We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't overlook this 3* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't overlook this 3* hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful , the rooms although basic were completely adequate for us and our 2 children . The pool area is clean and well looked after . The location is pure perfection. Having stayed in an expensive villa further into benalmadena I would go for the sol timor everytime purely based on location and views. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    557
    314
    118
    106
See reviews for
573
490
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We visited this hotel, in mid May for a 9 day holiday.

We did not book through any agents / or direct with the hotel, but via a private holiday flat owner Mr.K.S.Simpson who offered a very comprehensive studio flat with fully functioning kitchen, with very good cooker,microwave, fridge etc.

The room was probably the size of a "travelodge/premier inn" room, had two single beds, dining table & t.v.

It was compact, but totally functional for two people, who wanted basic amenities. The bathroom had full size bath, shower,bidet etc and was quite large. Air conditioning apperaed to be in the room, but was never used.

The view from the small balcony on the 7th floor [of 11 floors] overlooked the grassy area, surrounding the large swimming pool,and with additional views of the beach/sea etc.

The room was totally functional and offered at attractive rental terms - and if interested you should contact Mr.Simpson by e mail on simpson@manx.net to compare terms with other providers who may advertise this hotel.

The hotel itself was a better than average 3 star, and there is plenty of information available - suffice to say it is acurate, with good eating facilities, shows/entertainment each night/ large swimming pool & sunbathing area the latter of which is on a very tidy and cared for lawn area.

The hotel staff are very pleasent , and keep the hotel very clean at all times.

There is an on site supermarket, but a Liddle supermarket 10 mins walk offers much more choice at competieive prices for those who self cater. For example 1 litre of lager/ beer = 60cents !

There is a 2 for 1 happy hour at the hotel from 5.00pm till 6.00pm, and the gardens / outside seating area is well laidf out in which to relax.

The general area is quite good, but if you want more, the beach is facing you & has tidy sands - and providers of 2 sunbeds & parasol at 9 euros approx if you want beach sun bathing. Please be aware that on the hotel grounds they charge 2.50 euros per day per sunbathing bed, which at first is unexpected, but it does provide a degree of comfort, [ although you can put a towel down on the grass - and there is no charge].

Coming out of the swimming pool exit to the hotel, - by turning right you are into Benaldemena harbour - with it boats etc t- and very nice it is too, with the quaint buildings surrounding the area.

By turning left, and a casual 10 minute walk leads you to another small village which has very good resteraunts,bars, shopping areas behind the main walking boulevard, and is very attractive.

A couple of years ago we went to Fuengirola, and whilst enjoyable i believe this area is much better.

Generally speaking the weather was very good, with one rainy day, and one half day of cloudy weather. Temperatures were in the 22 - 25c.

There is a swmming pool guard over the week end, and i think all day during high season, and there seems to be plenty to do for children, as well as adults [ archery / pistol shhoting - or just being lazy.

A good holiday destination for a a reasobable price if you travel independant as we do. if you are - then to travel from Airport by train [ service every 15 minutes cost 1.80euro per person] & a 20 minute walk down hill from El Pinillo station to the hotel is not too strenuous [ and a map to get there is readily available on the internet] - would not walk up the hill etc on way back - but the taxi cost was only 5.50 euros for 2 people & 2 cases.

Only downside was a little bit of noise from groups of stags / hens on respective pre marital breaks in early hours of morning -but that was from the surrounding streets & not the hotel. if there was some internal noise - it was dealt with quickly by the hotel.

Room Tip: Try & get a room facing the swimming pool/ beach - very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wfmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The Sol Timor has an excellent position, a very short stroll to the Benalmadena Marina. It is cheap, cheerful and very friendly. It has direct access to the promenade and behind the hotel is a selection of cheap lively bars and restaurants

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wozbillynice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

i was very pleased when we arrived most pleasent staff and spotless clean also lovely buffet breakfast the rooms are kept nice and clean the beach 3 mins walk and fab pubs next door with good food and singing every night ps the only down side residents are charged for deck chairs a small charge might be ok but more poeple would would use the bar and would bring in more buisness in the off peak time of year

Room Tip: higher rooms have a better view and and no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank dermot74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

22 of us headed here for the weekend in April 2012 for my sis-inlaw to be's hen party. I chose these apartments due to location, price & previous reviews on tripadvisor!! Some reviews were mixed but I will give you an honest opinion!!!

Positives - 10 min drive from airport, lots of shops, bars, restaurants etc right beside hotel, quick check-in...there were 22 of us!! We booked seaview apartment with 1 bedroom which was clean, spacious for 3 adults & not that we needed but a kitchen with the usual appliances!! Big pool, plenty of sun loungers (2.50 euro per day) but for those complaining bout the charge you were also right on the beach & promenade which led to lots more bars & restaurants by the marina. Pool bar served food & drink but you were able to buy your drink from the supermarket in the hotel & drink it around the pool!!! Quick taxi to 24hr square full of bars & nightclubs!!

Negatives - NONE!!! We may have been a hen party of 22 but I still have standards when it comes to decent accomodation & Sol Timor definitely ticked all the boxes whether for hen party or family holiday. Families don't be put off as it would be perfect place for kids as they have a kids club within the hotel aswell!!

Room Tip: Seaview is a little bit more expensive but is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Weemaz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

just back from timor sol. location brill, right on the prom across from beach. 5 girls on a 40 th bday . few great pubs right outside door and taxi ride from the square . we didnt go tho heard a bit rough. fat fajitas name of pub brill full of stags hens etc
timor sol bit dated but otherwise perfect. must pay for sun beds tho 2.50 per day
visit ice bar for photos
food jewel and crown great breakfast, fat fagitas for food also kate kitchen. divine.
wiah back there !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank judephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Our second stay at this hotel, in one of their studios. Great value for money if you just want a cheap clean place to lay your head for a few nights. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Entertainment in the hotel bar most nights, if that is your thing. We prefer to go out as the hotel is on the promenade so it's easy to walk to bars and restaurants. We did the self-catering option so I cannot comment on the hotel food. If you come out the back of the hotel onto the promenade and turn right, after 5 minutes' walk you come to Benalmadena's Puerta Marina, which has some lively bars and restaurants in a nice setting around the harbour with many boats to look at. If you come out the back and turn left along the prom you come to La Carihuela area with its very Spanish little bars, restaurants and shops, we prefer this end as we like the authentic feel and enjoy the tapas and the more Spanish ambience. Hotel can be a little noisy on Friday and Saturday nights due to hen or stag parties returning from a night out partying, but the noise only lasted a few minutes and didn't bother us too much.

Room Tip: Room 2702 (studio for 2 people) is in Block 2 on the 7th floor and has a great pool and sea view loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bevanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#14 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#13 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Timor Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Timor Apartamentos

Property: Sol Timor Apartamentos
Address: Salvador Allende 51, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Timor Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Timor, located right next to the promenade, with direct access to the fabulous Carihuela Beach, close to the leisure area of Puerto Marina and numerous “Chiringuitos” (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in “pescaíto frito” (fried fish). The bright, spacious and welcoming apartments are fully equipped with kitchen (two electric hobs, fridge, microwave and toaster) and furnished terrace (table / chairs); outdoor pool overlooking the sea and surrounded by gardens; different dining spaces (Restaurant, Beach Bar, Pool Bar and Lounge Bar); free WiFi internet connection in all the hotel; Internet Corner (*); supermarket, two tennis courts (*). The wide and varied activities programme with workshops and leisure activities for adults and children (Parties, musicals, evening shows and live music). 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and approximately 1:30 hrs. and 2 hrs. from Granada, Cordoba and Seville. (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Melia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Timor Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Timor Sol Apartments
Timor Sol Torremolinos
Sol Timor Hotel
Sol Timor Torremolinos
Sol Timor Apartamentos Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing