We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big hotel”
Review of Sol Don Pedro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Pedro
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice big hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last june, breakfast buffet was amazing, beach on the doorstep, has loads of really good pools, walk up the stairs to the town centre is well wort it, room was spotless, the spa is value for money, the massage was quite good too.

Day trip to gibraltar is highly recommended

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer2790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    454
    176
    50
    24
See reviews for
308
469
47
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at Don Pedro for a 3 night break last week. It was a cheap deal(cheaper than a break in England). We arrived at the hotel about 9.30 pm to be greeted by a warm, friendly receptionist. She actually had a conversation with us rather than a normal quick check in, as in some hotels. She told us about her stay at Birmingham uni, and we had a lovely chat( as my son goes to same uni in September). We had a lovely ground floor room, small but perfect for the 3 nights we would be there. It was spotless and hotel was undergoing decoration as we were there.
The location is fantastic, the beach straight across the road. You have the use of the 3 hotels in the group. So there are plenty of pools to choose from.
Although we didn't have kids, there seemed to be a lot going on with the animation team, so this would be ideal for families.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants within a short stroll. Don't miss the turning up the hill with plenty of stalls which take you up to the main town( we almost missed it). There is loads to see up there.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to any one. We were really impressed. All staff were very pleasant, breakfast really good.
Also only 10 mins from airport so can just jump in a taxi, under 20 euros.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neesycoop01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear neesycoop01,
Thank you for taking time to review the Sol Don Pedro. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and I will be sure to tell Maria how much your chat about Birmingham Uni meant to you!
There is lots to do in the area so i am glad that you made it up into the town. There is also a lift that takes you up to the main shopping streets (50 cents each way) for those who don't feel up to walking up the stairs although as you mentioned, all the little stalls on the way up make it quite fun.
I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had one week early may on half board food excellent plenty of choice very clean and helpful staff and superb location can't wait to go back stayed back in 2011 and hotel is just as good would recommend for families pools are never really full and so much choice

Room Tip: Pool view ask for one catches the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulpwxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments paulpwxm.
I hope that we see you soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just home from a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff work amazing hard and the mini-club members manage to keep smiling all day long. Our kids didn't go to the mini club during the day but loved the mini disco and some of the shows in the evening but they do run very late (midnight).
There are multiple pools to choose from and there was no issue with sun beds.
The food was great and they had no issue cooking gluten free products (we had with us) for our son. There was plenty of choice as well.
It's straight across the road from the beach and a short walk (be it uphill) to town.
€20 taxi from the airport.

Room Tip: we joined the melia rewards groups and got a discount on the stay. Look at the better rooms if trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Rob O,
Many thanks for choosing the Sol Don Pedro and for taking the time to write your review.
It looks like you all had a good time which is very gratifying to us.
As you mention, we have a quite comprehensive line of gluten-free products (cereals, pastas, breads etc...) but will always do what we can to cater for any personal dietary requirements.
I hope that next time you visit your children might join in the Mini Club. The kids all have a great time mixing with other children of different nationalities playing games, doing art projects and putting on shows. At the moment they are participating in The Lion King.
Many thanks again for your review and I hope that we can welcome you all again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel was nice and peacefull. Location very good. Most we liked to day program, yoga and spinning witch are free. And there was nice evening program too, like spanish night.
Many pools (6) was nice thing too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank JannePetteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words JannePetteri.
I am glad that you enjoyed the activities programme so much. Our yoga has been very much appreciated in the past and this year the spinning classes are so popular that we have put on more classes.
I hope that you will visit again in the future to join in the sports.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is a return visit to the complex having loved the Sol Don Marco where I visited in May.

This hotel is definitely a more economical choice in terms of price than the Don Marco. You have all the same access to all the facilities in the complex such as pools, restaurants,bars etc.

However the rooms are small. The TV is on the wall as no room on the dressing table. There is no remote control for the aircon in the room. The technician came to set it with the remote control at the desired temperature which you could only turn off by the breaker in the fusebox. I would suggest that in future remote controls are left in the room. The walls are thin and showers, TV can be heard from next door and above. This is the height of the season and it is a busy, noisy hotel with people coming and going all hours.

The reception staff are fantastic, very friendly and helpful.

Overall this hotel is good value for money and does what it says on the tin.

I will definitely be rebooking again for next year as it's fantastic - the location and the facilities at the complex. However I will be paying the extra and going back to Sol Don Marco as I loved it there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Sparkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear 12Sparkly,
Thank you for choosing to return to the Sol Don Hotels complex. Your review is very helpful and highlights that there are small differences between the three hotels in the Complex. The Sol Don Pedro is more economical and, as you say, the guests can still take advantage of all the same facilities and services (such as nine pools, extensive sub-tropical gardens, a big entertainment programme). On the other hand the quality and size of the room in Don Pablo and Don Marco justifies the increased price. It means that there are options for guests with different budgets.
We will look forward to welcoming you back to either of the Dons Pedro, Pablo or Marco.
Thanks for your review.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

It is the 3rd time I have stayed in this hotel, which we have enjoyed every visit. Although this year I have noticed that there is a more repetitive cycle of meals on an evening time and I only stayed the week. The soup was the same every night with a substitute was always an acquired taste - such as Gaspacho, Asparagus.
The hotel is still an overall good hotel which I plan to go back to, I just hope this problem will be solved!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank woodstock5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear woodstock5,
Thank you for continuing to put your faith in us at the Sol Don Pedro. I am glad that you keep enjoying it.
I have taken your comments about the restaurant into consideration. We are always trying to adapt our menu to our guests' tastes keeping dishes that work well whilst trying to keep things fresh for our many repeat customers. We will be putting two soups every evening as of now. There will be a cream soup (which, although different every night is generally green or brown!) and a daily special soup.
I hope that on a future visit you appreciate any changes that we make.
Thanks again.
Kind regards,
jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,397 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro

Property: Sol Don Pedro
Address: Avenida Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pedro, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), together with the Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Marco forms part of the Don Hotels Complex. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, the new rooms (refurbish in 2016) are decorated in a modern and functional style with views over the mountain, gardens and swimming pool. Floating wood floors have been installed in all of them, they have new wardrobes, beds and bedclothes, curtains, mattresses, a giant 43-inch flat screen TV with satellite channels and air conditioning and heating systems. New windows have been installed with insulating glass to keep out noise. All of the rooms have free Wi-Fi, a Safe (*) and a minibar (On request) (*), desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years old). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Don Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing