We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty accurate description as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pretty accurate description as advertised”
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We just spent a week at Sol Don Pedro, we didn't pick the hotel specifically, but the package price of the trip was way too cheap to pass up.
As many of the reviews mention it does cater to an older crowd- however that is really helpful if you don't want to be awoken in the middle of the night, so there is an upside to everything.
The hotel it self is a bit of a throw back to the 70's, but it's clean, and comfortable, and more than a solid tourist class hotel. The rooms were quaint- and everything in the room was comfortable- but not lux, (if you're on honeymoon this place may not be for you).
We didn't really have any negative experiences- but we didn't really have any expectations either, (if you have read any of our past reviews you sort of get the idea that we grab a centrally located hotel and then tour the area a lot, using the hotel just as a place to sleep).
The staff were friendly enough, they had even emailed day trip ideas to us prior to our arrival. There were no hidden costs regarding the room, and check in and out were pretty routine.
The buffets in the morning and evening were solid, but not gourmet. They had everything from pizza to paella, pretty much standard fair. More than filling- but far from the best food we've ever eaten.
The surrounding area was covered in tourist stores, and beach eateries- everything was well within walking distance- and the beach was a quick minute walk away.
The bottom line is that it's a good place to base your trips from, to the southern part of Spain, Morocco and else where. If you're not staying tied to the resort the entire week this is a good deal- but if you're a resort junkie- you could probably do better.
AJ

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrenilineJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    427
    160
    48
    24
See reviews for
279
441
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We have just got back from a short stay (3 nights) at The Sol Dan Pablo.
On arrival we found the staff quite helpful.
We eventually found our room on the fourth floor overlooking apartments opposite, the view wasnt great but as we were only staying 3 nights we werent too bothered. Room was clean although dated.
Hotel is very big, we were directed to the restauraunt down a flight of stairs from reception.
The main dining area is very big, we were shown to our seats and then went for our evening meal buffet style.
Unfortunately the food was not to our taste, we have travelled far and wide so were not too concerned about the different options available.
Sorry but the food was bland, very bloody steaks, greasy chips, not alot of variety and very mismatched meals available, people were mixing all sorts of foods, i.e. boiled eggs, salad, chicken legs and brocolli.!
We decided to try out breakfast the next day, just in case we were being alittle fussy.
Again not to our taste, boiled sausages, fatty bacon, beans were okay! and yes once again brocolli!!
We decided to eat out at the local restaurants, not English but the local spanish with lots of different options!
Although the hotel is fairly clean, we spent more money than we had hoped eating out.
We found the hotel to be more suited to the over 60s whom seemed to be staying for two weeks or more!
Not recommended for a romantic break, family holiday or quick last minute break.
Try Shenanigans for a few drinks and Tudor Rose for a good old english brekkie!
Copacabana great spanish restaurant on the beach.
Great spanish restaurants if you walk behind the hotels with lots of choice.
Overall we had a nice relaxing break but maybe next time we would look for a hotel alittle more up to date.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

This hotel is definately not a 4 star. We booked a 'package' with Monarch holidays and thought it was reasonably priced for half board 4 star. This is the first package holiday we have booked in 10 years and will not be doing it again.
The check in was fast but non descript as the receptionist was hardly friendly. We just made it to the evening meal at 9pm to be faced with dried up leftovers and the waiters trying to hurry us up with payment for the vinegar, sorry, wine.
The room was extremely basic and Ive had better rooms in 3 star hotels; no fridge, very tired decor and a view of other buildings. However, the cleaning staff were very efficient and friendly and came in daily. The 'premium' rooms opposite our room are exactly the same size but maybe they had a fridge?
The grounds of the hotel are nice but unfortunately is overun with stray cats. The Sister hotels of the Don Pedro look much nicer and updated (Don Marco and Don Pablo). The Don Pedro seems to be the poor relation.
The dining room gets very busy and queues are inevitable. Most of the food offered after our first night was edible and some dishes very nice. The pizzas were very good and served by friendly staff. Breakfast was both continental and hot food but the bacon, eggs, sausages very greasy. The fruit juices tasted like cordial that hadnt been watered down and they were charging 2 euros for fresh orange!
Yes, there is a happy hour but hardly a happy occassion, lots of queues for one barman to serve you all so the hour is nearly finished by the time you get your drink. We found this to be the case in the other hotels too, only 1 or 2 behind the bar and the service extremely slow.
Service at the bars in the old town is much better but when you are charged 12 euros for 2 large cokes you can see why. If you visit this area make sure you take lots of spare cash as we found it more expensive than the UK. The restaurants tempt you in with reasonably priced food but charge the same again for a soft drink.
You will see by my other reviews that Im not a fussy person but I felt strongly about this hotel to award it some negatives.
I would not stay at this hotel again and would definately not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DollyDimpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2009

first time in this hotel after several trips to costa del sol . found the place to be charming .
staff very friendly and helpful . overall very good , we will return to this hotel if we are going to this spot again . the week we were there flew by . t smith Aberdeen Scotland

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovygrannie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

This was our second visit to this hotel. We were last there a few years ago and obviously thought it worth returning. We weren't disappointed although the food wasn't quite as good as it was before. There's nothing I can usefully add to the positive comments made by other reviewers. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I've just come back from the hotel sol don pedro for two weeks and we had an absolutley amazing time!
My family usually use a time share which costs them thousands but this was a one off cheap last minute hotel and it beats all those by a few thousand miles.
We was expecting to get given what we had paid for and we got much more than expected, people who have rated this hotel as low really must have been to some fantastic hotels because this is the best I have ever stayed in.
The hotel is in a perfect location, across from the beach, with lots of shops and restaurants around and if you walk up a few stairs or take a lift you can get to the town centre which is filled with high street stores, market stalls, tapas bars, restaurants, a church and nightlife at night. Would't really rate the nightlife but we did go out of season.
The hotel has friendly staff and had so many bars and pools to choose from, we couldn't get round them all in the two weeks we were there. The hotel supplys activities on a day to day basis such as spanish lessons, aqua spheres, archery, shooting, yoga and fitness which is all included and then has a good selection of night entertainment including bingo, dancing, singing and drag acts-which were hillarious. You have access to all the facilities of marco and pablo too so can use their restaurants, bars, activities, entertainment, pools and marco has a luxurious spa too.
The rooms were really nice, clean and tidy with the maids cleaning every day with fresh sheets and towels, but the best thing this hotel offered was definatley the food!
Paying next to nothing we thought food would be below average and it really wasnt, for breakfast there is selections of hams, salamis and cheeses, breads, cereas, fruit, pancakes, pastries, yoghurt or fried breakfast and for drink champagne, tomato juice, orange or pineapple juice, coffee, tea, herbal tea, hot chocolate, tje list is endless we hardly ever had the same thing twice at dinner and as said before we was there a fortnight. Dinner then offers a salad bar, bread salami and cheese bar, the hot food which could be any kind of fish (different selections each night), veg and meat such as lamb, chicken and veal. They also had an italian corner in the far right corner which had pizza and pasta. Dessert was a lot of cream cakes, jelly and ice cream sorta thing but there was fruit too.
I really could not fault this hotel if I tried, we never go to the same place twice but for this hotel we make an exception, we really did enjoy our stay. Thanks Sol don pedro.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

My first time in Spain so picking a hotel was a shot in the dark. Luckily I picked a great one. My room was super clean and comfortable. Locale was great, right across the street from the beach, All in all I had a great stay and a very happy birthday!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfootsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Property: Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Address: Avenida Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pedro, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), together with the Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Marco forms part of the Don Hotels Complex. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, the new rooms (refurbish in 2016) are decorated in a modern and functional style with views over the mountain, gardens and swimming pool. Floating wood floors have been installed in all of them, they have new wardrobes, beds and bedclothes, curtains, mattresses, a giant 43-inch flat screen TV with satellite channels and air conditioning and heating systems. New windows have been installed with insulating glass to keep out noise. All of the rooms have free Wi-Fi, a Safe (*) and a minibar (On request) (*), desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years old). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Melia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing