OK, although we were surprised to find the large dish of boiled carrots from the previous evening amongst the breakfast buffet items - very odd.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bravefoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Bravefood, etc.
Than you for writing your review of the Sol Don Pedro on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were in many respects disappointed with your stay and with the lack of restaurants on the promenade in low season. Many of the restaurants serving in winter are in the town centre which is a 10-minute walk away.
I am sorry to see that you were not pleased with the dining in the restaurant either. In general our guests are quite complimentary about the buffet but perhaps the night you were with us the food was not its best. I must point out that there is a vegetable on the buffet every morning and it is never left over from the evening before! We cater to many nationalities and tastes and the morning vegetable is there because it is requested!
I am glad at least that you enjoyed the bed.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

As regular visitors to the Sol Don Pedro Hotel over the last 7 years my husband and I both found the food at breakfast and dinner to be exceptional during our weekend visit and we both commented that we wished our stay had been longer. This was a fantastic weekend especially as our bedroom request had been met and the weather was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
4 Thank Cherry48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Cherry48,
How wonderful to hear that you have come to the Don Pedro some many times. Thank you for your repeat custom and for taking time to write about your experience on Trip Advisor.
I am really glad that after so many visits we are able to surprise you with the quality of the food and that we continue to look after you so well.
We look forward to many more visits.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Property: Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Address: Avenida Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pedro, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), together with the Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Marco forms part of the Don Hotels Complex. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, the new rooms (refurbish in 2016) are decorated in a modern and functional style with views over the mountain, gardens and swimming pool. Floating wood floors have been installed in all of them, they have new wardrobes, beds and bedclothes, curtains, mattresses, a giant 43-inch flat screen TV with satellite channels and air conditioning and heating systems. New windows have been installed with insulating glass to keep out noise. All of the rooms have free Wi-Fi, a Safe (*) and a minibar (On request) (*), desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years old). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Melia, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing