We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab time in Torremolinos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Lincoln
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fab time in Torremolinos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We travelled as a party of 4, two couples. We had a taxi from the airport only 20 euros and 15-20 minutes to the hotel. The hotel was in an excellent location, right on the sea front and only a few metres from Benalmadena Harbour. Rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable with fridge, toaster, kettle (not electric) and hot plates crockery all the usual. Our friends room was much better furnished than ours but we had such a lovely view and we only intended on sleeping in the room so we were more than happy with our lot (room no 3804). Rooms 3803 and 3805, either side of us were furnished much better. The staff were very helpful and friendly, yes you have to pay 2.50 euros for a sun bed, but the price of the holiday was very reasonable so we were happy to do this. The sun beds on the beach have nice thick mattresses on and cost 9 euros for 2. It was my husbands birthday while we were out there and the hotel left a bottle of champagne in the room for us which we thought was a very nice touch. We always holiday around my husbands birthday and this was the first time we received a gift so well done Timor Sol and thank you very much. We had some fab meals whilst in Torremolinos, an excellent dinner at the Carvery, you can eat as much as you like for around 10 euros. The Fig and Olive do an excellent 3 course meal, starter, ham and cheese omelette chips and salad and sweet for only 4.95 euros. Their beer was only 2 euros and a glass of wine only a euro, and on happy hour they were half the price. We used Browns bar quite a bit John Smiths bitter at 3 euros a pint went down very well with the men, they served us women bottled lager in an iced glass which was lovely as the weather was 30+ degrees. We had a fantastic time at the Sol Timor apartments and are looking to return next year, the sun rise and sun sets from our balcony were amazing. PS the hotel also did shows every night which were very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a sea view, you will not be disappointed. Rooms 3803 and 3805 are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    559
    315
    118
    106
See reviews for
573
493
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just got back from a short break to the Sol Timor. The only reason I booked an apartment there was due to the close proximity to the beach, Larry's beach bar and Benalmadena Marina. The location was therefore spot on and the view from our 10th floor apartment was superb. We could see the beach and over to the port.
The hotel itself is very tired. The rooms are very dated with chipped walls and paintwork, very uncomfortable beds, broken tiles in the bathroom and are generally very tired and in need of a makeover. The walls between the apartments are also very thin and you can hear everything. this includes the noise from some of the local bars behind the hotel which seem to be open all night. The hotel grounds seem well looked after as do the common areas however I think it has seen its day and is long overdue an refit. The staff were very friendly, the exception being one of the barmen. He was very rude and didn't seem to be enjoying his work!
For us the location was key so other than the one trip into the bar we spent the entire time away from the hotel. The sun beds are slightly more expensive on the beach than those around the hotel pool. The added expense is however worth every penny.
I don't think I'll be staying at this hotel again; I will however definitely be going back to the area, probably staying in the marina itself.
There are some great restaurants nearby and Larrys on the beach is a must. The fish is excellent and they make a wicked mojito.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareeHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just back on 2nd October , 4TH visit and just love this place, From A First Class Manager and top class staff that are so friendly happy to help, Rooms are all you need for a holiday , AND HALF BOARD IS THE BEST WAY,esp when cooking all year round and not having to worry about money for food or goin shoppin, there is a Lidl very close and has everything you need if you do wish to cook and shops are all around the place , BEACH TOP CLASS, and just out the gate of the hotel , I was with friends for my first week and family my second week, Just cant wait to book again , once you go you ll never go anywhere else, Entertainment is fantastic for children all day and great music and live music at nite ,and if you young and want to party 24 hr square is a walk away .

Room Tip: block 2 is were i would stay, but if ur not happy the staff are always there to help, and help they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Once again a brilliant apartment with glorious views in a fantastic area close to all the restaurants and bars and the lovely marina. My husband and i stayed in a private rented studio which was on the 7th floor with a perfect sea view. Lovely studio well equipped very clean and comfortable. The staff from the hotel were friendly and helpful and the owner of the flat was a star!!! who attended to our every needs. This is the fourth time we have stayed in this appartment and i would highly recommend Timor Sol to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maymidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here for 8 day's with friend's. We had a second floor appartment with fantastic view's of The Med and Benalmedina Harbour. Accommodation is basic, but adequate for our need's. the air-con was excellent. I found the bed and pillow to be very hard, but that is an individual thing. The appartment was serviced alternate day's and reasonable quality towel's changed 3 time's. There was one Cucaracha, which was dealt with very quickly by the staff. All the staff were very helpful. We did try the restaurant once, it was ok, but nothing special. The area is full of restaurant's , bar's and cafe's, the choice is endless. The pool area is in a spacious garden, a charge is made for the sun lounger's, some of them were very uncomfortable and needed replacing. I would stay there again if I return to the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Timor Apartamentos, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your opinions regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased indeed that your first visit with us was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and 3 yr old son. The hotel is marvellous from outside in terms of look and size, the reception and common area excellent just like in the pictures. So we assumed it was worth the long 25min cab drive from the railway station. The appt was the most disgusting place we had to live in. Please look at the picture I uploaded just to see what a pathetic room it was. It was a studio the kitchen area is literlly 2feet in length with a tiny wash basin 2 burner cooking stove and some basic vessels. The furniture could surely have been from the 18th century, really old outaged and bad as seen in picture. Eveything was shaky. The cupboard was the worst, dusty and with small drawers and a safe in it, we were so scared to open thinking there would be mice. So there was no place to keep our clothes and we just wore things from our suitcases that we had no option but to keep it on the chairs avililable in the room. We asked for a child cot as they gave us two separate beds instead of a king/ queen bed. We were shoked to see the baby cot arrive. It was in metal like they have in war camp hospitals with a horrible matteres and no cushion to protect a child sleeping in it as the cot is with metal rods. You can have a look at it in the picture. yes they actually gave that to us!!! The proximity to the sea was the only thing that kept us hanging on to complete a torturous 2 night stay. So please dont go by the pictures which only show the outside huge buildings of the hotel and the swimming pool, and the sea view from appt picture that made me book this place. What we got was one on the first floor facing the road even though I booked the place 5months before our stay and had requested for appt on the top most floor with sea view. We could not get in communication with the hotel to confirm our requests as no one replied to emails or the telephone went to only the booking desk. The Appt are really pathetic and bad. Most disgusting stay we ever had!!!! very very disappointed

Room Tip: perhaps the hotel has new and better appts in the new building but at time of booking you dont know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Timor Apartamentos, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you very much to share your opinion with us.

We regret to hear that our hotel did not reached your expectations, even that you think that our hotel did not reached what is supposed to find on a apartment.
We want to give you our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused and we would like to inform you that we also have bigger and newer apartments with one and two bedrooms where you could have been more confortable.
Maybe when you visit one hotel you could ask what kind of facilities have, as we are a holiday apartments, and we do not have the same facilities than hotel.
We invite you to compare different hotels visiting www.melia.com.
We remain at your completely disposal, and we want to thank you again for your comments, they made us to be more severe with ourselves.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is the third time in 12 months my wife and i have stayed in these apartments. We stayed in a studio which is basic but does everything we need it for ie shower and sleep. we were in the main building overlooking the pool and had great views of the sea and marina.Only minor complaint would be the fact there is no electric kettle so in a morning the kettle takes ages to boil and is noisy (would have thought it would be cheaper to boil water from an electric kettle rather than the 10mins it takes on the hob) aside from that tiny niggle i would have no hesitation recommending these apartments and look forward to returning next year hopefully to an electric kettle.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in main building overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Timor Apartamentos, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for all your comments which are really appreciated.
We are delighted that we were able to help and we will try the best for you if you decide to visit us when you come back to Torremolinos.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#13 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#12 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Timor Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Timor Apartamentos

Property: Sol Timor Apartamentos
Address: Salvador Allende 51, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Timor Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Timor, located right next to the promenade, with direct access to the fabulous Carihuela Beach, close to the leisure area of Puerto Marina and numerous “Chiringuitos” (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in “pescaíto frito” (fried fish). The bright, spacious and welcoming apartments are fully equipped with kitchen (two electric hobs, fridge, microwave and toaster) and furnished terrace (table / chairs); outdoor pool overlooking the sea and surrounded by gardens; different dining spaces (Restaurant, Beach Bar, Pool Bar and Lounge Bar); free WiFi internet connection in all the hotel; Internet Corner (*); supermarket, two tennis courts (*). The wide and varied activities programme with workshops and leisure activities for adults and children (Parties, musicals, evening shows and live music). 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and approximately 1:30 hrs. and 2 hrs. from Granada, Cordoba and Seville. (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Melia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Timor Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Timor Sol Apartments
Timor Sol Torremolinos
Sol Timor Hotel
Sol Timor Torremolinos
Sol Timor Apartamentos Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing