We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

checked in given room in basement smell of sewerage outside. stood on cockroach when walked into bathroom on checkin in.if u bookin the timor sol defo request sea view.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergalbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    573
    322
    119
    109
See reviews for
588
510
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Nice clean hotel. Great location. Night staff where very strict could do with being a bit more easy going. No Lilo's, balls or inflatable toys allowed in the pool, so not that great for kids.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyjam53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Booked the Sol Timor at the last minute and paid 38euros per night for our room which was a studio for 2 people and was excellent value for what we paid. As long as you are not expecting 5 star quality for a 2 star price you will probably not be disappointed. It is in a fantastic location between Torremolinos and Benalmadena so you can walk along the traffic-free promenade either way to experience both resorts. On the way towards Torremolinos (East of the hotel) you go through La Carihuela which used to be a little fishing village and still retains a lot of Spanish charm with its typical quaint tapas bars and small family owned restaurants and shops. Going West from the hotel you come to Puerto Marina the new harbour area of Benalmadena with upmarket bars and shops and expensive yachts and cruisers. So you have the best of both worlds when staying at the Timor Sol. Our room was on 4th floor and our balcony overlooked the pool and the sea which was a lovely view. I guess we just got lucky as some rooms on the other side looked onto the street. The room was basic and the furnishings in the room and in the public areas are old-fahioned and worn, but everywhere was kept spotlessly clean and the staff couldn't be more pleasant. Being honest its probably only achieved its 3 star rating because of the range of facilities on offer - entertainment, bar, restaurant, pool, supermarket etc but I would probably rate it 2-star. We didnt have any meals there, or drink in the bar, as we loved the bars and restaurants in the surrounding area, but there is entertainment in the bar nearly every night if you like that sort of thing and a happy hour from 5pm - 6pm which was popular! If you want a cheap but clean place to lay your head, in a great position on the promenade, then book the Timor Sol - we would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We all absolutely loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. On arrival the receptionist was lovely and observant enough to realise it was my birthday. She wished me a Happy birthday and offered us one of the best room available. On entering the apartment it was fresh and clean.

With reading other reviews about it being dated and old fashioned it was something that did not bother me. The beds were changed every other day, bins emptied and mountains of fresh, white towels. The sea view from the balcony was amazing, it was central to everywhere with lots of restaurants to choose from. 5 minutes to Marina.(The TV in the room also has ITV which is handy for you Corrie fans...lol.)

The only thing that I could complain about is the beds are rather hard and the bed settee was a bit grubby. Over all a wonderful experience, big thanks to TravelRepublic and Sol Timor for a smooth, stress free holiday."

Top Tip:
"I would recommend "Brogans Bar" for lovely English homemade food, lovely atmosphere and very helpful staff."

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjuicyllucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

A reasonable budget apartment hotel. We had one room with its bathroom and kitchenette and fridge. There was an on site laundrette, obviously for the longer staying guests. In terms of location, it was virtually on the beach. The place was clean and OK for the one night and the budget price.
There was a phone in the room but you could only call reception. There was no Wifi in the room, but only in the main lounge. They had some PCs, at a charge, but no printers connected.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank TariqLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

had a great time, spent a lot of time in Dixies 60s bar, great for the over 30s, made a lot of new friends, we are going back to meet them this year

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanda1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

What a fantastic place to stay this is our 20th time here in this area of montemar since 2007. We just love the place and keep coming back for more. The sol timor apartments are great value for money great views over the beach we where on the nineth floor room
9315. a lovely studio apartment with everything you need except kettle which is not a prob just boil a pan of water or take a travel kettle. If you want a really cheap break then this is the place for you. We flew from liverpool ryan air flights only cost us £40.00p return each the sol timor 4 nights £89.00p (where could you stay in the uk for that) Once you get to malaga airport get on the train for 1 euro 35 cents to elpinnot train station it is 1st right out of the station and a 20 minute walk down hill towards the sea to the sol timor apartments. I can't praise this place enough the hotel is clean fresh fluffy towels every 2 days there is an happy hour 5-6pm also every day. also on site is a hairdressers ,launderette, supermarket. The best bit is if you go out of the hotel straight up the hill and turn right you will find a Lidl please get all your groceries there so so cheap. Now the really good news to the front of the hotel is all the little great bars well you are in the Irish town area please go to tom's tavern dave and jean are great hosts. The same goes for mr jeeves Cat and ste also good hosts. Runours bar great for all those soaps and weekend Uk shows Ian the owner a good laugh. Please the try the Ivy with the one and Only Paco the host with the most watch out for his tricks he is such a good laugh does great chip butty's. Then for great food if your really on a budget is the Fig and Olive bar try the munch crunch 3 courses for under 5 eouros. Well I have saved the best for last Kates cottage a lovely little restraunt run by lovely Sharon and Peter a true great Irish couple who serve good wholesome fresh home cooked food. This place is so popular you have to ring and reserve a table but well worth doing you won't be diappointed 3 courses for 10 euro's each what a bargain. Please if you have never been to this part of Spain please come and try it you have a lovely beautiful little gem of old spain untouched La carihueala is beautiful for wondering around the little shops and there is plenty of old spanish fish restaunts to be enjoyed. Also in 15 iminutes of walking distance is bel a madina harbour with the great boats and night life I must say this is a truly great area of spain for all ages something for every one. Come see for your selvees you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank honey800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,132 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Timor Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Timor Apartamentos

Property: Sol Timor Apartamentos
Address: Salvador Allende 51, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Timor Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Timor, located right next to the promenade, with direct access to the fabulous Carihuela Beach, close to the leisure area of Puerto Marina and numerous “Chiringuitos” (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in “pescaíto frito” (fried fish). The bright, spacious and welcoming apartments are fully equipped with kitchen (two electric hobs, fridge, microwave and toaster) and furnished terrace (table / chairs); outdoor pool overlooking the sea and surrounded by gardens; different dining spaces (Restaurant, Beach Bar, Pool Bar and Lounge Bar); free WiFi internet connection in all the hotel; Internet Corner (*); supermarket, two tennis courts (*). The wide and varied activities programme with workshops and leisure activities for adults and children (Parties, musicals, evening shows and live music). 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and approximately 1:30 hrs. and 2 hrs. from Granada, Cordoba and Seville. (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Melia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Timor Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Timor Sol Apartments
Timor Sol Torremolinos
Sol Timor Hotel
Sol Timor Torremolinos
Sol Timor Apartamentos Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing