We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and simple!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great and simple!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

Went to Sol Don Pedro from June 15th to 22nd. Amazing Stay! Great staff at the front desk, rooms a very basic but comfortable and kept very cleaned by the hard working maids. The only negative point that I can think of is the food especially at breakfast.. extremely greasy! A lot of oil is being added to cook the food (unnecessary) and we had upset stomach for the first 3 days or so.. We were debating also about the freshness of the food at the Pedro since every time we were eating there we had trouble with digestion.. anyway we ended up eating at the Pablo most of the time.. better selection and also the only place were they serve gazpacho!!!
Crowd was pretty old but It had is advantages.. pretty quiet a night!
A lot to see around the hotel, great beaches and great central location. Would go back anytime but I will probably go for renting a condo and cook my own food..

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbeeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    413
    156
    44
    19
See reviews for
269
422
44
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

just got back from the costa del sol. Typical Brit Abroad: large family group out for a fun week in the sun. 3 hotels in complex, Sol don Pedro, Pablo and Marco. Didnt really see inside the Marco, stayed in the Pedro but the Pablo was definitely the best. Food in restaurants was limited and service was terrible, both staff attitude and helpfulness; pools were many and all great with loads of sunbeds, i know it was early season but there were always loads available at all the pools; pool bars and snacks were good; entertainment was very good although bar drinks prices were really high. Local restaurants were pretty bad but we found a couple of good little cafes with english bacon and proper coffee when we gave up on the hotel breakfasts. Make sure you get a cab to the Benalmadena marina (restaurants and shops are much better here) and then do the walk back along the prominade with all the shops and bars along the route, it takes about 50 minutes but is great fun, much better than staying in town; great beach with ample sunbeds and bars. would go again if we were in a big group and would recommend to people travelling alone. oh nearly forgot, maids were fantastic, rooms were comfortable and really clean (well worth upgrading to superior room if dont get a pool view).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithfamilysurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballinhassig, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

After reading some reviews I picked this hotel for myself and my family to stay for a weeks holiday. My son is 10 months old so i was trying to pick somewhere which would suit him aswell as ourselves. I booked on-line which was very easy, i then phoned the hotel to make some requests, I asked for the 4th floor which is non-smoking, a view of the pool and cot for the small boy. These requests were all met when we arrived so this was a major plus. Hotel staff were very friendly on arrival and throughout our stay. The breakfast buffet was very good and had a excellent selection of food. The room was cleaned daily and overall the hotel was spotless. The hotel is in a very central location within Torremolinos and shares its facilities with the Don Marco and the Don Pablo. The selection of swimming pools within the three hotels is superb. We mainly used the main Don Pedro pool as it was only 1.5metres deep throughout. There was a good selection of nightly entertainment on between the Don Pedro and the Don Marco, but I would avoid the Westlife tribute band "we cant sing but we will try and we only know 4 Westlife songs anyway!!" The hotel was very quiet at night with no rowdy crowds or noise which was great. In regards to the bed a double is just two twins pushed together, this proved tricky as my son wanted to sleep with us at night and all we were afraid of was him falling between the beds, so it was my only mark against the stay. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone going to Torremolinos for their holidays as I reckon this was our first visit and it sure wont be our last!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James&Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

From reading some of the negative reviews we were wary of staying in the hotel after booking our holiday but I have to say that our wariness was totally unfounded. The hotel was beautiful, spacious and we kept finding unexpected areas. The adults only pool and spa area was conduscive for relaxation, peace and quiet. The bedrooms were cleaned every day and even our wine glasses from the night before were washed and left on a towel for our return. On one occassion early in the morning I did hear stiletto - heeled girls running down the corridor, however a night time security guard was quickly on the scene and made the girls remove the shoes and gave them an appropriate warning. You could avail of the entertainment on offer in both Don Pablo and the Don Pedro or just chill out in one of the several bars or play cards in the card room. The buffet style Breakfast and Dinner catered for all tastes and there were large varities of food on offer. The staff were professional and friendly at all times and always willing to help, even under pressure. We will be back hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

The hotel San Pedro was nice looking and the brothers San Marco and San Pablo even better. We chose San Pedroafter the reviews we read in different websites.
The reception staff were not very friendly (and I speak the language). I think because we were independent travellers. Hotel was full of Italians and Germans, extremely noisy who took over the Hotel- what is more they were all over 65 years old.
The room was terrible, overlooking other buildings and dark. Noisy neighbours, next door and upstairs. Because of the heat there are no carpets, so if you are wearing shoes with heels all day (like our Italian lady upstairs) you get mad about it. I complained at reception about noise coming from people talking in the balconies upstairs well after 2 am.They said they could not do anything about it. At the end I shouted if they could shut up.
No English people staying there; all Italians germans and Irish; very unfriendly and you could hardly talk to anybody. The staff at the dining rooms were always rushed, therefore there was no time for individuals. Food not great, and absolutely no choice for vegetarians, other than cold salad or pasta.
Our room had a broken bedside lamp when we arrived; I called for someody to come and repair it; after 1 hour when nobody came, I went to reception and they had forgotten to take my room number to come and repair it!!! after 2 days it was broken again.
Staff kept talking to me in Italian ( as 95% of the guests were italian or German) and the week dragged on and on... the worst bit, not being able to sleep.
I certainly will not come back here. Torremolinos is very nice, but too noisy
I have stayed in other Sol hotels in Spain but this one was the worse.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margarita60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

We just spent a week at Sol Don Pedro, we didn't pick the hotel specifically, but the package price of the trip was way too cheap to pass up.
As many of the reviews mention it does cater to an older crowd- however that is really helpful if you don't want to be awoken in the middle of the night, so there is an upside to everything.
The hotel it self is a bit of a throw back to the 70's, but it's clean, and comfortable, and more than a solid tourist class hotel. The rooms were quaint- and everything in the room was comfortable- but not lux, (if you're on honeymoon this place may not be for you).
We didn't really have any negative experiences- but we didn't really have any expectations either, (if you have read any of our past reviews you sort of get the idea that we grab a centrally located hotel and then tour the area a lot, using the hotel just as a place to sleep).
The staff were friendly enough, they had even emailed day trip ideas to us prior to our arrival. There were no hidden costs regarding the room, and check in and out were pretty routine.
The buffets in the morning and evening were solid, but not gourmet. They had everything from pizza to paella, pretty much standard fair. More than filling- but far from the best food we've ever eaten.
The surrounding area was covered in tourist stores, and beach eateries- everything was well within walking distance- and the beach was a quick minute walk away.
The bottom line is that it's a good place to base your trips from, to the southern part of Spain, Morocco and else where. If you're not staying tied to the resort the entire week this is a good deal- but if you're a resort junkie- you could probably do better.
AJ

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrenilineJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

We have just got back from a short stay (3 nights) at The Sol Dan Pablo.
On arrival we found the staff quite helpful.
We eventually found our room on the fourth floor overlooking apartments opposite, the view wasnt great but as we were only staying 3 nights we werent too bothered. Room was clean although dated.
Hotel is very big, we were directed to the restauraunt down a flight of stairs from reception.
The main dining area is very big, we were shown to our seats and then went for our evening meal buffet style.
Unfortunately the food was not to our taste, we have travelled far and wide so were not too concerned about the different options available.
Sorry but the food was bland, very bloody steaks, greasy chips, not alot of variety and very mismatched meals available, people were mixing all sorts of foods, i.e. boiled eggs, salad, chicken legs and brocolli.!
We decided to try out breakfast the next day, just in case we were being alittle fussy.
Again not to our taste, boiled sausages, fatty bacon, beans were okay! and yes once again brocolli!!
We decided to eat out at the local restaurants, not English but the local spanish with lots of different options!
Although the hotel is fairly clean, we spent more money than we had hoped eating out.
We found the hotel to be more suited to the over 60s whom seemed to be staying for two weeks or more!
Not recommended for a romantic break, family holiday or quick last minute break.
Try Shenanigans for a few drinks and Tudor Rose for a good old english brekkie!
Copacabana great spanish restaurant on the beach.
Great spanish restaurants if you walk behind the hotels with lots of choice.
Overall we had a nice relaxing break but maybe next time we would look for a hotel alittle more up to date.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Property: Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Address: Avenida Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Don Pedro has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), together with the Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Marco forms part of the Don Hotels Complex. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, the new rooms (refurbish in 2016) are decorated in a modern and functional style with views over the mountain, gardens and swimming pool. Floating wood floors have been installed in all of them, they have new wardrobes, beds and bedclothes, curtains, mattresses, a giant 43-inch flat screen TV with satellite channels and air conditioning and heating systems. New windows have been installed with insulating glass to keep out noise. All of the rooms have free Wi-Fi, a Safe (*) and a minibar (On request) (*), desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years old). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Melia, TravelUp, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Sol Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing